Deposition at Ultra High Vacuum (UHV)

 
 

The purpose of the UHV preparation tool is to grow silicon- and metal oxide-based thin films, and to investigate the influence of surface reconstruction and few monolayer thick buffer layers on the band offset in semiconductor heterostructures. By these means the working principles, the atomic and chemical structure, and the electronic properties of efficient hetero emitter solar cells and quantum structures for solar applications can be investigated.

Film preparation usually starts with oxide free (wet-chemically etched and passivated) or reconstructed (1000°C anneal in UHV) surfaces of 2" silicon wafers. At a base pressure of ~5x10-11 mbar solids are evaporated by means of effusion cells or electron beam evaporators. Additionally, reactive gas atoms or ions (O, N, H) are available from a RF plasma source. This allows to incorporate these species into the growing layer, to investigate reactive growth modes, and to adjust, for instance, the stoichiometry of oxidic layers either during or after growth. Furthermore, it is possible to carry out hydrogen plasma post deposition treatments.

The substrate surface and the growth can be monitored in situ with RHEED. The in situ analytical methods allow the characterization of band offsets (constant final state yield spectroscopy, CFSYS), the electronic structure (ultraviolet photoelectron spectroscopy, UPS) and chemical bonding (X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, XPS). A subsequent in-situ metallization (Pt, Au, Al) is possible.

Deposition im Ultrahoch-Vakuum (UHV)

Die UHV-Präparation dient sowohl Untersuchungen zum Einfluss von Oberflächen-Rekonstruktionen und wenigen Monolagen dicken Zwischenschichten auf den Bandoffset in Halb­leiter­heterostrukturen, als auch der Präparation von Silizium- und Metalloxid-basierten Dünnschichten. Es sollen das Wirkprinzip, die atomar-chemische Struktur und die elektronischen Eigenschaften effizienter Hetero­emitter-Solarstrukturen und Quantenstrukturen für Solar­anwendungen erforscht werden.

Ausgangspunkt sind die oxidfreien, z.T. auch rekonstruierten (1000°C im UHV) Siliziumoberflächen von 2-Zoll-Silizium-Wafern. Bei einem Basisdruck von 5x10-11 mbar können aus Efussionszellen und Elektronenstrahl­verdampfern Festkörper verdampft und aus einer RF-Plasmaquelle reaktive Gasatome (O, N, H) oder Ionen zum Schicht­wachstum auf 2-Zoll-Si-Wafern bereitgestellt werden. Mit der RF-Plasmaquelle ist es insbesondere möglich, Gase als reaktive Partner in das Schichtwachstum einzubeziehen und so beispielsweise die Stöchiometrie von oxidischen Schichten einzustellen, entweder während des Wachstums, oder auch im Anschluss daran. Auch eine Wasserstoff-Nach­behandlung kann durchgeführt werden.

Die Substratoberfläche und das Wachstum können mittels RHEED-Messungen kontrolliert werden. Die in-situ Analytik erlaubt es, Band­offsets und elektronische Struktur (CFSYS, UPS), sowie chemische Bindungen (XPS) zu analysieren. Eine abschließende in-situ-Metallisierung (Pt, Au, Al) ist verfügbar, um die erzeugten Schicht­strukturen ohne ungewollte Modifizierung durch den Transport an Atmosphäre elektrisch zu charakterisieren.

Schematische Abbildung der RF-Plasmaquelle