Constant Final State Yield Spektroskopie

for the characterization of amorphous silicon

Basics

In contrast to insulators and crystalline semiconductors, amorphous silicon has electronic states not only in the bands, but also in the band gap. They result from strain in the amorphous network and from rupture of Si-Si bonds. At densities below 1020  eV-1cm-3 (as compared to >1021 eV-1cm-3 in the valence band) they are below the detection limit of conventional UPS spectroscopy. Using Constant-Final-State-Yield spectroscopy (CFSYS) [1-3], these densities of states are still detectable. In CFSYS, the energy Ephot of the photons impinging on the sample is he variable, the kine­tic energy Ekin where the analyser detects the electrons is the fixed quantity (in conventional UPS, this is the other way round). Ekin is chosen such, that the electrons are detected that are just able to overcome the work function barrier ΦSample from the sample into the vacuum.

Measurement setup

To vary Ephot, a Xe high pressure lamp with double monochromator is used which gives a sufficient photon flux (light intensity) up to ~ 7 eV (near UV). Thus, the energy interval that can be covered with CFSYS ranges from the Fermi edge (Ebind=0) to (Ebind=−7eV−FProbe) at about −3,5 eV. Thus, only states in the band gap (a-Si:H: Egap~1,7 eV) and in the valence band close to the band edge are accessible to the measurement.

Advantage

The advantage of this PES variant lies in the high information depth, i.e. the maximum depth in which a photoelectron can be created that can still exit into the vacuum and be detected by the energy analyzer. At photoelectron energies of 4-7 eV the information depth, which is approximately identical to the mean free path of the electrons between inelastic scattering events λmpf, is ~5-10 nm ². In contrast, for excitation with Ephot=21,2 eV (He I), limpf ~0,5 nm 2. Thus, it is possible to measure an average density of states in the first ~10 nm of a sample. This is ideally suited fort he investigation of ~5-10nm thin a‑Si:H emitter, BSF and passivation layers such as the ones used in a‑Si:H/c‑Si heterojunction solar cells. The density of states NOCC(E) can be measured down to 1015 eV-1cm-3. For very thin a‑Si:H layer thicknesses, the PES spectrum contains additional contributions from the valence band of the underlying c‑Si substrate. Therefore, it is possible to determine the band offset at the a‑Si:H/c‑Si heterojunction from such spectra with a minimum of assumptions [5,6].

 2 The reason is, that the low energy of the photoelectrons is not sufficient to excite phonons in the sample material. Therefore, the main inelastic scattering process cannot take place.

Example of a CFSYS measurement of differently doped, ~10nm thin a-Si:H films on crystalline silicon (c-Si) substrates [6]: EV marks the valence band edge of the a-Si:H. With increasing n-type doping of the a-Si:H, the defect density in the band gap increases, and the Fermi level EF (vertical arrows) moves towards the conduction band edge EC. Electronic states above EF are not visible in photoelectron spectroscopy, since they are not occupied by electrons.

 References

[1]

L. Korte;  A. Laades & M. Schmidt, J. Non-Cryst. Sol. 352 (2006) 1217-20

[2]

M. Schmidt; A. Schoepke; L. Korte; O.  Milch & W. Fuhs, J. Non-Cryst. Sol. 338-340 (2004) 211-214

[3]

K. Winer & L. Ley, Phys. Rev. B 36 (1987) 6072

[4]

L. Korte & M. Schmidt, J. Appl. Phys. 109 (2011) 063714-1-6

[5]

M. Sebastiani; L. D. Gaspare; G. Capellini; C. Bittencourt & F. Evangelisti. Phys. Rev. Lett. 75 (1995) 3352-5

[6]

L. Korte & M. Schmidt, J. Non-Cryst. Sol. 354 (2008) 2138-43

Constant Final State Yield Spektroskopie

für die Photo­elektronen­spektroskopie an amorphem Silizium

Grundlagen

Im Gegensatz zu Isolatoren und kristallinen Halbleitern besitzt amorphes Silizium auch in der Bandlücke, d.h. oberhalb der Valenzbandkante, noch elektronische Zustände, die durch die Verspannung des amorphen Netzwerks und das Aufbrechen von Si-Si Bindungen entstehen. Mit Zustandsdichten unter 1020  eV-1cm-3 (im Vergleich zu >1021 eV-1cm-3 im Valenzband) fallen sie unter die Nachweisgrenze der konventionellen UPS-Spektroskopie. Mit Hilfe der Constant-Final-State-Yield-Spektroskopie (CFSYS) [1-3] sind diese Zustandsdichten noch messbar. Bei der CFSYS ist die Energie der eingestrahlten Photonen Ephot die Variable, die kine­tische Energie Ekin, bei der der Analysator die emittierten Elektronen detektiert, dagegen die feste Größe. Ekin wird so gewählt, dass die Elektronen detektiert werden, die gerade die Austrittsarbeits-Barriere ΦProbe von der Probe in den Außenraum überwinden können.

