Department

The research in the working group Structure and Dynamics of Energy Materials is devoted to the basic understanding of structure-property relations of materials for energy conversion. For structural investigations phase sensitive complementary diffraction methods using neutrons, synchrotron X-rays and conventional X-rays will be applied allowing a non-destructive analysis of the atomic structure from the sample surface up to deep within the sample volume in a unique way. The range of materials studied will cover synthetic as well as natural compounds (geomaterials).

For the structural analysis, we use complementary phase-sensitive diffraction methods: Neutron, synchrotron and conventional x-ray radiation. That makes it possible to analyze the atomic structure of the samples from the surface till the depths of the volume without any destruction of the material.

We are responsible to operate the X-Ray CoreLab at the campus Wannsee. Furthermore, we operate at the synchrotron radiation source BESSY II the end stations DIFFRACTION and XANES at the beamline KMC-2, the end station mySpot at the beamline mySpot, and the end station CryoEXAFS at the beamline KMC-3. Thus, we provide scientific and technical support to guests from national and international universities and research institutes, who visit HZB to use the unique opportunities of these analyzing tools for their own research.

Abteilung

In der Abteilung Struktur und Dynamik von Energiematerialien erforschen wir grundlegende Struktur-Eigenschaftsbeziehungen von Materialien für die Energiewandlung. Ziel ist es, physikalische Eigenschaften von z. B. Verbindungshalbleitern für die Dünnschichtphotovoltaik aus ihrer atomaren Struktur heraus zu verstehen. Für unsere Forschungsarbeiten synthetisieren wir in unserem Labor polykristalline Referenzproben, die wir auch unseren Projekt- und Kooperationspartnern zur Verfügung stellen. Die Breite der von uns untersuchten Systeme umfassen ternäre und quaternäre Chalkogenid-Verbindungshalbleiter in der Form von Pulverproben und Einkristallen bis hin zu technologisch relevanten polykristallinen Dünnschichen.

In den Strukturuntersuchungen wenden wir komplementäre phasen-sensitiver Beugungsmethoden mit Neutronen, Synchrotronstrahlung und konventioneller Röntgenstrahlung an. Diese erlauben eine zerstörungsfreie Analyse der atomaren Struktur des Probenmaterials von der Oberfläche bis tief in das Volumen auf einzigartige Weise.

Neben dem X-Ray CoreLab am Standort LMC betreiben wir an der Synchrotronstrahlungsquelle BESSY II die Endstationen DIFFRACTION und XANES an der Beamline KMC-2, die Endstation mySpot an der Beamline mySpot sowie die Endstation CryoEXAFS an der Beamline KMC-3. Damit verbunden ist die wissenschaftliche und technische Betreuung unserer Messgäste, die von Universitäten und Forschungsinstituten des In- und Auslandes zu uns kommen, um die einzigartigen Möglichkeiten dieser Instrumentierung für ihre eigene Forschungsarbeit zu nutzen.