Optical simulation

Numerical techniques are a powerful tool to speed up the development of effective light management architectures that improve solar cell performance. We mainly use the state-of-the-art time-harmonic finite element solver JCMsuite, which is developed by JCMwave GmbH, a spin-off of the Zuse Institute Berlin (ZIB). The strengths of the finite-element-method (FEM) and the JCMsuite-software are its outstanding accuracy and convergence, which can outperform comparable methods such as FDTD in respective benchmarks [1].

The Nano-SIPPE group is a founding partner of the Berlin Joint Lab for Optical Simulations for Energy Research (BerOSE) which was founded by HZB, ZIB and the Free University Berlin in 2014. BerOSE forms an ideal environment for the interaction between experts in 3D optical computation and scientists in the synthesis of nanostructured materials for solar electricity generation, energy storage and photonics.



Spectrum

Numerical and experimental 1 - R spectra for sinusoidally textured layer stacks. The shown data is for 750 nm pitch. Numerical results were calculated with the 0th - and 1st -order corrections [5]. The two corrections differ because not all diffraction orders that are present in glass can propagate into air. Simulation results are shown for two angles of incidence: θin = 0° (thin lines) and θin = 8° (thick lines). Experimental results were obtained with theta θin = 8°.

Optische Simulation

Numerische Methoden helfen bei der Entwicklung effektiver Lichtmanagement Architekturen, welche die Leistung von Solarzellen erhöhen. Wir setzen vor allem auf den state-of-the-art zeitharmonischen Finite Elemente Löser JCMsuite, welcher von der JCMwave GmbH entwickelt wird, einer Ausgründung des Zuse Institute Berlin (ZIB). Die Stärke der Finite Elemente Methode (FEM) und der JCMSuite Software sind die herausragende Genauigkeit und Konvergenz, welche vergleichbare Methoden, wie z.B. FDTD, in verschiedenen Benchmarks übertreffen [1]

Die Nachwuchsgruppe Nano-SIPPE ist ein Gründungsmitglied des Berlin Joint Lab for Optical Simulations for Energy Research (BerOSE), welches vom HZB, dem ZIB und der Freien Universität Berlin 2014 gegründet wurde. BerOSE bietet ein ideales Biotop für den Austausch von Experten in 3D-optischen Simulationen mit Wissenschaftlern, die in der Synthese von nanostrukturierten Materialien für Photovoltaik, Energiespeicherung oder Photonik arbeiten.




Spectrum

Numerische und experimentelle 1-R Spektren von sinusoidal-texturierten Schichtsystemen. Die gezeigten Daten sind für eine Periode von 750 nm. Die numerischen Ergebnisse wurden mit Korrekturen 0. und 1. Ordnung berechnet [5]. Diese beiden Korrekturn untscheiden sich, da nicht alle Beugungsordnungen in Glas in Luft propagieren können. Simulationsdaten sind für zwei Einfallswinkel gezeigt: θin = 0° (dünne Linien) und θin = 8° (dicke Linien). Die experimentellen Daten wurden für θin = 8° gemessen.