Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

EDDIDAT: a graphical user interface for the analysis of energy-dispersive diffraction data

EDDIDAT Icon

Welcome to the homepage of the analysis tool 'EDDIDAT' (Energy-Dispersive Diffraction Data Analysis Tool). EDDIDAT is a MATLAB-based graphical user interface for the convenient and versatile analysis of energy-dispersive diffraction data obtained at the laboratory X-ray sources at the HZB. The main focus of EDDIDAT up to now has been on the analysis of residual stresses, but it can also be used to prepare measurement data for subsequent phase analysis or analysis of preferred orientation. The program provides access to the depth-resolved analysis of residual stresses at different levels of approximation. Furthermore, the graphic representation of the results also serves for the consideration of microstructural and texture related properties. The included material database allows for the quick analysis of the most common materials and is easily extendable. The plots and results produced with EDDIDAT can be exported to graphics and text files.

EDDIDAT, in principle, is designed to analyze diffraction data from various energy-dispersive X-ray sources. Hence it is possible to add new sources and implement the device specific properties into EDDIDAT. If you are interested in this possibility, please contact us.

For any questions and feedback of all kind feel free to contact our EDDIDAT developers, and we will help you as quickly as possible.

EDDIDAT GUI

EDDIDAT GUI 2 - enlarged view

The EDDIDAT GUI showing the residual stress depth profile of a ferritic steel sample

Installation instructions

The program EDDIDAT is made available for free use (​see license). It is installed by executing the EDDIDAT_Installer.exe (you can download the current version of EDDIDAT here). You will be prompted to install Matlab Runtime. This is necessary in order to be able to use the program. However, Matlab itself is not needed.

You can choose the path to install the program to but be sure you have administrator rights in this folder! If you are not sure that you have full administrator rights it is recommended not to select the drive where Windows is installed (usually C:\). The main folders are found in “YourPath\HZB\EDDIDAT\application\Data”.

During the installation routine you are given the choice to create a desktop shortcut. Unfortunately, the desktop shortcut created does not work since it is missing the proper link to the installation folder (“Start in” is empty). You can change the entry for “Start in” manually (“YourPath\HZB\EDDIDAT\application\”) or you can simply create a new desktop shortcut manually from within the installation directory.

 

References

If you use EDDIDAT in any part of your project, you are obliged to cite it in your publications. The primary citation for EDDIDAT is:

  • “EDDIDAT: a graphical user interface for the analysis of energy-dispersive diffraction data” Apel, D. et al. (2020), J. Appl. Cryst.  53, 1130 – 1137, doi: 10.1107/S1600576720005506

Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

EDDIDAT: eine grafische Benutzeroberfläche für die Analyse von energiedispersiven Diffraktionsdaten

EDDIDAT Logo

Willkommen auf der Homepage des Analysetools 'EDDIDAT' (EnergieDispersive Diffraktions Daten Analyse Tool). EDDIDAT ist eine MATLAB-basierte grafische Benutzeroberfläche für die komfortable und vielseitige Analyse von energiedispersiven Diffraktionsdaten, die an den Labor-Röntgenquellen am HZB gewonnen wurden. Das Hauptaugenmerk von EDDIDAT lag bisher auf der Analyse von Eigenspannungen, es kann aber auch zur Aufbereitung von Messdaten für die anschließende Phasenanalyse oder die Analyse der Vorzugsorientierung verwendet werden. Das Programm ermöglicht den Zugang zur tiefenaufgelösten Analyse von Eigenspannungen auf verschiedenen Approximationsebenen. Darüber hinaus dient die grafische Darstellung der Ergebnisse auch zur Berücksichtigung mikrostruktureller und texturbezogener Eigenschaften. Die mitgelieferte Materialdatenbank ermöglicht die schnelle Analyse der gebräuchlichsten Materialien und ist leicht erweiterbar. Die mit EDDIDAT erzeugten Plots und Ergebnisse können in Grafik- und Textdateien exportiert werden.

EDDIDAT ist prinzipiell für die Analyse von Beugungsdaten aus verschiedenen energiedispersiven Röntgenquellen ausgelegt. Daher ist es möglich, neue Quellen hinzuzufügen und die gerätespezifischen Eigenschaften in EDDIDAT zu implementieren. Wenn Sie an dieser Möglichkeit interessiert sind, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.

Für Fragen und Rückmeldungen aller Art wenden Sie sich bitte an unsere EDDIDAT-Entwickler, und wir werden Ihnen so schnell wie möglich helfen.

EDDIDAT GUI

EDDIDAT GUI 2 - vergrößerte Ansicht

Die EDDIDAT-Oberfläche zeigt das Eigenspannungstiefenprofil einer ferritischen Stahlprobe

Installationshinweise

Das Programm EDDIDAT wird zur freien Nutzung zur Verfügung gestellt (siehe Lizenz). Es wird durch Ausführen der EDDIDAT_Installer.exe installiert (die aktuelle Version von EDDIDAT können Sie hier herunterladen). Sie werden aufgefordert, Matlab Runtime zu installieren. Dies ist notwendig, um das Programm nutzen zu können. Matlab selbst wird jedoch nicht benötigt.

Sie können den Pfad zur Installation des Programms wählen, aber stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie in diesem Ordner Administratorrechte haben! Wenn Sie nicht sicher sind, dass Sie volle Administratorrechte haben, wird empfohlen, nicht das Laufwerk auszuwählen, auf dem Windows installiert ist (normalerweise C:\).

Die Hauptordner finden Sie unter "IhrPfad\HZB\EDDIDAT\application\Data".

Während der Installationsroutine haben Sie die Möglichkeit, eine Verknüpfung auf dem Desktop zu erstellen. Leider funktioniert die erstellte Desktop-Verknüpfung nicht, da die richtige Verknüpfung zum Installationsordner fehlt ("Start in" ist leer). Sie können den Eintrag für "Start in" manuell ändern ("IhrPfad\HZB\EDDIDAT\application\") oder Sie können einfach manuell eine neue Desktop-Verknüpfung aus dem Installationsverzeichnis erstellen.

Literaturhinweise

Wenn Sie EDDIDAT in irgendeinem Teil Ihres Projekts verwenden, sind Sie verpflichtet, EDDIDAT in Ihren Publikationen zu zitieren. Für EDDIDAT gilt die primäre Zitierweise:

  • “EDDIDAT: a graphical user interface for the analysis of energy-dispersive diffraction data” Apel, D. et al. (2020), J. Appl. Cryst.  53, 1130 – 1137, doi: 10.1107/S1600576720005506