MultiFLEXX

In 2016, the construction of the new multi-analyzer MultiFLEXX (see Fig. 1) was completed [1]. It consists of 31 angular segments that each contain 5 vertically scattering analyzers [2], which are placed one after the other in the beam path as seen in Fig. 2. The analyzers are made from pyrolytic graphite, which is highly transparent to long-wavelength neutrons. Each analyzer is set to a fixed wavelength, corresponding to final energies of 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4 and 4.5 meV. The 31 channels are separated by 2.5° leading to a total angular coverage of 77°. Thus, MultiFLEXX allows a large region of reciprocal space to be measured simultaneously by simply rotating the sample. Switching between FLEXX and MultiFLEXX takes only half an hour, and all usual sample environment set-ups are compatible with MultiFLEXX. An oscillating radial collimator ensures low background counts. MultiFLEXX is thus a convenient new tool for parametric overview studies of excitations as a function of field or temperature.

MultiFLEXX with oscillating radial collimator

Fig. 1: Photo of MultiFLEXX.

MultiFLEXX analyzers

Fig. 2: Schematic drawing of one angular channel of MultiFLEXX, showing the vertical scattering geometry with 5 analyzers.


References

[1] S. Meng, R. Toft-Petersen, L. Hao, K. Habicht, multiflexxlib: A Python package for data reduction and visualization for the cold-neutron multi energy wide angle analyzer MultiFLEXX, SoftwareX 7 (2018) 309.

[2] F. Groitl, R. Toft-Petersen, D.L. Quintero-Castro, S. Meng, Z. Lu, Z. Huesges, M.D. Le, S. Alimov, T. Wilpert, K. Kiefer, S. Gerischer, A. Bertin, K. Habicht, MultiFLEXX - The new multianalyzer at the cold triple-axis spectrometer FLEXX, Sci. Rep. 7 (2017) 13637.

[3] R. Toft-Petersen, F. Groitl, M. Kure, J. Lim, P. Čermák, S. Alimov, T. Wilpert, M. D. Le, D. Quintero-Castro, C. Niedermayer, A. Schneidewind, K. Habicht, Experimental characterization of a prototype secondary spectrometer for vertically scattering multiple energy analysis at cold-neutron triple axis spectrometers, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 830, 338-344 (2016).

MultiFLEXX

2016 wurde der neue Multi-Analysator MultiFLEXX (s. Abb. 1) fertiggestellt [1]. Er besteht aus 31 baugleichen Winkelsegmenten mit jeweils 5 Analysatoren, die vertikal streuen und von Neutronenstrahl nacheinander passiert bzw. gestreut werden [2], wie in Abb. 2 gezeigt. Die Analysatoren bestehen aus pyrolytischem Graphit, das für langwellige Neutronen fast durchsichtig ist. Jeder Analysator ist auf eine feste Wellenlänge eingestellt, die einer Energie von 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4 bzw. 4.5 meV entspricht. Die Winkelsegmente haben einen Abstand von 2.5°, so dass insgesamt ein Winkelbereich von 77° abgedeckt wird. Nur durch Rotation der Probe kann somit ein großer Bereich im reziproken Raum gleichzeitig vermessen werden. Der Wechsel von FLEXX auf MultiFLEXX dauert nur eine halbe Stunde, und alle üblichen Probenumgebungen sind mit MultiFLEXX kompatibel. Ein oszillierender Radialkollimator sorgt für niedrigen Untergrund. MultiFLEXX erleichtert daher Überblickmessungen, bei denen die Änderungen von Anregungen mit der Temperatur oder im Feld untersucht werden sollen.

MultiFLEXX mit oszillierendem Radialkollimator

Abb. 1: Foto von MultiFLEXX, auf dem der oszillierende Radialkollimator zu sehen ist.

MultiFLEXX-Analysatoren

Abb. 2: Schematische Darstellung eines Winkelsegments von MultiFLEXX, das die fünf Analysatoren in vertikaler Streugeometrie zeigt.


Literatur

[1] S. Meng, R. Toft-Petersen, L. Hao, K. Habicht, multiflexxlib: A Python package for data reduction and visualization for the cold-neutron multi energy wide angle analyzer MultiFLEXX, SoftwareX 7 (2018) 309.

[2] F. Groitl, R. Toft-Petersen, D.L. Quintero-Castro, S. Meng, Z. Lu, Z. Huesges, M.D. Le, S. Alimov, T. Wilpert, K. Kiefer, S. Gerischer, A. Bertin, K. Habicht, MultiFLEXX - The new multianalyzer at the cold triple-axis spectrometer FLEXX, Sci. Rep. 7 (2017) 13637.

[3] R. Toft-Petersen, F. Groitl, M. Kure, J. Lim, P. Čermák, S. Alimov, T. Wilpert, M. D. Le, D. Quintero-Castro, C. Niedermayer, A. Schneidewind, K. Habicht, Experimental characterization of a prototype secondary spectrometer for vertically scattering multiple energy analysis at cold-neutron triple axis spectrometers, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res. A 830, 338-344 (2016).