Nanophotonic light trapping for thin-film solar cells

Liquid phase crystallized (LPC) silicon thin-film solar cells are a promising novel approach with a current efficiency record of 14.2% [1]. The LPC process is performed on a nanocrystalline Si layer on an interlayer stack on glass. The high refractive index of crystalline silicon requires anti-reflective measures to maximize in-coupling of light from the glass superstrate into the c-Si absorber. Ideally, these nanotextures also scatter the incident light in order to trap more light in the absorber – especially at long wavelengths. Light trapping is of special importance here because the absorber in LPC-Si solar cells is only 5 – 20 µm thick. Nanotextures for light management at the glass-Si interface can only be placed prior to the LPC process. Hence, they must be smooth in order to ensure LPC-Si with a high electronic quality.


SMART Structure

Illustrating the two types of nanostructures situated between glass and LPC-Si: sinusoidal nanotextures [2] and smooth anti-reflective three-dimensional textures (SMART) [4].


Our group currently is investigating two types of nanostructures situated between glass and LPC-Si: (1) sinusoidal nanotextures [2,3] and (2) smooth anti-reflective three-dimensional textures (SMART) [4]. Both textures are fabricated with nanoimprint lithography and enhance the optical performance of the solar cells. LPC-Si solar cells on these textures have excellent material qualities and hence electric properties, such that open circuit voltages exceeding 615 mV or even 640 mV are measured for sinusoidal or SMART structures, respectively. Numerical results obtained with the finite element method (FEM) match well with experimental data [5]. This was achieved with a numerical correction, which is applied to FEM results a posteriori and allows to adequately take the thick glass superstrate into account at negligible numerical cost.


EQE Nanostructure

(a) External quantum efficiency (EQE, solid lines) and 1-Reflectance (1-R, dashed lines) data of SMART (green), sinusoidal (red), and pillar (blue) textured LPC silicon thin-film solar cells compared to a planar reference device (black) [2,4]. (b) Corresponding maximum obtained solar cell parameters measured by EQE (jsc ) and Suns-Voc (Voc).

Nanophotonisches Lichtmanagement für Dünnschicht-Solarzellen

Dünnschicht-Solarzellen aus flüssigphasen-kristallisiertem Silizium (liquid-phase crystallized, LPC-Si) sind ein erfolgversprechender Ansatz mit einem aktuellen Wirkungsgrad von maximal 14,2% [1]. Der LPC Prozess wird auf nanokristallinem Silizium durchgeführt, welches auf einem Glassubstrat mit Zwischenschichten abgeschieden wurde. Die hohe Brechzahl von Silizium macht antireflektive Maßnahmen erforderlich, um die Einkopplung des einfallenden Lichts van Glas nach Silizium zu maximieren. Idealerweise streuen die hierfür genutzten Nanotexturen auch das einfallende Licht und helfen damit, mehr Licht im Absorber einzufangen. Lichteinfang ist bei diesen Solarzellen sehr wichtig, da LPC-Si Absorber nur etwa 5-20 µm dick sind. Nanotexturen für Lichteinfang an der Glas-Silizium Grenzfläche können nur vor dem LPC Prozess angebracht werden. Für LPC-Si mit hoher elektronischer Qualität müssen diese nanotexturierten Grenzflächen deswegen glatt sein.



In letzter Zeit hat unsere Gruppe vor allem zwei Typen von Nanotexturen zwischen Glas und LPC-Si untersucht: sinusoidale Nanotexturen [2,3] und glatte anti-reflektive dreidimensionale Texturen (SMART) [4]. Beide Texturen werden mit Nanoimprint-Lithographie hergestellt und erhöhen die Absorption in der Absorberschicht. LPC-Si Solarzellen auf diesen Texturen zeigen exzellente Material- und folglich elektrische Eigenschaften; für sinusoidale und SMART Texturen konnten Leerlaufspannungen von 615 mV, respektive 640 mV überschritten werden. Numerische Ergebnisse, die mit der finite Element Methode (FEM) berechnet wurden, zeigen hohe Übereinstimmung mit experimentellen Daten [5]. Wir konnten dies durch eine numerische Korrektur erreichen, welche auf die FEM Ergebnisse a posteriori angewandt wird, und welche es erlaubt, das dicke Glassuperstrat bei vernachlässigbarem Rechenaufwand adäquat zu berücksichtigen.


EQE Nanostruktur

(a) Externe Quantenausbeute (EQE, durchgezogene Linien) und 1-Reflexion (1-R, gestrichelte Linien) Daten von LPC-Si Dünnschicht-Solarzellen mit SMART- (grün), sinusoidalen (rot) und Säulentexturen und für eine flache Referenz (schwarz) [2,4]. (b) Die ensprechenden besten Solarzell-Parameter gemessen durch EQE (jsc ) und Suns-Voc (Voc).