Neutron Methods of EM-AMCT

EM-AMCT supports the following fields of neutron research:

The Detector Laboratory supports instrument responsibles during the commissioning of new detectors and for the maintenance of all detectors across the neutron scattering instrument suite available at BER II. Helpdesk advice for all questions related to detectors and data acquisition is given to experimentalists to ensure smooth detector operation..

In Neutron Optics, compact optical elements are developed, which are used for spin polarization and analysis, collimation, focussing and energy analysis of neutron beams. This work will be continued by the company Neutron Optics Berlin GmbH (NOB) from end of 2017 on. NOB is a spin-off company of the HZB that makes HZB developments commercially available since 2000.

I the past, the powerful software package VITESS for the simulation of neutron scattering instruments and experiments has been developed. Today, it is succesfullly used for instrument design at various neutron sources.

Neutronenmethoden von EM-AMCT

Die Abteilung EM-AMCT unterstützt folgende Bereiche der Neutronenforschung:

Das Detektorlabor unterstützt die Instrumentverantwortlichen bei der Inbetriebnahme von neuen Detektoren sowie bei der Wartung aller Detektoren, die an den Neutroneninstrumenten des BER II betriebne werden.  Den Experimentatoren wird Beratung zu Fragen im Zusammenhang mit Neutronendetektoren und Datenaufnahme angeboten, um einen störungsfreien Messbetrieb sicherzustellen.

Im Bereich der Neutronenoptik werden kompakte optische Elemente entwickelt, die zur Spin-Polarisation und -Analyse, Kollimation, Fokussierung und Energieanalyse von Neutronenstrahlen dienen. Diese Arbeiten werden ab Ende 2017 von der Firma Neutron Optics Berlin GmbH (NOB) fortgeführt. NOB ist eine Spin-off-Firma des HZB, die seit 2000 die Entwicklungen im HZB für den Markt verfügbar macht.

In der Vergangenheit wurde das leistungsstarke Programm VITESS zur Simulation von Neutronenstreuinstrumenten und -experimenten in der Abteilung EM-AMCT entwickelt. Es wird heute erfolgreich an verschiedenen Neutronenquellen zur Instrumententwicklung eingesetzt.