NRSE method

To achieve an extraordinarily high energy resolution, exceeding the energy resolution of the standard triple-axis mode by two orders of magnitude, the neutron spin-echo (NSE) method uses the Larmor precession of polarized neutrons [1]. Two magnetic field regions one in front of the sample and a second one behind the sample are used. A key advantage of NSE spectroscopy is that the energy resolution does not depend on the beam monochromaticity since the energy transfer at the sample is encoded in the difference in Larmor precession angles before and after the scattering process.

In contrast to conventional inelastic neutron scattering techniques NSE spectroscopy accesses the intermediate scattering function thus collecting information about the dynamics of the scattering system in the time-domain rather than in the energy domain. The important consequence is that the instrumental resolution is not convoluted with the scattering function. Resolution effects are thus corrected for by dividing the NSE data by the resolution function. 

The neutron resonance spin-echo (NRSE) variant of the spin-echo method employs two radio frequency (RF) flippers each providing a static magnetic field B0 and a rotating RF field operated at a frequency in resonance with the neutron Larmor precession frequency in B0. Two RF flippers separated by a distance L from each other, act like a single homogeneous magnetic field oriented perpendicular to the scattering plane resulting in an effective field integral 2LB0. By doubling the number of compact RF flippers (so-called bootstrap coils) the field integral can be increased by another factor of two. To minimize additional rotation of the neutron polarization vector the RF flippers are housed in µ-metal shielding external magnetic stray fields.

To measure the linewidths of dispersive excitations with finite group velocity, the boundaries of the precessions fields have to be tilted relative to the neutron beam paths. This methodological approach is known as spin-echo focusing or phonon focusing [2]. Assuming that the excitation mode under investigation has zero linewidth, the inclination of the field boundaries results in identical Larmor precession angles for all inelastically scattered neutrons, irrespective of the finite slope of the dispersion. With the NRSE apparatus, these tilted fields can be realized very easily. The surfaces of the static field coils (B0-coils) define precise field boundaries. Rotating the RF flipper coils, which are installed on individually controllable rotation stages with vertical axes, allows to reach tilt angles exceeding 45° while retaining high transmission.

The high flexibility in adjusting the field boundaries also provides opportunities for elastic measurements with very high wavevector resolution. The Larmor diffraction method [3] allows to extract distributions of lattice spacings from the modulation of the neutron beam polarization with a very high sensitivity. Likewise relative changes in the lattice constants, e.g. as a function of temperature, are obtained from the phase shift of the modulated polarization signal. Choosing an opposite relative orientation of the precession fields, the mosaicity of the sample is precisely probed, an important input parameter also for the interpretation of inelastic NRSE data.

Fig. 1 shows the main components of the combined set-up of the triple-axis spectrometer FLEXX with the NRSE option. For the installation of the NRSE option two modules are additionally inserted, one between the monochromator and the sample and a second between the sample and the analyzer. These modules host the µ-metal shielding boxes (closed during operation) with the rotatable RF spin flipper coils. During the upgrade of the NRSE option newly designed coils have been installed, which allow for a larger beam cross section, higher frequencies and larger tilt angles.

NRSE Option at FLEXX

Fig. 1: Triple-axis spectrometer FLEXX with the NRSE option. Two pairs of resonant spin flippers in front of and behind the sample position are located in µ-metal shielding boxes (closed during operation). Tilted precession field regions which are required for dispersive excitations are easily realized by rotating the spin flippers around their vertical axes

References

[1] F. Mezei, The Principles of Neutron Spin Echo, in ‘Neutron Spin Echo’, Lecture Notes in Physics, Vol. 128, ed. by F. Mezei, 3-26, Springer, Berlin (1980).

[2] K. Habicht, R. Golub, R. Gähler, T. Keller, Space-Time View of Neutron Spin Echo, Correlation Functions and Phonon Focusing, in ‘Neutron Spin Echo Spectroscopy’, Lecture Notes in Physics, F. Mezei, C. Pappas, T. Gutberlet (Eds.), 116-132, Springer, Berlin (2003).

[3] M.T. Rekveldt, T. Keller, R. Golub, Larmor precession, a technique for high-sensitivity neutron diffraction, Europhys. Lett. 54 (2001) 342-346.

NRSE Methode

Um eine außergewöhnlich hohe Energieauflösung zu erreichen – zwei Größenordnungen besser als die eines Dreiachsenspektrometers – nutzt die Neutronen-Spin-Echo (NSE) Methode Larmor-Präzession von Spin-polarisierten Neutronen [1]. Zwei Magnetfeld-Bereiche werden benötigt, einer vor und einer hinter der Probe. Ein bedeutender Vorteil der NSE-Methode ist, dass die Energieauflösung nicht vom Monochromatismus des Neutronenstrahls abhängt, da der Energietransfer an der Probe in der Differenz der Präzessionswinkel vor und nach dem Streuprozess enthalten ist.

