Applications of the NRSE method and current areas of research

The main application of NRSE spectroscopy is in measurements of the linewidths of low-energy dispersive excitations in non-magnetic and antiferromagnetic materials. Lattice dynamics is investigated to access wavevector-resolved phonon relaxation times important for a microscopic understanding of thermal transport in thermoelectric materials. Magnetic model systems provide a playground to study temporal decoherence phenomena in dynamically strongly correlated materials beyond exponential decay. Beside inelastic applications, the NRSE apparatus is ideal for Larmor diffraction, a high resolution elastic scattering technique based on neutron Larmor precession for single crystal and powder samples.  

Current areas of research

Research on thermoelectric materials exploits the NRSE method to measure phonon lifetimes of transverse acoustic modes which largely govern thermal conductivity. The long-term goal is to benchmark theoretical results for mode Grüneisen parameters obtained by first-principles calculations against experimental data. Alongside the NRSE methodology is further developed by extending the resolution theory to describe more than one excitation mode within the resolution ellipsoid of the background spectrometer or unusual lineshapes.     

In thermoelectric compounds, an inherently low thermal conductivity is beneficial for the efficiency of thermal to electrical energy conversion. The detailed understanding of the relation between the crystal structure and the phonon dynamics on the microscopic level is essential for novel strategies aiming at the optimization of thermoelectric material parameters and is thus ultimately relevant for device applications such as thermoelectric generators. However, so far investigations of lattice thermal conductivity have mostly been based on empirical models either with fitting or adjustable parameters. In contrast, our microscopic measurements directly access phonon lifetimes taking advantage of the high energy resolution of NRSE spectroscopy.

Current research efforts focus on measuring phonon lifetimes in the perovskite model system SrTiO3 which is known to offer good thermoelectric properties. SrTiO3 is an incipient ferroelectric material with a phase transition from cubic perovskite to an antiferrodistortive tetragonal phase at TC=105 K, and has been shown to have a high power factor S2σ which qualifies the compound as a potential TE system. SrTiO3 is thus an ideal model material to study the relationship between the TE properties and the proximity to a structural phase transition and incipient ferroelectricity.

In terms of method development, new experiments beyond the standard measurements of exponentially damped excitations are aspired. The NRSE experiments carried out at the triple axis spectrometer TRISP, FRM II, MLZ, Garching, were motivated by the recently discovered phenomenon on strong dynamic correlations leading to non-Lorentzian line broadening of magnetic excitations [1, 2]. They confirm results of earlier measurements obtained by neutron time-of-flight spectroscopy. Here, the direct access to decoherence in the time domain is the particular advantage of the NRSE method, and thus NRSE spectroscopy complements conventional neutron spectroscopy, which probes the scattering system in the energy domain. Interestingly, the simple linear relationship between the phase shift and the mean energy of the excitation breaks down if the lineshape is asymmetric. A correct description of the phase shift is obtained by a model which takes into account the full numerical evaluation of the neutron spin precession. The non-linear evolution of the phase shift as a function of the spin-echo time is a direct consequence of the non-Lorentzian lineshape.

The analytical treatment of the resolution for NRSE-TAS experiments is an important prerequisite to the interpretation of experimental data on phonon and magnon linewidths. We have developed an analytical framework for the resolution function for NRSE spectroscopy [3]. The resolution theory of triple-axis spectrometers was extended by introducing a phase matrix, which corresponds to the mean Larmor phase accumulated by the neutrons with a particular trajectory precessing in the effective magnetic fields. Thus each point within the resolution ellipsoid of the TAS instrument in the wavevector-energy space is attributed a total Larmor precession angle which takes divergence effects into account (see Fig. 1). Summing up all Larmor phases weighted by the corresponding transmission probability yields the resolution function for NRSE-TAS. The formalism includes the effects of important sample properties such as mosaicity and curvature of the dispersion surface.

NRSE SrTiO3 Eq

Fig. 1a: Larmor phase diagram calculated for the transverse acoustic phonon in SrTiO3 with total wavevector transfer Q=(1 1 1) + (-ζ −ζ +ζ), ζ=0.05 r.l.u. The Larmor phase topology in the energy-wavevector plane is shown. Δω denotes the energy difference with respect to the nominal phonon energy. Δq is the wavevector difference perpendicular to the phonon wavevector. The dispersion (black line) closely follows the curvature of the lines of constant Larmor phase (color-coded) within the resolution ellipse of the triple-axis spectrometer (red line).

