copyright law and interlibrary loan - what's up?

Here we briefly explain what you should bear in mind when sending copies for interlibrary loan. The basis for this is in particular the version of § 60e UrhG.

An evaluation

The amendment of 2017 has concretized and simplified the rules. The restrictions on fax quality and scanned content have been eliminated.

But: This does not apply to deliveries based on contracts before 1.3.2018 and also not to those offering services such as Subito (have their own contracts with the rights holders).


...and an outlook

Over time, the old contracts will expire and their restrictions will cease to apply.

It is up to the actors from science and society to decide whether knowledge produced in the long term with public funds can be transferred to the exclusive access of commercially oriented exploiters, who will sell such knowledge to the public at a high price under the protection of copyright which is at least misused as they feel. The new rules already make it easier than before.

However, at the instigation of the rights owner lobby, the new rights in §60a to §60h in §142 have been limited to March 1, 2023. The Federal Government must report in addition to the Bundestag up to 1. March 2021. It is to be hoped that the legislator will repeal § 142 (2) as a result of the report.

The publications in Open Access journals funded by the EU, the DFG and our Helmholtz Association will make the problem of paid access less relevant in the future. Negotiations with the major publishers to transform their journals into Open Access journals (DEAL project) will also make it smaller.

Urheberrecht und Fernleihe

Hier stellen wir kurz dar, was beim Kopienversand im Rahmen der Fernleihe zu beachten ist. Grundlage dafür ist insbesondere die Fassung des § 60e UrhG.

Eine Bewertung...

Die Novellierung von 2017 hat die Regeln konkretisiert und vereinfacht. Die Einschränkungen auf Fax-Qualität und eingescannte Inhalte sind entfallen.

Aber: Das betrifft nicht Lieferungen, welche auf Verträgen vor dem 1.3.2018 basieren und auch nicht auf solche, die Dienste wie Subito (haben eigene Verträge mit den Rechteinhabern) anbieten.

 

...und ein Ausblick

Mit der Zeit werden die Altverträge auslaufen und damit deren Einschränkungen wegfallen.

Es an den Akteuren aus Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft liegen, ob auf Dauer mit öffentlichen Mitteln produziertes Wissen in den exklusiven Zugriff kommerziell orientierter Verwerter übergehen kann, die solches unter den zumindest gefühlt mißbräuchlich eingesetzten Schutz des Urheberrechts der Öffentlichkeit teuer verkaufen. Die neuen Regeln machen es schon einfacher als bisher.

Allerdings sind auf Betreiben der Rechteinhaberlobby die neuen Rechte in §60a bis §60h im §142 zum 1. März 2023 befristet worden. Die Bundesregierung muss dem Bundestag dazu bis zum 1. März 2021 berichten.  Es ist zu hoffen, dass der Gesetzgeber den § 142 (2) als Resultat des Berichts aufhebt.

Durch die von der EU, der DFG und auch unserer Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft geförderten Veröffentlichungen in Open-Access-Journalen wird das Problem der bezahlten Zugänge zukünftig an Relevanz verlieren. Die Verhandlungen mit den großen Verlagen zur Transformation ihrer Journale in Open-Access-Journale (DEAL-Projekt) werden es ebenfalls kleiner werden lassen.