Three-axis spectrometer FLEXX

Fig.1: The upgraded cold neutron triple-axis spectrometer FLEXX.

FLEXX is a high-output instrument for inelastic neutron scattering using the outstanding sample environment capabilities at HZB (Fig. 1). Low-energy excitations such as phonons and magnons can be measured in a large parameter space, at temperatures as low as 40 mK and magnetic fields as high as 17 T. The instrument is in user operation for external researchers for a range of scientific topics including quantum magnetism and unconventional superconductivity. FLEXX also provides important insights for in-house research on energy materials, with focus on the transport properties in thermoelectric materials.

Since the neutron guide upgrade accomplished in 2012, FLEXX is located at a guide-end position in an area of the guide hall with intrinsically low background. During the upgrade, the primary spectrometer of FLEXX was completely rebuilt with m=3 guides including a converging elliptical section to focus neutrons onto a virtual source [6-8]. From the virtual source, the neutrons are imaged onto a double focusing monochromator, which maximizes the neutron flux at the sample. Experiments have confirmed an order of magnitude gain in intensity [4,5]. In addition, a velocity selector is used to remove higher-order scattering which eliminates the need for filters. A polarizing S-bender may be translated into the beam before the elliptical guide section where the beam is collimated, allowing the gains from focusing neutrons onto the sample to be realized for polarized measurements as well (Fig. 2). A focusing Heusler analyzer is available to further enhance polarized neutron capabilities at FLEXX.

Fig. 2: Schematic drawing of the key components of FLEXX.

In 2016, the construction of the new multi-analyzer MultiFLEXX was completed [1]. It consists of 31 angular segments that each contain 5 vertically scattering analyzers [2]. Each analyzer is set to a fixed wavelength, corresponding to final energies between 2.5 meV and 4.5 meV. Thus, MultiFLEXX allows a large region of reciprocal space to be measured simultaneously by simply rotating the sample. Switching between FLEXX and MultiFLEXX takes only half an hour, and all usual sample environment set-ups are compatible with MultiFLEXX. It is thus a convenient new tool for parametric overview studies of excitations as a function of magnetic field or temperature.

Larmor labeling is seen as one of the key ingredients in the development of novel neutron instrumentation. FLEXX puts special emphasis on exploiting the neutron resonance spin echo (NRSE) technique for high-resolution spectroscopy on dispersive quasi-particle excitations. This enables unique measurements in single crystal spectroscopy over large portions of the Brillouin zone. To keep the experimental opportunities at BER II at the forefront the NRSE option available at FLEXX was upgraded along with the change of the primary spectrometer [3].

References

[1] F. Groitl, R. Toft-Petersen, D.L. Quintero-Castro, S. Meng, Z. Lu, Z. Huesges, M.D. Le, S. Alimov, T. Wilpert, K. Kiefer, S. Gerischer, A. Bertin, K. Habicht, MultiFLEXX - The new multianalyzer at the cold triple-axis spectrometer FLEXX, Sci. Rep. 7 (2017) 13637.

[2] R. Toft-Petersen, F. Groitl, M. Kure, J. Lim, P. Čermák, S. Alimov, T. Wilpert, M.D. Le, D. Quintero-Castro, C. Niedermayer, A. Schneidewind, K. Habicht, Experimental characterization of a prototype secondary spectrometer for vertically scattering multiple energy analysis at cold-neutron triple axis spectrometers, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 830, 338-344 (2016).

[3] F. Groitl, T. Keller, D. Quintero-Castro, K. Habicht, Neutron resonance spin-echo upgrade at the three-axis spectrometer FLEXX, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 86 (2015) 025110.

[4] K. Habicht, D.L. Quintero-Castro, R. Toft-Petersen, M. Kure, L. Mäde, F. Groitl, M.D. Le, The upgraded cold neutron triple-axis spectrometer FLEXX - enhanced capabilities by new instrumental options, EPJ Web Conf. 83 (2015) 03007.

[5] M.D. Le, D.L. Quintero-Castro, R. Toft-Petersen, F. Groitl, M. Skoulatos, K.C. Rule, K. Habicht, Gains from the upgrade of the cold neutron triple axis spectrometer FLEXX at the BER-II reactor, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 729 (2013) 220-226.

[6] K. Habicht, M. Skoulatos, Optimization of virtual source parameters in neutron scattering instrumentation, J. Phys. Conf. Ser. 340/1 (2012) 012029.

[7] M. Skoulatos, K. Habicht, K. Lieutenant, Improving energy resolution on neutron monochromator arrays, J. Phys. Conf. Ser. 340/1 (2012) 012019.

[8] M. Skoulatos, K. Habicht, Upgrade of the primary spectrometer of the cold triple-axis spectrometer FLEX at the BER II reactor, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 647/1 (2011) 100–106.

Dreiachsenspektrometer FLEXX

Abb. 1: Foto des Dreiachsenspektormeters FLEXX

FLEXX ist ein viel genutztes Instrument für inelastische Neutronenstreuung unter den komplexen Probenumgebungen, die am HZB zur Verfügung stehen (Bild 1). Niederenergetische Anregungen wie Phononen und Magnonen können hier unter extremen Bedingungen gemessen werden, wie tiefen Temperaturen (Minimum 40 mK) und hohen Magnetfeldern (bis zu 17 T). Das Spektrometer ist im Userbetrieb für externe Messgäste, die an vielfältigen Themen, z.B. Quantenmagnetismus und Supraleitung, forschen. FLEXX wird auch für die HZB-interne Forschung an Energiematerialien genutzt, insbesondere um Transportphänomene in thermoelektrischen Materialien zu untersuchen.

Seit der Vollendung der Modernisierung der Neutronenleiter in 2012 befindet sich FLEXX am Ende eines Neutronenleiters in einem Teil der Neutronenleiterhalle mit besonders niedrigem Untergrund. Im Rahmen der Modernisierung wurde das Primärspektrometer von FLEXX ganz neu aufgebaut, wobei m=3 Neutronensuperspiegel im Leiter verwendet wurden, mit einem konvergierenden, elliptischen Bauteil, das Neutronen auf eine virtuelle Quelle fokussiert [6-8]. Von dort werden die Neutronen auf einen doppelt fokussierenden Monochromator gespiegelt und dadurch der Fluss zur Probe hin maximiert. Messungen haben gezeigt, dass der Neutronenfluss durch die Umbaumaßnahmen um eine Größenordnung angestiegen ist [4,5]. Außerdem gibt es nun einen Geschwindigkeitsselektor, der Neutronen der doppelten (dreifachen usw.) Wellenzahl herausfiltert, so dass keine Filter für höherenergetische Neutronen verwendet werden müssen. Um polarisierte Neutronen zu erzeugen, kann ein S-Bender über einen Translationstisch im Neutronenleiter in den Strahl gefahren werden. Der Tisch befindet sich vor dem elliptischen Bauteil, wo der Neutronenstrahl kollimiert ist, so dass der Intensitätsgewinn durch Fokussierung auch für polarisierte Neutronen realisiert werden kann (Bild 2). Ein fokussierender Heusler-Analysator verbessert weiterhin die Leistungsfähigkeit von FLEXX für Messungen mit polarisierten Neutronen.

Abb. 2: Schematische Darstellung der wichtigsten Komponenten des Dreiachsenspektrometers FLEXX

2016 wurde der neue Multi-Analysator MultiFLEXX fertiggestellt [1]. Er besteht aus 31 baugleichen Winkelsegmenten mit jeweils 5 Analysatoren, die vertikal streuen [2]. Jeder Analysator ist auf eine feste Wellenlänge eingestellt, die einer Energie zwischen 2.5 meV und 4.5 meV entspricht. Nur durch Rotation der Probe kann somit ein großer Bereich im reziproken Raum gleichzeitig vermessen werden. Der Wechsel von FLEXX auf MultiFLEXX dauert nur eine halbe Stunde, und alle üblichen Probenumgebungen sind mit MultiFLEXX kompatibel. MultiFLEXX erleichtert daher Überblickmessungen, bei denen die Änderungen von Anregungen mit der Temperatur oder dem magnetischen Feld untersucht werden sollen.

Larmor-Markierungen sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil in der Entwicklung neuer Methoden in der Neutronenstreuung. FLEXX ist insbesondere auch dafür geeignet, Neutronen-Resonanz-Spin-Echo-Messungen (NRSE) durchzuführen, um dispersive Quasiteilchen-Anregungen in höchster Auflösung zu untersuchen, und zwar in weiten Bereichen der Brillouin-Zone. Auch die NRSE-Option wurde im Rahmen der Erneuerungsmaßnahmen optimiert, so dass FLEXX+NRSE sich mit vergleichbaren Geräten an anderen Standorten messen kann [3].

Literatur

[1] F. Groitl, R. Toft-Petersen, D.L. Quintero-Castro, S. Meng, Z. Lu, Z. Huesges, M.D. Le, S. Alimov, T. Wilpert, K. Kiefer, S. Gerischer, A. Bertin, K. Habicht, MultiFLEXX - The new multianalyzer at the cold triple-axis spectrometer FLEXX, Sci. Rep. 7 (2017) 13637.

[2] R. Toft-Petersen, F. Groitl, M. Kure, J. Lim, P. Čermák, S. Alimov, T. Wilpert, M.D. Le, D. Quintero-Castro, C. Niedermayer, A. Schneidewind, K. Habicht, Experimental characterization of a prototype secondary spectrometer for vertically scattering multiple energy analysis at cold-neutron triple axis spectrometers, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 830, 338-344 (2016).

[3] F. Groitl, T. Keller, D. Quintero-Castro, K. Habicht, Neutron resonance spin-echo upgrade at the three-axis spectrometer FLEXX, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 86 (2015) 025110.

[4] K. Habicht, D.L. Quintero-Castro, R. Toft-Petersen, M. Kure, L. Mäde, F. Groitl, M.D. Le, The upgraded cold neutron triple-axis spectrometer FLEXX - enhanced capabilities by new instrumental options, EPJ Web Conf. 83 (2015) 03007.

[5] M.D. Le, D.L. Quintero-Castro, R. Toft-Petersen, F. Groitl, M. Skoulatos, K.C. Rule, K. Habicht, Gains from the upgrade of the cold neutron triple axis spectrometer FLEXX at the BER-II reactor, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 729 (2013) 220-226.

[6] K. Habicht, M. Skoulatos, Optimization of virtual source parameters in neutron scattering instrumentation, J. Phys. Conf. Ser. 340/1 (2012) 012029.

[7] M. Skoulatos, K. Habicht, K. Lieutenant, Improving energy resolution on neutron monochromator arrays, J. Phys. Conf. Ser. 340/1 (2012) 012019.

[8] M. Skoulatos, K. Habicht, Upgrade of the primary spectrometer of the cold triple-axis spectrometer FLEX at the BER II reactor, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 647/1 (2011) 100–106.