NRSE SrTiO3 qq

Fig. 1b: Larmor phase diagram calculated for the transverse acoustic phonon in SrTiO3 with total wavevector transfer Q=(1 1 1) + (-ζ −ζ +ζ), ζ=0.05 r.l.u. The Larmor phase topology in the two-dimensional wavevector space is shown, with axes parallel and perpendicular to the phonon wavevector q along the vertical z-direction. In contrast to the negligible phase variations in the direction of q|| there is significant Larmor phase variation along qz leading to a depolarization of the spin-echo signal.


References

[1] F. Groitl, T. Keller, K. Rolfs, D.A. Tennant, K. Habicht, Anomalous thermal decoherence in a quantum magnet measured with neutron spin-echo spectroscopy, Phys. Rev. B 93 (2016) 134404.

[2] B. Fauseweh, F. Groitl, T. Keller, K. Rolfs, D.A. Tennant, K. Habicht, G.S. Uhrig; Time-dependent correlations in quantum magnets at finite temperature, Phys. Rev. B Rapid Commun. 94 (2016) 180404(R).

[3] K. Habicht, T. Keller, R. Golub, The resolution function in neutron spin-echo spectroscopy with three-axis spectrometers, J. Appl. Cryst. 36 (2003) 1307-1318.

Anwendungen der NRSE-Methode und aktuelle Forschungsgebiete

Die wichtigste Anwendung der NRSE-Spektroskopie ist die Messung der Linienbreite von niederenergetischen, dispersiven Anregungen in nicht-magnetischen und antiferromagnetischen Materialien. Bei Untersuchungen der Gitterdynamik erhält man Relaxationszeiten von Phononen in Abhängigkeit des Wellenvektors, die für ein mikroskopisches Verständnis von Wärmetransport in thermoelektrischen Verbindungen wichtig sind. Magnetische Modellsysteme können dazu beitragen, das Auftreten zeitlicher Dekoheränz jenseits von exponentiellen Zerfällen in stark korrelierten Materialien zu untersuchen. Neben inelastischen Anwendungen ist der NRSE-Aufbau auch optimal geneignet für Larmor-Diffraktion, eine hochauflösende elastische Streumethode für Einkristalle und Pulverproben, die auf Larmorpräzession des Neutronenspins beruht.

Aktuelle Forschungsgebiete

Die Forschung zu Thermoelektrika nutzt die NRSE-Methode, um Lebenszeiten von Phononen zu messen, insbesondere die der transversalen akustischen Moden, die hauptsächlich für den Wärmetransport verantwortlich sind. Langfristig ist das Ziel, die Ergebnisse von first principles Rechnungen für Grüneisen-Parameter mit experimentellen Daten abzugleichen. Die Methodik der NRSE wird außerdem weiterentwickelt, indem die Auflösungstheorie um solche Fälle erweitert wird, bei denen mehr als eine Anregungsmode innerhalb des Auflösungsellipsoids des Dreiachsenspektrometers liegt, oder wenn ungewöhnliche Linienformen vorliegen.

In thermoelektrischen Verbindungen ist eine niedrige Wärmeleitfähigkeit günstig für die Effizienz der Umwandlung von thermischer in elektrische Energie. Ein detailliertes Verständnis des Zusammenhangs zwischen Kristallstruktur und Phononendynamik auf der mikroskopischen Ebene ist essentiell, um neue Strategien zur Parameter-Optimierung von thermoelektrischen Materialien zu entwickeln, und damit letztendlich relevant für Anwendungen wie thermoelektrische Generatoren. Bisher beruhen Untersuchungen der Wärmeleitfähigkeit des Gitters in der Regel auf empirischen Modellen, deren Parameter an Experimente angepasst werden. Im Gegensatz dazu liefern unsere mikroskopischen Messungen einen direkten Zugang zu den Lebenszeiten der Phononen, indem sie von der hohen Auflösung der NRSE-Spektroskopie profitieren.

Der Fokus unserer aktuellen Forschung zu Phononen-Lebenszeiten liegt auf dem Perovskit-Modellsystem SrTiO3, dessen günstige thermoelektrischen Eigenschaften gut erforscht sind. SrTiO3 ist ein fast-ferroelektrisches Material mit einem Phasenübergang von einer kubischen Perovskit-Phase zu einer antiferrodistortiven tetragonalen Phase bei TC=105 K, mit einem hohen Gütefaktor S2σ, der das Potential der Verbindung für thermoelektrische Anwendungen verdeutlicht. SrTiO3 ist daher ein ideales Modellsystem, um den Zusammenhang von thermoelektrischen Eigenschaften und der Nähe zu einem strukturellen Phasenübergang sowie zur Ferroelektrizität zu untersuchen.

