Overview of HZB

Research topics at HZB

Iron oxide based nanostructures. At the Institute for Solar Fuels, HZB scientists are working on developing new material systems capable of storing energy from sunlight by converting it to chemical energy as efficiently as possible.

Energy materials comprise more than just solar cells. Energy materials also include solar fuels, thermoelectrics, and topological insulators. These are materials that store or convert energy, or enable construction of new energy-efficient information technologies like spintronics.

Scientists at HZB are researching these kinds of systems of materials, always with the emphasis on thin-film technologies. We are able to build on the know-how we already acquired in the area of thin-film photovoltaics and that HZB research is known for internationally. Now we are combining the outstanding means of analysis offered in particular at BESSY II and BER II with expanded expertise in materials synthesis, as well as in the field of simulation and theory. Especially interesting research advances at HZB are presented in our annual reports and highlights and through our "Research Highlights" web pages. You can learn more about the research programmes, scientific institutes, and the departments at HZB on our research pages.

Two sites

The research on energy materials at HZB is closely coupled with operation and advanced development of the BESSY II photon source situated in Berlin-Adlershof. In addition, there are numerous modern laboratories and infrastructure available primarily in Berlin-Wannsee, but in Berlin-Adlershof as well, such as the ZEISS Lab@location for innovative microscopy methodology. Additional laboratories primarily for synthesising energy materials will join these. Construction of a state-of-the-art laboratory (HEMF) for synthesis of energy materials, particularly for thin films of perovskite, nanoparticles displaying catalytic activity, and thin films for generation of solar fuels will begin in 2016.

These specialised laboratory facilities will be administrated at HZB as CoreLabs and are also available to external users. Everything you want to know about the two HZB sites at Berlin-Wannsee and Berlin-Adlershof, which welcome users equally, can be found at our On Site pages, including directions for visiting.

euroluftbild/Grahn

BESSY II aerial view, HZB, Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen campus at night, © euroluftbild.de/Robert Grahn

Our large-scale facilities and their advanced development for research

The BESSY II photon source at the Berlin-Adlershof site is highly suited for analysing thin-film materials. With its emphasis on VUV and soft X-ray emissions, it offers ideal capabilities for investigating thin films as well as boundary surfaces. This makes BESSY II perfectly suited for research on energy materials.

One of our most important projects during the coming years is the transformation of BESSY II into a storage ring featuring variable light pulses (BESSY-VSR).

Experimenters at each instrument will able to select at any time whether they want short or long light pulses. There is no storage ring with this capability anywhere. Completely new experiments will become possible with BESSY-VSR. The design is innovative and has been unanimously welcomed by the scientific community. HZB received outstanding evaluations and an unambiguous recommendation to realise the design. You can find further information about this and other HZB projects already under construction, such as bERLinPro, at our web pages on projects coming in the future.

For those who find these pages perhaps too technical, we recommend they visit our HZB logbook of the future, HZBzlog. Here you will find multimedia presentations that give an impression of how research really happens. They show how the teams wrestle with the challenges, and to put it simply, how they do research and what they experience.

Besides BESSY II, researchers from the world over will continue to have access still to the BER II research reactor at the Berlin-Wannsee Campus for experiments using neutrons through the end of 2019.

Education, training, collaborations, and networking

HZB collaborates with over 400 German and international institutions of higher learning, research institutions, and commercial enterprises. All Institutes and departments in the HZB research divisions are headed by professors holding joint appointments. The Research Divisions are complemented by Young Investigator Groups as well as joint research groups, and the Joint Labs operated in conjunction with academic institutions. HZB has built up about ten Joint Labs with universities in the region as well as internationally.

More than 100 doctoral students from academic institutions in the region conduct research at HZB for their degrees. In addition, HZB is engaged in vocational training (German language only). About 50 trainees are employed in 12 vocational tracks at the Centre annually.

Visitors of BESSY II at the Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen campus in Adlershof during the Long Night of the Sciences.

