Liquid Phase Crystallization LPC

For liquid phase crystallization (LPC) nano-crystalline silicon is deposited on glass substrates and subsequently crystallized by a line-shaped energy source. A laser beam scans the sample with a velocity of 3 mm/s and locally melts the silicon. It recrystallizes polycrystalline into grains that are up to a few centimeters in length and a couple of millimeters in width. With this technique not only a morphology comparable to multi-crystalline silicon wafer solar cells are achieved but also similarly high open-circuit voltages [1,2].

In case a textured glass substrate is used for enhancing light in-coupling into the solar cell, the silicon grows conformally on the textured substrate resulting in a double-sided textured absorber layer. If the rear side texture is protected by a sacrificial capping layer during crystallization the double-side texture is preserved even after crystallization. Hence, it provides not only enhanced light in-coupling properties at the front side but also light scattering properties at rear side trapping the light within the absorber layer [3,4].


LPC_Schematic

Double-sided textured liquid phase crystallized silicon thin-films on a square lattice texture with a period of 2 µm. (a) Schematic during liquid phase crystallization. (b) Cross sectional scanning electron microscopy image, here with a 6 µm thick silicon layer.

 


The challenge to face is to maintain the high electronic material quality of the silicon despite it being grown and crystallized on a rough substrate. The goal is to find an optimum balance between optical and electronic gain in order to maximize the solar cell efficiency [5–7].


LPC_Colourful

Photograph of a double-sided textured silicon thin-film solar cell and scanning electron microscopy image of the underlying hexagonal sinusoidal texture with a period of 750 nm. Due to texturing the light path inside the solar cells is alternated and the samples shimmer colorfully under oblique incidence of light.


References

Flüssigphasenkristallisation LPC

Bei der Flüssigphasenkristallisation (engl. liquid phase crystallization - LPC) wird das Silizium nanokristallin auf Glassubstrate abgeschieden und anschließend mit Hilfe einer linienförmigen Energiequelle kristallisiert. Dafür scannt ein Laserstrahl mit einer Geschwindigkeit von 3 mm/s über die Probe und schmilzt das Silizium lokal. Bereits re-kristallisierte Bereiche dienen beim Verfahren des Lasers als Saatkristalle, sodass das Silizium polykristallin aus der Schmelze in Körner mit bis zu einigen Zentimetern Länge und einigen Millimetern Breite. Mit dieser Technik kann nicht nur eine multi-kristallinen Silizium-Wafer-Solarzellen ähnliche Morphologie erreicht werden, sondern auch ähnlich hohe offene Klemmspannungen [1,2].

Wenn zur Erhöhung des Lichteinfangs texturierte Glassubstrate verwendet werden, wächst das Silizium so auf den Texturen auf, dass die Struktur auch auf der Rückseite erhalten bleibt. Wird während der Flüssigphasenkristallisation die Rückseitentextur mit einer dünnen Schicht aus Siliziumoxid geschützt, bleibt die Textur trotz des Schmelzvorgangs erhalten und man erhält eine Doppelseitentextur, die sowohl die Lichteinkopplung an der Vorderseite als auch den Lichteinfang an der Rückseite der Solarzelle erhöht [3,4].


LPC_Schema

Doppelseitig texturierte flüssigphasenkristallisierte Silizium-Dünnschichten (poly-Si) auf einer rechteckig angeordneten Textur mit 2 µm Periode. (a) Schematische Darstellung während des Flüssigphasenkristallisierens. (b) Rasterelektronenmikroskopaufnahme im Querschnitt, hier mit einer 6 µm dicken Siliziumschicht.


Die Herausforderung besteht darin, die hohe elektronische Materialqualität des flüssigphasenkristallisierten Siliziums beizubehalten, obwohl das Silizium auf den rauen Substraten gewachsen wird. Hier gilt es, einen optimalen Kompromiss zu finden, um die Solarzelleneffizienz zu steigern [5–7].


LPC_Bunt

Photographie einer doppelseitig texturierten flüssigphasenkristallisierten Silizium-Dünnschichtsolarzelle und Rasterelektronenmikroskopaufnahme der zugrunde liegenden hexagonal angeordneten sinusförmigen Textur mit einer Periode von 750 nm. Auf Grund der Texturierung wird der Lichtweg in der Solarzelle verändert und die Proben schimmern bunt bei schrägem Lichteinfall.


Literatur