Von Ardenne deposition cluster

Overview

For the preparation of precursor layers for our liquid phase crystallization technology, an integrated PECVD / PVD cluster is available at the institute. Our Von Ardenne CS400PS cluster is equiped with two PECVD chambers, one rf-magnetron sputter source and two high rate electron beam evaporators for silicon deposition. In addition, the cluster is equipped with a process chamber for hydrogen plasma treatments of silicon-related materials. The cluster offers a fully automated deposition on multiple substrates including face-up and face-down deposition.

PECVD chambers

VA-7

For the deposition of silicon-based materials such as SiOx, SiNx, SiCx as well as intrinsic or p- / n-type doped a-Si:(H) or nc-Si(H) two PECVD chambers are available. The PECVDs offer heater temperatures up to 600°C and allow for the deposition on wafers up to 8 inch or custom made flipable carriers.

Sputter chamber

VA-6

The sputtering chamber is equipped with a 10 inch magnetron source and offers HF powers up to 1kW (RF bias capable) or pulsed DC operation to deposit various materials including silicon, silicon oxide or TCOs. A IR heater offers deposition temperatures up to 700°C

Electron beam evaporation chambers

VA-2

A unique feature of this cluster is the integration of evaporation chambers for the high rate deposition of silicon up to 40 micrometres. The installed electron beam sources offer deposition rates up to 600 nm /min at substrate temperatures up to 600°C. One deposition chamber is additionally installed with a boron effusion source to deposit p-type layers. For a higher sample throughput a second evaporation chamber was installed which offers the simultaneos deposition on four 8 inch substrates.

Hydrogen post treatment

VA-4

For bulk and surface passivation of silicon the cluster is equiped with a hydrogen plasma treatment chamber. The chamber offers a direct hydrogen or deuterium plasma and RTP system to anneal samples up to 700°C 

Sample transport and storage

VA-3

For the integrated processing of multiple samples and combination of face-up and face-down depositions, a magazine loadlock with 12 slots and a substrate flip-station is available. For loading / unloading of a single substrate a second loadlock with preheat station is installed at the system.

Von Ardenne Depositionscluster

Übersicht

Zur Herstellung von Prekursorschichten für die Flüssigphasenkristallisationstechnologie (LPC) betreibt das Institut Silizium Photovoltaik ein integriertes PECVD/PVD Beschichtungssystem. Das Von Ardenne CS400PS cluster ist mit zwei PECVD Kammern, einer HF-magnetron Sputterkammer und zwei hochraten Elektronenstrahlverdampfern zur Deposition von Silizium ausgestattet. Zusätzlich verfügt das System über eine Wasserstoff-Plasmapassivierungskammer zur Nachbehandlung von Siliziumschichten. Das Cluster ermöglicht eine vollautomatische Beschichtung von mehreren Proben inklusive face-up und face-down Beschichtung.

PECVD Kammern

VA-7

Für die Deposition von Siliziumbasierten Legierungen wie SiOx, SiNx, SiCx aber auch intrinsiche oder p- und n- dotierte a-Si:(H) oder nc-Si(H) Schichten, sind an dem System zwei PECVD Kammern installiert. Die PECVDs ermöglichen Prozesse bei Temperaturen bis zu 600°C. Als Substrate können Wafer bis zu 8 Zoll Durchmesser oder spezielle Substrathalter genutzt werden.

Sputterkammer

VA-6

Die Sputterkammer verfügt über ein 10 Zoll Magnetron-Target und ermöglicht Prozesse mit Leistungen bis zu 1kW (HF oder DC). Zusätzlich kann mit HF-bias gearbeitet werden. In der Kammer können verschiedene Materialien deponiert werden (z.B. silizium und silizium-legierungen aber auch TCOs). Ein Strahlungsheizer ermöglicht Depositionstemperaturen bis zu 700°C.

Elektronenstrahlverdampfer

VA-2

Eine Besonderheit des Clustersystems sind die beiden hochraten Elektronenstrahlverdampfer für Siliziumschichten mit einer Dicke bis zu 40 Mikrometern. Die Verdampfer ermöglichen Depositionsraten bis zu 600 nm/min bei Substrattemperaturen bis zu 600°C. Einer der Verdamper ist zudem mit einer Bor-Effusionszelle ausgestattet, so dass p- dotierte Schichten in-situ hergestellt werden können. zur Erhöhung des Probendurchsatzes wurde ein zweiter Verdampfer installiert, der die simultane Beschichtung von vier 8-Zoll Substraten erlaubt.

 

Wasserstoff-Nachbehandlungskammer

VA-4

Zur elektronischen Passivierung von Volumen- und Oberflächendefekten ist eine Wasserstoff-Nachbehandlungskammer verfügbar. Die Kammer ermöglicht eine Plasmabehandlung mit Wasserstoff und/oder Deuterium und verfügt zudem über ein RTP-System mit Temperaturen bis zu 700°C.

Probentransport und Zwischenlager

VA-3

Um eine automatisierte Beschichtung von mehreren Substraten zu ermöglichen, befindet sich an dem Tool eine Magazinschleuse für bis zu 12 Proben, sowie eine Flip-Station zur beliebigen Kombination von face-up und face-down Prozessen. Zudem ist eine Einzelschleuse mit Vorheizstation (T <300°C) installiert, um einzelne Proben auch während eines Beschichtungsablaufs zu be- & entladen.