HZB in society

HZB receives 90% of its funding from the German federal government and 10% from the State of Berlin. It is a member of the Helmholtz Association, which comprises 18 research institutions. HZB employs about 1100 people – of which approximately 600 are at Berlin-Wannsee and 500 at Berlin-Adlershof – and operates with an annual budget of about 146 million Euros.

Roughly 7,400 persons visit HZB each year to acquaint themselves with the work of the research centre and to learn about the research facilities. HZB participates in the annual Long Night of the Sciences in Berlin and takes part in the annual nationwide Girl’s Day (German language only). The HZB "Insight into Matter" school lab offers project days for pupils in the 5th to 13th school years on the topics of magnetism, solar energy, light, as well as colour.


Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie

Hahn-Meitner-Platz 1
14109 Berlin

Postal address:
Postfach 390128
14109 Berlin

+49 30 8062-0
+49 30 8062-42181
info@helmholtz-berlin.de
http://www.helmholtz-berlin.de

Continue

Zentrum im Überblick

Forschungsthemen des HZB

Abb.: Nanostrukturen aus Eisenoxid. Am Institut „Solare Brennstoffe“ entwickeln Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler neue Materialsysteme, die die Energie des Sonnenlichts in chemische Energie umwandeln und so effizient speichern.

Energie-Materialien sind mehr als nur Solarzellen. Auch Solare Brennstoffe, Thermoelektrika oder topologische Isolatoren gehören dazu. Es sind Materialien, die Energie speichern oder umwandeln oder die es erlauben, eine neue energieeffiziente Informationstechnologie aufzubauen (Spintronik).

An solchen Materialsystemen forschen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler am HZB. Immer mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Dünnschichttechnologien. Hier können wir auf unserem Know-how aufbauen, das wir auf dem Gebiet der Dünnschicht-Photovoltaik bereits aufgebaut haben und für das die HZB-Forschung international bekannt ist. Den hervorragenden Analysemöglichkeiten (insbesondere an BESSY II und BER II) fügen wir nun auch verstärkt Kompetenzen in der Materialsynthese sowie der Theorie und Simulation hinzu. In unserem jährlich erscheinenden Highlightbericht und auf unseren Seiten "Highlights aus der Forschung" stellen wir besonders interessante Forschungsergebnisse aus dem HZB vor. Auf unseren Forschungs-Seiten erfahren Sie mehr über die Forschungsprogramme des HZB und die wissenschaftlichen Institute und Abteilungen.

Zwei Standorte

Die Forschung an Energie-Materialien ist am HZB eng gekoppelt mit dem Betrieb und der Weiterentwicklung der Photonenquelle BESSY II, die in Berlin-Adlershof angesiedelt ist. Außerdem stehen vor allem in Berlin-Wannsee, aber auch in Adlershof zahlreiche moderne Labor-Infrastrukturen zur Verfügung, zum Beispiel der Laborkomplex ZEISS Lab@location für innovative Mikroskopie-Methoden. Weitere Laboratorien, vor allem für die Synthese von Energie-Materialien werden hinzukommen. 2016 beginnt der Bau eines hochmodernen Labors für die Synthese von Energie-Materialien, insbesondere von Perowskit-Dünnschichten, Nanopartikeln mit katalytischer Wirkung und Dünnschichten für die Erzeugung von solaren Brennstoffen (HEMF).

Die besonderen Laboreinrichtungen werden im HZB als CoreLabs zentral verwaltet und stehen auch externen Nutzerinnen und Nutzern zur Verfügung. Alles Wissenswerte um die beiden gleichberechtigen HZB-Standorte Wannsee und Adlershof inklusive der Anfahrtsbeschreibungen finden Sie auf unseren Seiten "Vor Ort".

Unsere Großgeräte und ihre Weiterentwicklung für die Forschung

Wilhelm-Conrad-Röntgen Campus, Adlershof

BESSY II, Luftbild Wilhelm-Conrad-Röntgen-Campus

Die Photonenquelle BESSY II am Standort Adlershof ist hervorragend auf die Analytik von Dünnschichtmaterialien abgestimmt. Mit ihrer Fokussierung auf VUV- und weiche Röntgenstrahlung bietet sie ideale Voraussetzungen, um dünne Schichten sowie Grenzflächen zu untersuchen. BESSY II ist damit bestens geeignet für die Forschung an Energie-Materialien.

