Metal halide perovskites for solar cells

The activities of our institute are aimed to the development of stable and efficient c-Si / perovskite tandem solar cells. In this context, research topics are directed to the

Hybrid organic-inorganic metal halide perovskites (metal halide perovskites) represent a class of materials with the stoichiometry ABX3, whereas A, B and X denote an organic cation with the charge +1, for example, CH3NH3+ (methyl amine), an inorganic cation with the charge +2, for example, Pb2+, and an halide ion with the charge -1, i.e. I-, Br- or Cl-, respectively. Metal halide perovskites are semiconductors the band gap of which can be tuned in a wide range by varying the stoichiometry. The valence and conduction bands of metal halide perovskites are formed by states in the BX6 octahedra which share the X- - corners with neighbored octahedra in perovskite crystals. The structure of the perovskite crystal and the charge are balanced by the organic cations.


Efficiencies of solar cells based on metal halide perovskites exceed 20%. The tunability of the band gap and the fact that metal halide perovskites can be prepared from salt solutions at low temperatures make solar cells based on metal halide perovskite very attractive for top device in tandem solar cells with c-Si bottom cells. It is expected that the efficiency of photovoltaic modules will be strongly increased with c-Si / perovskite tandem solar cells. For this purpose, the long-term stability of the material, the charge separation at the interfaces and the efficiencies of solar cells based on metal halide perovskites have to be enhanced and investigated in detail. A deeper understanding of properties and processes of defect formation in metal halide perovskites is required in order to design metal halide perovskites with high stability and high energy conversion efficiencies.

Our institute provides a broad technology platform for the preparation of solar cells based on metal halide perovskites. This platform (HySprint and other labs) includes the solution and evaporation based deposition of metal halide perovskites and a large number of organic and inorganic layers and layer systems for charge-selective and ohmic contacts. Analytical methods can be applied for the characterization of solar cells, of the structure, chemical bonds, optical and photo-electric properties of metal halide perovskites and of interfaces with metal halide perovskites. Dedicated investigations can be performed, for example, by using photoluminescence, Raman-, infrared- and ellipsometric spectroscopies, effusion and transient methods of surface photovoltage.

See also the young investor groups working on perovskites:

Perowskite für Solarzellen

Das Institut Silizium-Photovoltaik beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung von stabilen und effizienten Tandemsolarzellen aus kristallinem Silizium und Perowskiten. In diesem Zusammenhang liegen unsere Forschungsschwerpunkte auf den folgenden Feldern:

Hybride organisch-anorganische Metall-Halogenid Perowskite stellen eine Materialklasse mit der Stöchiometrie ABX3 dar, wobei A, B und X für ein organisches Kation der Ladung +1, z.B. CH3NH3+ (Methylamin), ein inorganisches Kation mit Ladung +2, z.B. Pb2+, beziehungsweise ein Halogenid mit der Ladung -1, i.d.R. I-, Br- oder Cl-, stehen. Metall-Halogenid Perowskite sind Halbleiter in denen die Bandlücke in einem weiten Bereich durch Variation der Zusammensetzung eingestellt werden kann. Valenz- und Leitungsband der Metall-Halogenid Perowskite werden durch Zustände innerhalb der BX6 Oktaeder gebildet, bei denen die X-Ecken mit benachbarten Oktaedern im Perowskit-Kristall geteilt werden. Die Struktur des Perowskit-Kristalls und die Ladungen werden durch die organischen Kationen stabilisiert.


Effizienzen von Solarzellen auf Basis von Metall-Halogenid Perowskiten überschreiten 20%. Die Einstellbarkeit der Bandlücke und die Tatsache, dass Metall-Halogenid Perowskite bei niedrigen Temperaturen aus Salzlösungen hergestellt werden können, Machen Solarzellen auf Basis von Metall-Halogenid Perowskite sehr interessant für die Nutzung als Topzellen in Tandemarchitekturen mit Bottomzellen aus kristallinem Silizium. Es wird erwartet, daß die Effizienz von Solarmodulen durch diese Kombination stark gesteigert werden kann. Für diesen Zweck müssen die Stabilität des Materials, die Ladungstrennung an Grenzflächen und die Effizienz von Solarzellen auf Basis von Metall-Halogenid Perowskiten gesteigert und im Detail verstanden werden. Ein tieferes Verständnis der Defektentstehung ist notwendig, um die Synthese von Metall-Halogenid Perowskiten mit hoher Stabilität und hoher Energiewandlungseffizienz zu ermöglichen.

Unser Institut bietet eine breite technologische Plattform für die Herstellung von Solarzellen auf der Basis von Metall-Halogenid Perowskiten. Diese Plattform (zum Großteil organisiert über das Innovation Lab Hysprint) beinhaltet die Synthese von Metall-Halogenid Perowskiten aus der Lösung oder über Verdampfungsprozesse sowie einer Vielzahl von organischen und anorganischen Schichten und Schichtsystemen für ladungsselektive und ohmsche Kontakte. Analytische Methoden können für die Charakterisierung von Solarzellen, der Struktur von Materialien, chemischen Bindungen sowie optischen und optoelektronischen Eigenschaften von Metall-Halogenid Perowskiten und Grenzfläcehn verwendet werden. Spezielle Analysen könne beispielsweise mittels Photolumineszenz, Raman- oder Infrarotspektroskopie, Spektralellipsometrie, Effusion oder transienter Methoden der Oberflächenphotospannung durchgeführt werden.

In dieser Plattform arbeiten neben unserem Institut die folgenden Nachwuchsgruppen: