Neutron Resonance Spin Echo Spectroscopy

FLEXX provides the opportunity to combine triple-axis spectroscopy and high resolution spin-echo spectroscopy for the investigation of dispersive collective excitations in solid state matter. The achievable energy resolution enables unique access to qualitatively new information about the linewidth of quasiparticles. Most notably, wavevector-dependent relaxation times of individual phonon modes, e.g. arising from the anharmonicity of the interatomic potential of the crystalline lattice, can be measured. Together with the phonon group velocity the relaxation time determines the phonon mean free path, the key parameter for thermal conductivity.

Technically, a non-vanishing group velocity of the excitation mode requires well-defined precession field regions which are tilted with respect to the neutron beam paths in order to measure intrinsic mode linewidths. The neutron resonance spin-echo (NRSE) option  available at FLEXX employs compact resonant spin flippers and is particularly well suited for spin-echo focusing with tilted precession fields. With NRSE spectroscopy linewidths of dispersive elementary excitations can be measured with an energy resolution in the μeV range.

NRSE Option at FLEXX

Fig. 1: Triple-axis spectrometer FLEXX with the NRSE option. Two pairs of resonant spin flippers in front of and behind the sample position are located in µ-metal shielding boxes (closed during operation). Tilted precession field regions which are required for dispersive excitations are easily realized by rotating the spin flippers around their vertical axes

Neutronen-Resonanz-Spin-Echo Spektroskopie

FLEXX bietet die Möglichkeit, Dreiachsen-Spektrometrie mit hochauflösenden Spin-Echo-Messungen zu verbinden, um dispersive kollektive Anregungen in Festkörpern zu untersuchen. Die hohe Energieauflösung ermöglicht es, die Lebenszeit der Quasiteilchen auf einer sonst nicht erreichbaren Zeitskala zu vermessen. Insbesondere können die Relaxationszeiten einzelner Phononenmoden, welche z.B. durch Anharmonizitäten im Potential des Kristallgitters verursacht werden, in Abhängigkeit des Wellenvektors gemessen werden. Relaxationszeit und Gruppengeschwindigkeit bestimmen zusammen die freie Weglänge der Phononen, der zentrale Parameter für die thermische Leitfähigkeit.

Bei einer endlichen Gruppengeschwindigkeit der Anregungen kann man intrinsische Linienbreiten nur dann messen, wenn die Bereiche der Präzessionsfelder zum Neutronenstrahl verkippt sind. Die Neutronen-Resonanz-Spin-Echo (NRSE) Methode, die an FLEXX zur Verfügung steht, nutzt kompakte Spinflipper und ist besonders geeignet für Spin-Echo-Fokussierung mit verkippten Präzessionsfeldern. Mit Hilfe der NRSE Spektroskopie können Linienbreiten von dispersiven Elementaranregungen mit einer Energieauflösung im μeV-Bereich vermessen werden.

NRSE Option an FLEXX

Abb. 1: Dreiachen-Spektrometer FLEXX mit der NRSE-Option. Je ein Spinflipper-Paar vor und hinter der Probenposition befindet sich in einer μ-Metall-Box (im Betrieb geschlossen). Die Bereiche verkippter Präzessionsfelder, die für dispersive Anregungen benötigt werden, können leicht realisiert werden, indem man die Spinflipper um ihre vertikale Achse dreht.