Eines unserer wichtigsten Vorhaben in den nächsten Jahren ist der Ausbau von BESSY II zu einem Speicherring mit variablen Lichtpulsen (BESSY-VSR).

Dort können Experimentatoren an jedem Messplatz variabel auswählen, ob sie kurze oder lange Licht-Pulse benötigen. Einen solchen Speicherring gibt es noch nirgendwo auf der Welt. Völlig neue Experimente werden mit BESSY-VSR möglich. Das Konzept ist wissenschaftlich innovativ und wird von der Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft einhellig begrüßt. Das HZB hat hervorragende Gutachten und die klare Empfehlung zur Realisierung des Vorhabens erhalten. Weitere Informationen hierzu und zu weiteren bereits im Bau befindlichen Projekten des HZB, zum Beispiel bERLinPro finden Sie auf unseren Seiten „Zukunftsprojekte“

Wem es auf diesen Seiten vielleicht zu technisch ist, dem empfehlen wir einen Besuch unseres HZB-Zukunftslogbuchs (HZBzlog). Hier finden Sie multimedial aufbereitete Stories, die einen Eindruck davon vermitteln, wie Forschung tatsächlich abläuft. Sie zeigen, wie die Beteiligten mit Herausforderungen kämpfen, kurz: wie sie forschen und was sie dabei erleben.

Neben BESSY II steht Forschenden aus aller Welt bis Ende 2019 außerdem noch der Forschungsreaktor BER II für Experimente mit Neutronen zur Verfügung (Campus Wannsee).

Ausbildung, Kooperation und Vernetzung

Das HZB kooperiert mit über 400 deutschen und internationalen Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen. Alle Institute und Abteilungen in den HZB-Forschungsbereichen werden von gemeinsam berufenen Professorinnen oder Professoren geleitet. Die Forschungsbereiche werden durch Nachwuchsgruppen sowie gemeinsame Forschergruppen und gemeinsame Laboratorien - „Joint Labs“ - mit den Hochschulen komplettiert. Rund zehn Joint Labs hat das HZB mit Universitäten im Umland sowie international aufgebaut.

Über 100 Doktoranden aus den Hochschulen im Umfeld forschen und qualifizieren sich am HZB. Das HZB engagiert sich außerdem in der Ausbildung. Etwa 50 Azubis sind jährlich am Zentrum in 12 Ausbildungsgängen beschäftigt.

Das HZB in der Gesellschaft

Besucher der langen Nacht der Wissenschaften am BESSYII in Adlershof am Wilhelm-Conrad-Röntgen-Campus

Das HZB wird zu 90 Prozent vom Bund und zu 10 Prozent vom Land Berlin finanziert. Es ist Mitglied der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, zu der insgesamt 18 Forschungseinrichtungen gehören. Das HZB beschäftigt zirka 1100 Mitarbeiter - davon etwa 600 in Berlin-Wannsee und 500 in Berlin-Adlershof – und verfügt über einen Gesamthaushalt von zirka 146 Millionen Euro.

Etwa 7.400 Menschen besuchen jedes Jahr das HZB, um sich über die Arbeit des Forschungszentrums und die Forschungsanlagen zu informieren. Das HZB beteiligt sich an der jährlich stattfindenden Langen Nacht der Wissenschaften in Berlin und nimmt jährlich am bundesweiten Aktionstag Girl’s Day teil. Das HZB-Schülerlabor "Blick in die Materie“ bietet Projekttage für Schüler der 5. – 13. Klasse zu den Themen Magnetismus, Solarenergie sowie Licht und Farben an.

Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie

Hahn-Meitner-Platz 1
14109 Berlin

Postanschrift:
Postfach 390128
14109 Berlin

+49 30 8062-0
+49 30 8062-42181
info@helmholtz-berlin.de
http://www.helmholtz-berlin.de

Lesen Sie weiter: