High Field Magnet – Overview

Neutron scattering experiments in combination with strong magnetic fields and low temperatures: This is what Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin stands for. Bombarding samples with neutrons in an extremely strong magnetic field: there is no place in the world where you will find more know-how to do this and thus to research the most topical issues in physics, chemistry, biology, and material science.

HFM

High Field Magnet in neutron guide hall II

The Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin has installed an internationally unique High Field Magnet with a magnetic field strength of 26 Tesla, which is about one million times stronger than the earth’s magnetic field and thus the strongest magnet for neutron scattering experiments in the world.

After closure of the neutron source BER II, the high field facility is no longer available for neutron scattering experiments.

The HFM-Team

The project was approved by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research in February 2007 with a total investment costs about 20,8 million € and a construction time of around eight years.

The ExED (Extreme Environment Diffractometer), the relevant instrument for neutron detection, is located in the neutron guide hall II which was completed in 2005.

The high field magnet was developed in Collaboration with the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, Florida. According to reasons of formal law, the co-operation partner of Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin is a not-for-profit corporation, the "Florida State University Magnet Research and Development, Inc.".

Hochfeldmagnet - Übersicht

Experimente mit Neutronenstreuung in Kombination mit starken Magnetfeldern und tiefen Temperaturen – dafür steht das Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin. Nirgendwo sonst existiert mehr Know-How, um Proben innerhalb extrem starker Magnetfelder mit Neutronen zu beschießen und so aktuellsten Fragen aus Physik, Chemie, Biochemie und den Materialwissenschaften nachzugehen.

HFM

Hochfeldmagnet in der NLHII

Das Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie verfügt über einen international einzigartigen Hochfeldmagneten mit einer Feldstärke von 26 Tesla – etwa eine Million Mal stärker als das Erdmagnetfeld und der stärkste Magnet für Neutronenexperimente weltweit.

Nach Schließung der Neutronenquelle BER II steht die Hochfeldeinrichtung nicht mehr für Neutronenstreuungsexperimente zur Verfügung.

Das HFM-Team

Das Projekt ist vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung im Februar 2007 bewilligt worden. Der Gesamtumfang der Investitionen beträgt rund 20,8 Millionen € bei einer Bauzeit von rund 8 Jahren.

Das dazugehörige Instrument zum Nachweis der Neutronen EXED (Extreme Environment Diffractometer) befindet sich in der 2005 fertig gestellten Neutronenleiterhalle II (NLH II).

Der Hochfeldmagnet wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit dem  "National High Magnetic Field Laboratory", Florida, entwickelt. Aus formalrechtlichen Gründen ist der Kooperationspartner für das Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin eine nicht gewinnorientierte Gesellschaft, die "Florida State University Magnet Research and Development, Inc."