Im Rahmen der Methodenentwicklung werden neue Experimente angestrebt, die über die übliche Messung exponentiell gedämpfter Anregungen hinausgehen. Am Dreiachsenspektrometer TRISP, FRM II, MLZ, Garching, wurden Messungen durchgeführt, die von dem kürzlich entdeckten Phänomen motiviert waren, dass starke dynamische Korrelationen zu nicht-Lorentz-förmigen Linienverbreiterungen in magnetischen Anregungen führen können [1, 2]. Dabei wurden Ergebnisse von früheren Messungen an Flugzeit-Spektrometern bestätigt. Der direkte Zugang zur Dekohärenz als Funktion der Zeit ist ein besonderer Vorteil der NRSE-Methode, so dass NRSE-Spektroskopie die Ergebnisse aus konventioneller Neutronen-Spektroskopie, die als Funktion der Energie misst, ergänzt. Interessanterweise gilt die einfache lineare Beziehung zwischen Phasenverschiebung und mittlerer Energie der Anregung nicht mehr, wenn die Linienform asymmetrisch ist. Für die korrekte Beschreibung der Phasenverschiebung ist eine vollständige numerische Auswertung der Neutronenspin-Präzession nötig. Die nicht-lineare Abhängigkeit der Phasenverschiebung von der Spin-Echo-Zeit ist eine unmittelbare Folge der nicht-Lorentz-förmigen Linienform.

Die analytische Behandlung von Auflösungseffekten bei NRSE-TAS Experimenten ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung, um die gemessenen Linienbreiten von Phononen und Magnonen interpretieren zu können. Wir haben eine analytische Herangehensweise für die Auflösungsfunktion von NRSE-Spektroskopie entwickelt [3]. Die Auflösungs-Theorie von Dreiachsenspektrometern wurde um eine Phasen-Matrix erweitert, die die mittlere Larmor-Phase beschreibt, welche  Neutronen einer bestimmten Flugbahn durch Präzession in den effektiven Magnetfeldern entwickelt haben. Jedem Punkt im Wellenvektor-Energie-Raum, der innerhalb des Auflösungs-Ellipsoid des TAS-Instruments liegt, wird so ein Larmor-Präzessionswinkel zugeordnet, wobei auch Divergenz-Effekte berücksichtigt werden (s. Bild 1). Wenn man alle Larmor-Phasen addiert, gewichtet mit der entsprechenden Transmissionswahrscheinlichkeit, erhält man die Auflösungsfunktion für NRSE-TAS. Der Formalismus berücksichtigt auch Effekte, die durch wichtige Probeneigenschaften wie Mosaizität und Krümmung der Dispersionsoberfläche verursacht werden.

NRSE SrTiO3 Eq

Abb. 1a: Larmor-Phasediagramm, berechnet für transversale akustische Phononen in SrTiO3 mit Wellenvektor-Übertrag Q=(1 1 1) + (-ζ −ζ +ζ), ζ=0.05 r.l.u. Gezeigt ist die Larmor-Phasentopologie in der Energie-Wellenvektor-Ebene. Δω bezeichnet die Energiedifferenz zur nominellen Phononenenergie, Δqdie  Wellenvektordifferenz senkrecht zum Wellenvektor des Phonons. Die Dispersion (schwarze Linie) folgt im Wesentlichen der Krümmung der Linien konstanter Larmor-Phase (Farbskala) innerhalb des Auflösungs-Ellipsoids des Dreiachsenspektrometers (rote Linie).

NRSE SrTiO3 qq

Abb. 1b: Larmor-Phasediagramm, berechnet für transversale akustische Phononen in SrTiO3 mit Wellenvektor-Übertrag Q=(1 1 1) + (-ζ −ζ +ζ), ζ=0.05 r.l.u. Geizeigt ist die Larmor-Phasentopologie im zweidimensionalen Wellenvektor-Raum mit Achsen parallel und senkrecht (entlang der vertikalen z-Richtung) zum Wellenvektor des Phonons q. Im Gegensatz zur vernachlässigbaren Phasenvariations in q|| Richtung gibt es eine deutliche Larmor-Phasenvariation entlang qz, was zu einer Depolarisierung des Spin-Echo-Signals führt.


Literatur

[1] F. Groitl, T. Keller, K. Rolfs, D.A. Tennant, K. Habicht, Anomalous thermal decoherence in a quantum magnet measured with neutron spin-echo spectroscopy, Phys. Rev. B 93 (2016) 134404.

[2] B. Fauseweh, F. Groitl, T. Keller, K. Rolfs, D.A. Tennant, K. Habicht, G.S. Uhrig; Time-dependent correlations in quantum magnets at finite temperature, Phys. Rev. B Rapid Commun. 94 (2016) 180404(R).

[3] K. Habicht, T. Keller, R. Golub, The resolution function in neutron spin-echo spectroscopy with three-axis spectrometers, J. Appl. Cryst. 36 (2003) 1307-1318.