NanoPV

NanoPV is a joint project of 12 European research institutions and private companies. It receives funding from the European Commission under the 7th Framework program. The project aims at making a breakthrough step-change in photovoltaics by the removal of a set of bottlenecks which have been identified to block the application of nanostructures for high-efficiency, low-cost solar cells. The bottlenecks arise from the present lack of up-scalable processes that can meet the needs for nanomaterials in PV applications, and the lack of relevant equipment and industrial lines. In order to remove these bottlenecks, the main objectives of NanoPV are:

  1. To develop technologies using nano-scale effects provided by nanomaterials to increase the efficiency to above 20% for wafer based and above 15 % for thin film silicon based solar cells at a processing cost for modules well below 1 €/watt.

  2. To design and to fabricate low cost solar cells entirely from nanomaterials by using nanostructures. An efficiency of above 10 % at processing costs well below 1 €/watt is targeted with potential of further significant improvements in the future.

  3. To develop up-scalable cost effective processes and equipment in order to implement both enhanced standard solar cells and solar cells based on nanomaterials as well as related modules to existing pilot and industrial lines.

  4. To create new market opportunities for the industrial partners.

Nanotechnology is applied for both already existing conventional Si solar cells (wafer and thin-film based) and for advanced solar cells entirely based on nanostructures. The main scientific efforts are on understanding and exploitation of such nanomaterials such as (i) 0D quantum dots, nanocrystals and nanoparticles, (ii) 1D nanowires and nanorods, and (iii) 2D nanomaterials, i.e. ultrathin layers. A large number of specialised technologies is applied in the project. Therefore, in order to ensure successful completion, a comparatively large consortium of 9 complementary research partners and 3 industries has been assembled.

The partners are:

  1. STIFTELSEN SINTEF (SINT), Norway

  2. STICHTING ENERGIEONDERZOEK CENTRUM NEDERLAND (ECN), Netherlands

  3. HELMHOLTZ-ZENTRUM BERLIN FÜR MATERIALIEN UND ENERGIE GMBH (HZB) Germany

  4. UNIVERSITAT DE VALENCIA (UVEG) Spain

  5. TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITAET MUENCHEN (TUM), Germany

  6. INSTITUT FUER PHOTONISCHE TECHNOLOGIEN E.V. (IPHT), Germany

  7. CONSIGLIO NAZIONALE DELLE RICERCHE (CNR), Italy

  8. RUDER BOSKOVIC INSTITUTE (RBI), Croatia

  9. CENTRAL LABORATORY OF SOLAR ENERGY& NEW ENERGY SOURCES OF THE BULGARIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCES (CL SENES), Bulgaria

  10. Oxford Instruments Plasma Technology Ltd (OIPT), United Kingdom

  11. SCHOTT Solar AG (SSP), Germany

  12. INNOVATIVE MATERIALS PROCESSING TECHNOLOGIES Ltd (IMPT), United Kingdom

NanoPV

Das NanoPV Projekt ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit 12 europäischen Instituten und privaten Firmen, das von der europäischen Kommission im Rahmen des 7. Rahmenprogramms gefördert wird. Das Projektziel besteht darin, die Hindernisse zu beseitigen, die einer Anwendung von Nanostrukturen in hoch effizienten und kostengünstigen Solarzellen bislang im Wege stehen. Diese Hindernisse bestehen darin, dass es momentan nicht möglich ist, Nanomaterialien für PV Anwendungen großflächig herzustellen und dass keine industriellen Verfahren und Anlagen zur Verfügung stehen.

Zur Beseitigung dieser Problemstellungen hat das NanoPV Projekt folgende Zielsetzungen:

  1. Die Entwicklung von Technologien, die unter Ausnutzung von Nanomaterialien einen Wirkungsgrad von über 20% auf Wafer-basierten Solarzellen und über 15% für Dünnschichtsolarzellen bei Produktionskosten unter 1€/W ermöglichen.
  2. Das Design und die Herstellung von kostengünstigen Solarzellen, die einzig aus Nanomaterialien bestehen. Die Zielsetzung ist, Solarzellen mit einem Wirkungsgrad über 10 % bei Produktionskosten unter 1 €/W zu entwickeln, die das Potenzial für zukünftig weitere starke Verbesserungen haben.
  3. Die Entwicklung von skalierbaren, kosten-effektiven Prozessen und Anlagen zur Herstellung von konventionellen Solarzellen sowie von Solarzellen, die nur auf Nanomaterialien basieren, und die Herstellung der entsprechenden Module in bestehenden Pilot- und Industrieanlagen.
  4. Marktchancen für die Industriepartner zu eröffnen.

Nanotechnologie soll sowohl in konventionellen Silizium Solarzellen (Wafer-basiert und Dünnschichttechnologie)  eingesetzt werden, als auch genutzt werden, um Solarzellen, die einzig auf Nanomaterialien beruhen, herzustellen. Die wesentlichen wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen sind das Verständnis und die Nutzbarmachung von Nanomaterialien wie: (i) 0D Quantenpunkte, Nanokristalle und Nanopartikel, (ii) 1D Nanodrähte und Nanostäbe, und (iii) 2D Nanostrukturen wie ultradünne Schichten. Somit wird eine Reihe von hoch spezialisierten Technologien in diesem Projekt benötigt. Um diese bereitzustellen und um den Erfolg des Projekts sicherzustellen, wurde ein vergleichsweise großes Konsortium mit 9 komplementären Forschungsinstituten und 3 Industriepartnern gebildet. 

Die Projektpartner sind:

  1. STIFTELSEN SINTEF (SINT), Norwegen
  2. STICHTING ENERGIEONDERZOEK CENTRUM NEDERLAND (ECN), Niederlande
  3. HELMHOLTZ-ZENTRUM BERLIN FÜR MATERIALIEN UND ENERGIE GMBH (HZB), Deutschland
  4. UNIVERSITAT DE VALENCIA (UVEG), Spanien
  5. TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITAET MUENCHEN (TUM), Deutschland
  6. INSTITUT FUER PHOTONISCHE TECHNOLOGIEN E.V. (IPHT), Deutschland
  7. CONSIGLIO NAZIONALE DELLE RICERCHE (CNR), Italien
  8. RUDER BOSKOVIC INSTITUTE (RBI), Kroatien
  9. CENTRAL LABORATORY OF SOLAR ENERGY& NEW ENERGY SOURCES OF THE BULGARIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCES (CL SENES), Bulgarien
  10. OXFORD INSTRUMENTS PLASMA TECHNOLOGY LTD (OIPT), Vereinigtes Königreich
  11. SCHOTT SOLAR AG (SSP), Deutschland
  12. INNOVATIVE MATERIALS PROCESSING TECHNOLOGIES Ltd (IMPT), Vereinigtes Königreich