Department

The department ASPIN is dedicated to the investigation of structure-property relationships, in particular of systems featuring electron spins. Our spin-oriented perspective extends to materials and devices used in applications such as photovoltaics (PV), artificial photosynthesis/solar fuels, batteries, and quantum computing. The overarching goal of our research is to identify and eliminate device efficiency limiting processes that are connected to defects in the materials or to insufficient light harvesting. In the case of quantum computing, we are studying quantum many body interactions and complex quantum states. For all of the above research we are using electron and nuclear spin as nanoscopic observers. Their magnetic fingerprints are detected through electron paramagnetic resonance (ESR, EPR) and nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) methods. EPR can identify and quantify radicals in physical, chemical and biological substances via their spin magnetism; NMR is the counterpart with regards to nuclear spin magnetism.

Banner ASPIN

Conventional EPR spectrometer from Bruker (left) with its 1.5-ton electromagnet, as it has been used in spin radical research to date, and the prototype of a portable EPR-on-a-Chip spectrometer (center left). The EPR chip, which is only 1 mm2 in size, contains the spin sensor with a diameter of 300 µm (center right). This is mounted in the permanent magnet by means of a printed circuit board. The size of the prototype is only determined by the permanent magnet. On the right the chip is shown in the size ratio to a 2-cent coin.

The department operates a world-wide unique EPR and NMR laboratory, together with partners from Freie Universät Berlin (FUB) and Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG), and develops new methodologies such as electrically- and optically-detected magnetic resonance. Since conventional EPR spectrometers work with a fixed excitation frequency, they require an electromagnet that often prevents operando and mobile use. To overcome these limitations, the department develops EPR-on-a-Chip (EPRoC), which is a battery driven EPR spectrometer integrated on a square millimeter-sized silicon chip (see Figure above) and enables the use of a permanent magnet. With EPRoC, an EPR spectrometer can be easily integrated into the sample environment, leading to a revolution in operando EPR spectroscopy.

The department has three working groups:

  1. Quantum Information with Solid State Spins - QuISS (Group leader: B. Naydenov)
  2. Spins in Energy Materials - SPEM (Interims Group leader: B. Naydenov)
  3. Spectral Conversion Systems - SPECS (Group leader: R. MacQueen)

Funded network project EPRoC

Electron paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy (EPR) provides information about chemical and physical properties by using the tiny elementary magnets (spins) of unpaired electrons, such as those present in free radicals or defects in semiconductors, as a highly specific nanoscopic probe. This enables physical, chemical and biological substances to be quantified and identified very quickly and efficiently with regard to their radical concentration and their origin. Unfortunately, the EPR spectrometers currently available on the market are bulky and costly to manufacture due to the measuring principle used, so that they are only suitable for mobile use to a very limited extent.

The HZB and the University of Stuttgart are currently developing a new concept that allows the entire spectrometer to be integrated on a battery-powered silicon chip of only a few square millimetres (EPR-on-a-Chip, EPRoC). EPRoC can be placed directly into the sample or sample environment (human body, water, engines, reactors, atmosphere, etc.) to collect operando or in vivo data on site. This opens up radically new application possibilities in medicine, environmental diagnostics, food chemistry, process control as well as in materials and fundamental research. The national and international property rights necessary for this technology have been applied for through the HZB and some have already been granted. The potential of the EPRoC technology is currently being investigated within the framework of the BMBF funded network project EPRoC together with Bruker BioSpin GmbH, KIT, University of Stuttgart and Max-Planck-Insitute for Chemical Energy Conversion (MPI CEC).

Abteilung

Die Abteilung ASPIN widmet sich der Untersuchung der Struktur-Funktion-Beziehung, insbesondere der Rolle von Elektronenspins in Energiematerialien und Bauelementen, die in Anwendungen wie Photovoltaik (PV), künstliche Photosynthese (solare Brennstoffe), Batterien und Quanteninformatik eingesetzt werden. Das übergreifende Ziel unserer Forschung ist die Identifizierung von Prozessen, die die Effizienz von Bauelementen einschränken. Gleiches gilt für die Quanteninformatik, die von komplexen Quanten-Vielkörper-Wechselwirkungen beeinflusst werden. Wir verwenden Elektronen- und Kernspins als nanoskopische Beobachter und identifizieren deren magnetische Fingerabdrücke mit Hilfe der Elektronenparamagnetischen Resonanz (ESR, EPR) und der Kernmagnetischen Resonanz (NMR) nachgewiesen. EPR kann Radikale in physikalischen, chemischen und biologischen Substanzen über ihren Spinmagnetismus identifizieren und quantifizieren; NMR nutzt im Gegensatz den Kernspinmagnetismus aus und ermöglicht die Aufklärung der Struktur und der Dynamik von Molekülen sowie Konzentrationsbestimmungen.