Im Gegensatz zu konventionellen inelastischen Neutronenstreumethoden misst NSE-Spektroskopie die intermediäre Streufunktion, d.h. die Dynamik wird als Funktion der Zeit und nicht als Funktion der Energie untersucht. Als wichtige Konsequenz ergibt sich, dass die instrumentelle Auflösung nicht mit der Streufunktion gefaltet ist. Den Einfluss der Auflösung kann man deshalb einfach korrigieren, indem man die NSE-Daten durch die Auflösungsfunktion teilt.

Die Neutronen-Resonanz-Spin-Echo (NRSE)-Variante der Spin-Echo-Methode nutzt zwei Hochfrequenz (HF)-Flipper, die jeweils ein statisches Magnetfeld B0 und ein rotierendes HF-Feld erzeugen, wobei das HF-Feld in Resonanz zur Larmor-Präzessionsfrequenz der Neutronen im Feld B0 steht. Zwei HF-Flipper, die sich im Abstand L zueinander befinden, verhalten sich wie ein homogenes Magnetfeld, das senkrecht auf der Streuebene steht und ein effektives Feldintegral von 2LB0 hat. Das Feldintegral kann nochmal um einen Faktor zwei gesteigert werden, indem man die Anzahl der HF-Flipper (auch Bootstrap-Spulen genannt) verdoppelt. Die HF-Flipper befinden sich in Boxen aus µ-Metall, die externe Magnetfelder abschirmen und so eine ungewollte Rotation des Polarisationsvektors der Neutronen verhindern.

Um die Linienbreiten dispersiver Anregungen mit endlicher Gruppengeschwindigkeit zu messen, müssen die Grenzflächen der Präzessionsbereiche relativ zur Richtung des Neutronenstrahls gedreht werden. Dies nennt man Spin-Echo-Fokussierung oder Phononenfokussierung [2]. Falls die Anregung eine intrinsische Breite von Null hat, bewirkt die Drehung der Feldgrenzen identische Larmor-Präzessionswinkel für alle inelastisch gestreuten Neutronen, unabhängig von der Steigung der Dispersion. Mit dem NRSE-Aufbau können solche verkippten Felder sehr leicht umgesetzt werden. Die Oberflächen der B0-Spulen stellen klare Grenzflächen für die Magnetfelder dar. Durch die Drehung der HF-Spulen, die auf einzeln ansteuerbaren Rotationstischen mit vertikaler Drehachse angebracht sind, können Drehwinkel von 45° und mehr erreicht werden, wobei trotzdem eine hohe Transmission gegeben ist.

Die hohe Flexibilität bei der Einstellung der Feldgrenzen ermöglicht auch elastische Messungen mit sehr hoher Wellenvektor-Auflösung. Mit dieser Larmor-Diffraktions-Methode [3] lässt sich die Verteilung von Gitterparametern mit hoher Empfindlichkeit aus der Polarisation des Neutronenstrahls ablesen. Ebenso lassen sich relative Änderungen der Gitterparameter, z.B. als Funktion der Temperatur, aus der Phasenverschiebung der Polarisations-Modulierung bestimmen. Wenn die Präzessionsfelder so eingestellt werden, dass ihre Orientierung einander entgegengesetzt ist, kann man die Mosaizität der Probe genau vermessen, die z.B. für die Analyse von inelastischen NRSE-Daten von großer Bedeutung ist.

Abb. 1 zeigt die wichtigsten Komponenten des NRSE-Aufbaus am Dreiachsenspektrometer FLEXX. Für die Installation der NRSE-Option werden zwei Module in das Spektrometer eingefügt, das erste zwischen Monochromator und Probe und das zweite zwischen Probe und Analysator. Diese Module beinhalten die µ-Metall-Boxen (im Betrieb geschlossen) mit den drehbaren HF-Flippern. Im Rahmen der Modernisierung der NRSE-Option wurden neue Spulen installiert, die einen größeren Strahlquerschnitt, höhere Frequenzen und größere Drehwinkel ermöglichen.


 

NRSE Option an FLEXX

Abb. 1: Dreiachen-Spektrometer FLEXX mit der NRSE-Option. Je ein Spinflipper-Paar vor und hinter der Probenposition befindet sich in einer μ-Metall-Box (im Betrieb geschlossen). Die Bereiche verkippter Präzessionsfelder, die für dispersive Anregungen benötigt werden, können leicht realisiert werden, indem man die Spinflipper um ihre vertikale Achse dreht.

Literatur

[1] F. Mezei, The Principles of Neutron Spin Echo, in ‘Neutron Spin Echo’, Lecture Notes in Physics, Vol. 128, ed. by F. Mezei, 3-26, Springer, Berlin (1980).

[2] K. Habicht, R. Golub, R. Gähler, T. Keller, Space-Time View of Neutron Spin Echo, Correlation Functions and Phonon Focusing, in ‘Neutron Spin Echo Spectroscopy’, Lecture Notes in Physics, F. Mezei, C. Pappas, T. Gutberlet (Eds.), 116-132, Springer, Berlin (2003).

[3] M.T. Rekveldt, T. Keller, R. Golub, Larmor precession, a technique for high-sensitivity neutron diffraction, Europhys. Lett. 54 (2001) 342-346.