Detector Laboratory

Staff of the detector laboratory within EM-AMCT support instrument responsibles and users ensuring smooth operation of neutron detectors and associated equipment during their experiments and measurements at the BER II neutron source. The ambition is to guarantee technically faultless operation to allow for an efficient use of the valuable beam time. Our expertise includes primary detectors (monitors, delay line detectors, and counter tube arrays), amplifier- and discriminator electronics, as well as data acquisition interfaces. Finally, support for the software packages DeLiDAQ and qmesydaq is provided.

Helium-3 Crisis and Projects of ICND

In the years after 2009 there has been a dramatic global shortage of the widely used neutron converter gas helium-3. This has increased pressure to develop new detector technologies. To facilitate this, the International Collaboration for the Development of Neutron Detectors (ICND) was formed [1] by the leading neutron laboratories, including FRM-II, FZJ, ILL, ISIS, SNS, JPARC and HZB. The detector group of the Working Group EM-AMCT took a very active role in this effort, coordinating the development of detectors using boron-trifluoride (BF3) gas. Two other alternatives which the collaboration is investigating are: (i) scintillation detectors (coordinated by ISIS), and (ii) detectors with multi-layers boron-10 detectors (coordinated by ILL). The urgency of finding an alternative to helium-3 is underlined by the development of large area detector arrays covering dozens of square meters and requiring the replacement of several thousand liters of helium-3, i.e. time-of-flight spectrometers. The project, no longer pursued today, had been taken to a stage where promising approaches for a safe operation of BF3-filled position-sensitive multi-tube detectors for the detection of cold neutrons in time-of-flight spectrometers had been developed [2]. 

Another focus of the activities of the detector lab was the development of a micro-strip gas chamber (MSGC) with gadolinium-157 as a neutron converter. This detector is characterized by a very high count rate capability (~1E7 n/s) and a very good 2-dimensional position resolution (<0.5 mm). In test measurements, a position resolution of ~100 µm could be extracted and a count rate capability of ~10 MHz could be extrapolated [3].

Detectors for Instruments at BER II

The expertise in neutron detector systems is also provided to the instrument responsibles for the choice of detectors suitable for the conceptual design of new instruments. Detailed simulations guarantee in advance that the suggested detector concept meets the scientific demands. As a matter of course, the mechanical construction is accompanied as equally as production of the detector assembly. The detector system is then setup and tested in the lab. Finally, after the detector system has been assembled and commissioned, it is handed over to the instrument responsible. Examples of developments are four detector panels each equipped with 48 linear position-sensitive detectors (LPDs) for the EXED instrument and the new SANS and VSANS instrument with 112 LPDs each.

Recently, the large detector laboratory was used to build-up four large-area detector panels for the HFM-EXED project. These panels created in the so-called multi-tube design were build in close co-operation with the detector group of ILL. Ready-to-use mechanical concepts, perfectly suited production and test facilities as well as Helium-3, which was procured before 2009, could be used in this project. Two of the detector panels consist of 31 tubes with a diameter of ¾” and a length of 238 cm while the other 2 panels have only 23 tubes with the same diameter, but a length of 200 cm. A major challenge in this project was to ensure the long-term helium-tightness of the large-area end flanges of the detector panels with an internal pressure of 10 bar. This was finally achieved by means of Helicoflex seals and special, high-strength screws. The detectors were certified according to the new directive 2014/68 / EU for pressure vessel equipment. Today the detectors are in routine use at the instrument EXED enabling neutron scattering experiments with the highest magnetic fields.

Detector Test Stand V17

For test measurements and characterization of detectors, the detector laboratory operates the test stand V17 in the neutron guide hall 1 of HZB. Here, neutrons with a wavelength of 0.335 nm and an intensity of up to 3*105 neutrons/cm² are available for measurements. To determine the position resolution of detectors, the neutron beam can be precisely collimated by means of two X-Y diaphragms made of borated aluminum. Detectors with a weight of up to 80 kg can be positioned by 1100 mm in the vertical direction and about 800 mm in the horizontal direction in front of the stationary neutron beam. Various electronic modules and a data acquisition system are available in the detector laboratory, which allow to readout and characterize a wide variety of detectors types.

References

[1] www.icnd.org
[2] Th. Wilpert, Boron trifluoride detectors, Neutron News 23/4 (2012) 14-19.
[3] B. Mindur, S. Alimov, T. Fiutowski, C. Schulz, T. Wilpert, Performance of a Micro-Strip Gas Chamber for event wise, high rate thermal neutron detection with accurate position determination, J. Instrum. 9 (2014) P12004.

Detektorlabor

Das Detektorlabor in EM-AMCT unterstützt Experimentatoren und Messgäste bei allen Fragen im Zusammenhang mit Neutronendetektoren rund um die Neutronenquelle BER II. Oberstes Anliegen ist es, einen störungsfreien Meßbetrieb und damit eine effiziente Nutzung der wertvollen Messzeit sicherzustellen. Der abgedeckte Bereich schließt neben den primären Detektoren (Monitore, Delayline-Detektoren, Zählrohranordnungen) auch die Verstärker- und Diskriminatorelektronik sowie die Schnittstellen zur Datenerfassung ein. Unterstützung wird auch für die an den Instrumenten des BER II verwendete Software DeLiDAQ und qmesydaq gewährleistet.