Messaufbau

Um Ephot zu variieren, wird eine Xe-Hochdrucklampe mit Doppel­monochromator benutzt, die eine ausreichende Helligkeit (Photonen­fluss), bis ca. 7 eV (UV), liefert. Damit liegt das von der CFSY-Spektroskopie erreichbare Energieintervall von der Fermikante (Ebind=0) bis (Ebind=−7eV−FProbe) bei ca. −3,5 eV, d.h. nur Zustände in der Band­lücke (a-Si:H: Egap~1,7 eV) und im bandkantennahen Valenz­band sind der Messung zugänglich.

Vorteil

Der Vorteil dieser Spektroskopie liegt nun in der vergleichsweise großen Informationstiefe, d.h. der maximalen Generationstiefe des Photoelektrons, bei der dieses noch die Probenoberfläche erreichen und die Probe verlassen kann, um im Analysator detektiert zu werden. Bei Energien der Photoelektronen von 4-7 eV ist die für diese Informationstiefe wesentliche mittlere freie Weglänge der Elektronen zwischen inelastischen Stößen λimpf~5-10 nm ², bei Anregung mit Ephot=21,2 eV (He I) dagegen ~0,5 nm. Mit der UV-PES ist es daher möglich, eine gemittelte Zustandsdichte für die obersten ~10 nm einer Probe zu messen. Damit ist sie optimal ge­eignet, die a-Si-Emitterschichten mit Dicken um 5-10 nm, wie sie in der aSi/cSi-Heterostruktur-Solarzelle verwendet werden, hinsichtlich ihrer Zustandsdichte NOCC(E) bis hinunter zu 1015 eV-1cm-3 und der Lage des Ferminiveaus zu charakterisieren. Für sehr geringe a‑Si:H Schichtdicken erhält man im Spektrum zusätzliche Beiträge aus dem Valenzband des darunterliegenden c‑Si Substrats, was eine einfache Bestimmung des Bandoffsets am a‑Si:H/c‑Si Heterokontakt mit einem Minimum von Annahmen ermöglicht [5,6].

2 Der Grund hierfür liegt darin, dass die niedrige Energie der Elektronen nicht ausreicht, um im Probenmaterial Phononen anzuregen, und damit der wesentliche inelastische Streuprozess nicht stattfinden kann.

Beispiel einer CFSYS-Messung an unterschiedlich dotierten, ~10 nm dünnen a-Si:H Schichten auf kristallinem Silizium-Substrat (c-Si) [6]: EV markiert die Valenzbandkante des a-Si:H. Mit steigender n-Typ Dotierung des a-Si:H erhöht sich die Defektdichte in der Bandlücke, und das Ferminiveau EF (senkrechte Pfeile) verschiebt sich in Richtung Leitungsband-Kante EC. Zustände oberhalb von EF sind in der Photoelektronenspektroskopie nicht sichtbar, da nicht von Elektronen besetzt.

 
 

Literaturangaben:

[1]

L. Korte;  A. Laades & M. Schmidt, J. Non-Cryst. Sol. 352 (2006) 1217-20

[2]

M. Schmidt; A. Schoepke; L. Korte; O.  Milch & W. Fuhs, J. Non-Cryst. Sol. 338-340 (2004) 211-214

[3]

K. Winer & L. Ley, Phys. Rev. B 36 (1987) 6072

[4]

L. Korte & M. Schmidt, J. Appl. Phys. 109 (2011) 063714-1-6

[5]

M. Sebastiani; L. D. Gaspare; G. Capellini; C. Bittencourt & F. Evangelisti. Phys. Rev. Lett. 75 (1995) 3352-5

[6]

L. Korte & M. Schmidt, J. Non-Cryst. Sol. 354 (2008) 2138-43