FLEX-Upgrade

During the period 2010-2012, the instrumentation suite operated in the neutron guide hall I has been massively upgraded. The upgrade of the FLEXX spectrometer included the relocation to a guide-end position in an area of the guide hall with intrinsically low background. The primary spectrometer of FLEXX was completely rebuilt with new m=3 guides including a converging elliptical section to focus neutrons onto a virtual source. The neutrons are subsequently imaged onto a new double focusing monochromator, ensuring an increase in neutrons reaching the sample. In addition, a new velocity selector is used to remove higher-order scattering which eliminates the need for filters. A polarizing S-bender may be translated into the beam before the elliptical guide section where the beam is collimated, allowing the gains from focusing neutrons onto the sample to be realized for polarized measurements also.

Experiments confirmed an order-of-magnitude gain in intensity (at the cost of coarser momentum resolution), an improved wavelength range between 2 Å and 6.5 Å and demonstrated that the incoherent elastic energy widths are measurably narrower than before the upgrade. The much improved count rate allows the use of smaller single crystals samples and thus enables the upgraded FLEXX spectrometer to continue making leading edge measurements.

Fig. 1: Scheme of the upgraded components of FLEXX

Details

References

[1] F. Groitl, T. Keller, D. Quintero-Castro, K. Habicht, Neutron resonance spin-echo upgrade at the three-axis spectrometer FLEXX, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 86 (2015) 025110.

[2] K. Habicht, D.L. Quintero-Castro, R. Toft-Petersen, M. Kure, L. Mäde, F. Groitl, M.D. Le, The upgraded cold neutron triple-axis spectrometer FLEXX - enhanced capabilities by new instrumental options, EPJ Web Conf. 83 (2015) 03007.

[3] M.D. Le, D.L. Quintero-Castro, R. Toft-Petersen, F. Groitl, M. Skoulatos, K.C. Rule, K. Habicht, Gains from the upgrade of the cold neutron triple axis spectrometer FLEXX at the BER-II reactor, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 729 (2013) 220-226.

[4] K. Habicht, M. Skoulatos, Optimization of virtual source parameters in neutron scattering instrumentation, J. Phys. Conf. Ser. 340/1 (2012) 012029.

[5] M. Skoulatos, K. Habicht, K. Lieutenant, Improving energy resolution on neutron monochromator arrays, J. Phys. Conf. Ser. 340/1 (2012) 012019.

[6] M. Skoulatos, K. Habicht, Upgrade of the primary spectrometer of the cold triple-axis spectrometer FLEX at the BER II reactor, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 647/1 (2011) 100–106.

FLEXX-Modernisierung

Von 2010 bis 2012 wurden die Instrumente in der Neutronenleiterhalle umfassend modernisiert. Im Rahmen der Modernisierung von FLEXX wurde das Instrument an eine Endposition des Neutronenleiters verschoben, in einen Bereich der Neutronenleiterhalle mit besonders niedrigem Untergrund. Außerdem wurde das Primärspektrometer von FLEXX ganz neu aufgebaut, wobei m=3 Neutronensuperspiegel im Leiter verwendet wurden, mit einem konvergierenden, elliptischen Bauteil, das Neutronen auf eine virtuelle Quelle fokussiert. Von dort werden die Neutronen auf einen doppelt fokussierenden Monochromator gespiegelt und dadurch der Fluss zur Probe hin maximiert. Außerdem gibt es nun einen Geschwindigkeitsselektor, der Neutronen der doppelten (dreifachen usw.) Wellenzahl herausfiltert, so dass keine Filter für höherenergetische Neutronen verwendet werden müssen. Um polarisierte Neutronen zu erzeugen, kann ein S-Bender über einen Translationstisch im Neutronenleiter in den Strahl gefahren werden. Der Tisch befindet sich vor dem elliptischen Bauteil, wo der Neutronenstrahl kollimiert ist, so dass der Intensitätsgewinn durch Fokussierung auch für polarisierte Neutronen realisiert werden kann. Ein fokussierender Heusler-Analysator verbessert weiterhin die Leistungsfähigkeit von FLEXX für Messungen mit polarisierten Neutronen.

Messungen haben gezeigt, dass der Neutronenfluss durch die Umbaumaßnahmen um eine Größenordnung angestiegen ist (auf Kosten einer etwas schlechteren Impulsauflösung), dass der Wellenlägenbereich vergrößert werden konnte (2 - 6.5 Å) und dass die inkohärente elastische Energiebreite schmaler ist als vor der Modernisierung. Durch die gesteigerten Zählraten können nun auch kleinere Einkristalle als Proben verwendet werden, so dass Messungen an FLEXX weiterhin einen Beitrag zur Spitzenforschung leisten können.

Abb. 1: Überblick über die verbesserten Komponenten von FLEXX

Details

Literatur

[1] F. Groitl, T. Keller, D. Quintero-Castro, K. Habicht, Neutron resonance spin-echo upgrade at the three-axis spectrometer FLEXX, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 86 (2015) 025110.

[2] K. Habicht, D.L. Quintero-Castro, R. Toft-Petersen, M. Kure, L. Mäde, F. Groitl, M.D. Le, The upgraded cold neutron triple-axis spectrometer FLEXX - enhanced capabilities by new instrumental options, EPJ Web Conf. 83 (2015) 03007.

[3] M.D. Le, D.L. Quintero-Castro, R. Toft-Petersen, F. Groitl, M. Skoulatos, K.C. Rule, K. Habicht, Gains from the upgrade of the cold neutron triple axis spectrometer FLEXX at the BER-II reactor, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 729 (2013) 220-226.

[4] K. Habicht, M. Skoulatos, Optimization of virtual source parameters in neutron scattering instrumentation, J. Phys. Conf. Ser. 340/1 (2012) 012029.

[5] M. Skoulatos, K. Habicht, K. Lieutenant, Improving energy resolution on neutron monochromator arrays, J. Phys. Conf. Ser. 340/1 (2012) 012019.

[6] M. Skoulatos, K. Habicht, Upgrade of the primary spectrometer of the cold triple-axis spectrometer FLEX at the BER II reactor, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 647/1 (2011) 100–106.