Banner ASPIN

Konventionelles EPR-Spektrometer von Bruker (links) mit seinem 1,5-Tonnen-Elektromagneten, wie er bisher in der Spin-Radikalforschung eingesetzt wurde, und der Prototyp eines tragbaren EPR-on-a-Chip-Spektrometers (Mitte links). Der nur 1 mm2 große EPR-Chip enthält den Spinsensor mit einem Durchmesser von 300 µm (Mitte rechts). Dieser wird mittels einer Leiterplatte in den Permanentmagneten montiert. Die Grösse des Prototyps wird nur durch den Permanentmagneten bestimmt. Rechts ist der Chip im Größenverhältnis zu einer 2-Cent-Münze dargestellt.

Die Abteilung betreibt zusammen mit Partnern der Freien Universität Berlin (FUB) und der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG) ein weltweit einzigartiges EPR- und NMR-Labor und entwickelt neue Methoden wie die elektrisch und optisch detektierte Magnetresonanz. Da herkömmliche EPR-Spektrometer mit einer festen Anregungsfrequenz arbeiten, benötigen sie einen Elektromagneten, der einen operando/in situ und mobilen Einsatz oft verhindert. Um diese Einschränkungen zu überwinden, entwickelt die Abteilung die EPR-on-a-Chip (EPRoC)- Technologie, ein batteriebetriebenes EPR-Spektrometer, das auf einem quadratmillimetergroßen Siliziumchip integriert ist (siehe Abb.) und den Einsatz eines Permanentmagneten ermöglicht. Mit EPRoC lässt sich ein EPR-Spektrometer leicht in die Probenumgebung integrieren, was zu einer Revolution in der EPR-Spektroskopie führt.

Die drei Arbeitsgruppen der Abteilung:

  1. Quantum Information with Solid State Spins - QuISS (Gruppenleitung: B. Naydenov)
  2. Spins in Energy Materials - SPEM (Interims Gruppenleitung: B. Naydenov)
  3. Spectral Conversion Systems - SPECS (Gruppenleitung: R. MacQueen)

Verbundprojekt EPRoC

Die Elektronen-Paramagnetresonanz-Spektroskopie (EPR) liefert Informationen über chemische und physikalische Eigenschaften, indem sie die winzigen Elementarmagnete (Spins) ungepaarter Elektronen, wie sie beispielsweise in freien Radikalen oder Defekten in Halbleitern vorkommen, als hochspezifische nanoskopische Sonde verwendet. Auf diese Weise können physikalische, chemische und biologische Substanzen hinsichtlich ihrer Radikalkonzentration und ihres Ursprungs sehr schnell und effizient quantifiziert und identifiziert werden. Leider sind die derzeit auf dem Markt erhältlichen EPR-Spektrometer aufgrund des verwendeten Messprinzips sperrig und in der Herstellung aufwendig, so dass sie nur sehr eingeschränkt für den mobilen Einsatz geeignet sind.

Das HZB und die Universität Stuttgart entwickeln derzeit ein neues Konzept, das es erlaubt, das gesamte Spektrometer auf einem batteriebetriebenen Siliziumchip von nur wenigen Quadratmillimetern zu integrieren (EPR-on-a-Chip, EPRoC). EPRoC kann direkt in die Probe oder die Probenumgebung (menschlicher Körper, Wasser, Motoren, Reaktoren, Atmosphäre, etc.) eingebracht werden, um operando- oder in-vivo-Daten vor Ort zu sammeln. Damit eröffnen sich neue Anwendungsmöglichkeiten in der Medizin, Umweltdiagnostik, Lebensmittelchemie, Prozesskontrolle sowie in der Material- und Grundlagenforschung. Die für diese Technologie notwendigen nationalen und internationalen Schutzrechte sind über das HZB beantragt und zum Teil bereits erteilt worden. Das Potenzial der EPRoC-Technologie wird derzeit im Rahmen des vom BMBF geförderten Verbundprojektes EPRoC zusammen mit der Bruker BioSpin GmbH, KIT, Universität Stuttgart und der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft für Chemische Energiewandlung (MPG CEC) untersucht.