Program (as of 23 Nov. 2017)

7 December 2017 
08:00 Registration
09:00 Opening
09:45 Memorial Session for Prof. V. K. Adamchuk
09:45 Günther Kaindl/Wolfgang Gudat:
Vera Konstantinovna Adamchuk and the Russian-German Laboratory at BESSY II
10:00 Coffee break
10:45 Serguei Molodtsov (European XFEL/TU Bergakademie Freiberg):
From optical derivation with pocket mirrors to X-ray Free Electron Lasers
11:10 Andrey Vilesov (University of Southern California):
Coherent diffractive imaging of vortices in helium droplets
11:35 Clemens Laubschat (TU Dresden):
15 years collaboration at the Russian-German laboratory at BESSY-II
12:00 Alexander Shikin (St. Petersburg State Univ.):
Synchrotron radiation induced magnetization in magnetically doped and pristine topological insulators
12:25 Dmitry Usachov (St. Petersburg State Univ.):
Synthesis, structure and tuneable electronic properties of pure and doped graphene
12:50 Lunch
14:00 Alexander Saranin (Inst. of Automation and Control Processes, RAS, Vladivostok):
2D Compounds on Si(111) and Ge(111) surfaces
14:25 Oliver Rader (HZB):
The controversial physics of samarium hexaboride
14:50 Elena Filatova (St. Petersburg State Univ.):
X-Ray spectroscopic methods for study of physics and chemistry of metal/insulator interface barrier formation
15:15 Coffee break
15:45 Andrei Varykhalov (HZB):
Spin-orbit textures in the electronic structure of nanopatterned graphene
16:10 Denis Vyalikh (Donostia International Physics Center, San Sebastian):
Exotic magnetism and electron-correlation phenomena in rare-earth based antiferromagnets
16:35 Artem Rybkin (St. Petersburg State Univ.):
Rashba spin-orbit and exchange coupling in graphene
17:00 Transfer to the Russian Embassy

Reception at the Russian Embassy (Registered and approved participants only)

(with bus return to Hotel Dorint Berlin-Adlershof/BESSY II)

8 December 2017 
09:00 Session “Progress of the Russian-German Laboratory at BESSY II”
09:00 Anna Makarova (TU Dresden):
RGBL-1: Recent Progress and Future Perspectives
09:25 Daniil Itkis (Lomonosov Moscow State Univ.):
Studying materials for next generation lithium batteries at RGBL
09:50 Alexander Grüneis (Univ. zu Köln):
Combined ultra-high vacuum optical and photoemission spectroscopy of functional 2D materials
10:15 Coffee break
10:45 Elena Grachova (St. Petersburg State Univ.):
Supramolecular cluster complexes of copper subgroup metals: some features of architecture and controlled formation of hybrid nanostructures
11:10 Lada Yashina (Lomonosov Moscow State Univ.):
Photoemission studies of topological insulators and low-dimensional semiconductors
11:35 Vera Neudachina (Lomonosov Moscow State Univ.):
Chemical Bonding, Electronic Structure and Surface Reactivity of Clathrate Materials for Advanced Thermoelectric Applications
12:00 Dmitry Marchenko (HZB):
Photoemission Electron Microscope for the Russian-German Laboratory
12:25 Liubov Bulusheva (Nikolaev Institute of Inorganic Chemistry, Novosibirsk):
In situ XPS and NEXAFS investigation of lithium interaction with modified graphene surfaces
12:50 Lunch
14:00 Session “Towards time-resolved experiments at the European XFEL and BESSY II/VSR”
14:00 Andreas Scherz (European XFEL, Hamburg):
Science opportunities at the Soft X-ray instrument SCS at European XFEL
14:25 Ulf Zastrau (European XFEL, Hamburg):
High-Energy Density science at European XFEL
14:50 Alexander Soldatov (Southern Federal Univ., Rostov):
Time-dependent 3D local atomic structure of smart materials 
15:15 Alexander Föhlisch (HZB):
Time-resolved perspectives: RIXS at XFEL and BESSY-VSR
15:40 Coffee 
16:10 Jaime Sánchez-Barriga (HZB):
The new RGBL-2 beamline at BESSY-II: Current status and perspectives
16:35 Oleg Kornilov (Max-Born-Institut, Berlin):
Ultrafast photoelectron spectroscopy of molecules in gas phase and in liquids
17:00 Eckart Rühl (Freie Univ. Berlin) :
Spectroscopic and time resolved studies on free nanoparticles
17:25 Thomas Fennel (Univ. Rostock):
Control and ultrafast imaging of electron dynamics in clusters
18:00  Tour through BESSY II
19:00 Buffet dinner with poster session 


Poster Session

1)_Dmitry Smirnov (TU Dresden):
The Russian-German Beamline at BESSY II

2)_Boris Senkovskiy (Univ. zu Köln):
Electronic structure and functionalization of atomically precise graphene nanoribbons

3)_Andrey Bukhtiyarov (Boreskov Institute of Catalysis, Novosibirsk):
RGBL beamline as a basement for NAP XPS investigation of bimetallic model catalysts

4)_Victor Shevelev (St. Petersburg State Univ.):
Characterization of single-layer graphene on strongly interacting metallic substrates using Raman spectroscopy

5)_Viktor Sivkov (Komi Research Center, RAS, Syktyvkar):
Absorption cross sections measurement in the NEXAFS С1s-edge by TEY-method

6)_Kirill Bokai (St. Petersburg State Univ.):
Recrystallization of graphene

7)_Sergey Turishchev (Voronezh State Univ.):
Electronic structure and phase composition of tin-oxygen system surfaces and interfaces by XANES Sn M4,5 synchrotron spectra and ab initio modeling

8)_Sergey Nekipelov (Syktyvkar State University):
NEXAFS and XPS studies of the 3d-metal-doped bismuth titanate and bismuth niobate

9)_Manuel Izquierdo (European XFEL, Hamburg):
Insight into the electronic properties of LaCoO3

10)_Alexander Okotrub (Nikolaev Institute of Inorganic Chemistry, RAS, Novosibirsk)
In situ study of graphene microcapacitors and sensors by using XPS and XANES

11)_Maxim Krivenkov (HZB, Berlin)
Scattering resonances in graphene

12)_Anna Zakharova (Saint-Petersburg University)
Electron structure of bismuth compounds by High-Resolution X-Ray absorption spectroscopy