Helium-3-Krise und Projekte der ICND

In den Jahren nach 2009 hatte es eine dramatische Verknappung an dem im großen Umfang verwendeten Neutronenkonverter Helium-3 gegeben. In Folge dessen hatten sich alle führenden Neutronenstreulabore (FRM-II, FZJ, ILL, ISIS, SNS, JPARC, usw.) zu einer Kollaboration (ICND – International Collaboration for the Development of Neutron Detectors) zusammengeschlossen [1], die drei alternative Technologien zu Helium-3 untersucht. Diese sind (i) Szintillationsdetektoren (Koordinierung ISIS), (ii) Detektoren mit multiplen Bor-10 Schichten (Koordinierung ILL) sowie (iii) Detektoren mit Bortrifluorid (Koordinierung HZB). Eine besondere Dringlichkeit war für großflächige Detektoranordnungen gegeben (z.B. Flugzeitspektrometer), die Flächen von mehreren Dutzend Quadratmetern Detektionsfläche aufspannen und hierfür mehrere tausend Liter Helium-3 ersetzt werden müssen. Aus dem Projekt, das heute nicht mehr weiter verfolgt wird, sind erfolgversprechende Ansätze zum sicheren Betrieb von ortsauflösenden Zählrohren mit Bortrifluorid zum Nachweis von kalten Neutronen in Flugzeitinstrumenten hervorgegangen [2].

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Aktivität des Detektorlabors lag in der Entwicklung eines MSGC-Detektors mit Gadolinium-157 als Neutronenkonverter. Dieser Detektor zeichnet sich durch sehr hohe Zählratenverträglichkeit (~1E7 n/s) und eine sehr gute 2-dimensionale Ortsauflösung (<0.5 mm) aus. In Testmessungen konnte eine Ortsauflösung von ~100 µm extrahiert und eine Zählratenverträglichkeit von ~10 MHz extrapoliert werden [3]. 

Detektoren für Instrumente am BER-2

Die Expertise in Neutronendetektorsystemen fließt auch in die Beratung der Experimentverantwortlichen bei der Konzeption neuer Instrumente in Bezug auf Auswahl geeigneter Detektoren ein. Durch ausführliche Simulationsrechnungen wird im Vorfeld sichergestellt, daß die vorgeschlagenen Detektor-Konzepte den Anforderungen seitens der wissenschaftlichen Fragestellung gerecht werden. Darüber hinaus wird die mechanische Konstruktion und Fertigung begleitet, das Detektorsystem im Labor aufgebaut und getestet und schließlich nach dem Einbau und der Inbetriebnahme am Instrument dem Experimentverantwortlichen übergeben. Beispiele hierfür sind die vier Detektorpanels des Experiments EXED mit jeweils 48 ortsauflösenden Zählrohren pro Panel sowie der neue Detektor für SANS und VSANS mit jeweils 112 ortsauflösenden Zählrohren.

In jüngster Zeit wurde das Detektorlabor genutzt, um vier großflächige Detektorpanels im sog. Multitube-Design für das HFM-EXED-Projekt in enger Kollaboration mit der Detektorgruppe des ILL zu bauen. Dabei konnte auf fertige mechanische Konzepte, bestens geeignete Fertigungs- und Testmöglichkeiten sowie auf vor 2009 beschafftes Helium-3 zurückgegriffen werden. Zwei der gefertigten Detektorpanels bestehen aus 31 Zählrohren mit 3/4“ Durchmesser und einer Länge von 238 cm, die anderen beiden aus 23 Zählrohren mit gleichem Durchmesser und 200 cm Länge. Eine große Herausforderung in diesem Projekt war die Gewährleistung der langfristigen Heliumdichtigkeit der großflächigen Endflansche der Detektorpanels mit einem Innendruck von 10 bar. Dies gelang schließlich mittels Helicoflex-Dichtungen und spezieller, hochfester Schrauben. Die Detektoren wurden gemäß der neuen Richtlinie 2014/68/EU für Druckgeräte zertifiziert. Sie sind heute am Instrument EXED bei Neutronenstreuexperimenten mit höchsten magnetischen Feldern im Einsatz.

Detektorteststand V17

Für Testmessungen und Charakterisierung von Detektoren verfügt das Detektorlabor über einen eigenen Teststand V17 in der Neutronenleiterhalles 1 des HZB. Hier stehen Neutronen mit einer Wellenlänge von 0.335 nm und einer Intensität von bis zu 3*105 Neutronen/cm² für Messungen zur Verfügung. Zur Bestimmung der Ortsauflösung von Detektoren kann der Neutronenstrahl mittels zweier X-Y-Blenden aus boriertem Aluminium präzise kollimiert werden. Detektoren mit einem Gewicht von bis zu 80 kg können dabei um 1100 mm in der vertikalen und etwa 800 mm in der horizontalen Richtung vor dem stationären Neutronenstrahl in Position gebracht werden. Im Detektorlabor sind vielfältige Elektronikmodule und ein Datenaufnahmesystem vorhanden, die es erlauben, verschiedenste Detektortypen auszulesen und zu charakterisieren.

Literatur

[1] www.icnd.org
[2] Th. Wilpert, Boron trifluoride detectors, Neutron News 23/4 (2012) 14-19.
[3] B. Mindur, S. Alimov, T. Fiutowski, C. Schulz, T. Wilpert, Performance of a Micro-Strip Gas Chamber for event wise, high rate thermal neutron detection with accurate position determination, J. Instrum. 9 (2014) P12004.