Near Ultraviolet Photoelectron Spectroscopy

Basics

Photoelectron spectroscopy (PES) makes use of the external photoeffect to investigate the structure and electronic properties of materials. The basic set-up is sketched in Fig. 1 (left): The monochromatic photons that are emitted from the light source (e.g. an X-ray tube / gas discharge lamp / Xe high pressure lamp + Monochromator / …) have a photon energy Ephot = hν. They impinge onto the sample under investigation and excite electrons from occupied states below the Fermi level EF into unoccupied states above EF.

If the excited electrons reach the sample surface and their impulse is sufficient to overcome the work function barrier, they can exit the sample into the vacuum. Using an energy-selective detector, their kinetic energy Ekin is measured. From this, the initial energy of the photoelectron in the sample can be calculated. Usually, it is given in terms of a binding energy Ebind, i.e. the energy relative to the Fermi level in the sample.

Fig.1: (left) Basic set-up of a photoelectron spectroscopy (PES) experiment; (right) sketch of the energy scales 1 relevant for the PES and comparison of the conventional UPS mode with the Constant Final State Yield spectroscopy (CFSYS).

1 convention: states below EF have negative binding energy.

Measurement setup

Our photoelectron spectroscopy set-up is equipped for XPS (Al and Mg anodes) and UPS (usually He gas discharge). In addition, it features a light source for low energy excitation with variable photon energy up to 7eV that is especially useful for the spectroscopy of the valence band and band gap states of amorphous silicon (a‑Si:H) layers.

NUV Photoelektronenspektroskopie

Grundlagen

Die Photoelektronenspektroskopie (PES) nutzt den äußeren Photoeffekt zur Aufklärung der Struktur und elektronischen Eigen­schaften von Materialien. Der prinzipielle Aufbau ist in Abb.1 (links) skizziert: Von der Lichtquelle (z.B. Röntgenröhre/Gasentladungs-Lampe/Xe-Hochdrucklampe + Monochromator/...) emittierten mono­chromatischen Photonen mit der Energie Ephot = hν beleuchten die zu untersuchende Probe und regen Elektronen aus besetzten Zuständen unterhalb des Ferminiveaus EF in unbesetzte Zustände oberhalb EF an.

Wenn die so angeregten Elektronen die Oberfläche der Probe erreichen und ihr Impuls zum Überwinden der Energiebarriere zum Außenraum ausreicht, können sie die Probe verlassen. Mit Hilfe eines energieselektiven Analysators kann dann ihre kinetische Energie Ekin und damit die ursprüngliche Energie der Elektronen in der Probe bestimmt werden. Diese wird üblicherweise als Bindungsenergie Ebind relativ zur Fermienergie der Probe angegeben.

 Abb.1: (links) Prinzipieller Aufbau eines Photoelektronen­spektroskopie-Experiments 1; (rechts) Energie-Schema der beim PES-Experiment ablaufenden Prozesse und Vergleich des Standard-UPS-Modus mit der Constant Final State Yield Spektroskopie (CFSYS)

1 Konvention: Zustände unterhalb von EF haben negative Bindungs­energien.

Messaufbau

Der Photoelektronenspektroskopie-Aufbau ist mit den üblichen Quellen für XPS (Al und Mg Anoden) und UPS (typ. He Gasentladung) ausgestattet. Außerdem wurde eine spezielle Lichtquelle aufgebaut, mit der bei niedrigen, variablen Photonenenergien (bis ca. 7eV) angeregt werden kann. Dies ist besonders für die Spektroskopie des Valenzbands und der Bandlückenzustände in dünnen amorphen Silizium-Schichten (a‑Si:H) sehr nützlich.