Monochromator Control

The monochromator as an optical element of a beamline is located outside of the actual storage ring along the beamlines. On its way through the beamline, the synchrotron light can be adjusted to the special needs of the connected experiment, the monochromator is responsible for the spectral isolation of the relevant wavelength.

There are different types of monochromators: the Plane Grating Monochromator (PGM), the Spherical Grating Monochromator (SGM), the Normal Incidence Monochromator (NIM) and the Double Crystal Monochromator (DCM).

The monochromator group focuses on the efficient control of all monochromators, programming and configuring their components. Motors, as well as controller cards responsible for mirrors, gratings and crystals inside of the monochromators have to be moved very precisely. The user interface to controll all devices is programmed by the monochromator group aswell. Each monochromator requires individual customization of hard- and software according to the attached experiment of the beamline.

© November 2019, AZ

Paper

ICALEPCS Conferences

E-Mail Contact

To get in touch with all group members, please use the following e-mail list:

mono@helmholtz-berlin.de

On-call service

To ensure the trouble-free operation of BESSY II for all users, the monochromator group set up a component on-call service "Beamline- and monochromator controls".

Monochromatorsteuerung

Der Monochromator als optisches Element einer Beamline befindet sich außerhalb des eigentlichen Speicherrings entlang der Strahlrohre. Auf dem Weg durch die Rohre wird der Synchrotronenstrahl an die Bedürfnisse des angeschlossenen Experiments angepasst, der Monochromator übernimmt dabei die Aufgabe der spektralen Isolation entsprechender Wellenlängen.

Es gibt verschiedene Typen von Monochromatoren: der Plane Grating Monochromator (PGM), der Spherical Grating Monochromator (SGM), der Normal Incidence Monochromator (NIM) und der Double Crystal Monochromator (DCM).

Der Fokus der Gruppe "Monochromatorengruppe" liegt auf der reibungslosen Steuerung der Monochromatoren. Motore sowie deren Steuerkarten, die die Spiegel, Gitter und Kristalle in den Monochromatoren äußerst exakt justieren können,  werden konfiguriert und programmiert. Auch die Nutzeroberflächen zur Steuerung liegt in den Händen der Gruppe. Dabei fordert jeder Monochromator ein individuelles Anpassen der Hard- und Software an das angeschlossene Experiment der Beamline.

© November 2019, AZ

Highlights

E-Mail Kontakt

Um Kontakt mit den Gruppenmitgliedern der Monochromatorengruppe aufzunehmen, nutzen sie bitte folgenden E-Mail-Verteiler:

mono@helmholtz-berlin.de

Rufbereitschaft

Um den laufenden Betrieb von BESSY II für die Nutzer zu unterstützen hat die Monochromatorengruppe die Komponentenrufbereitschaft "Beamline- und Monochromatorsteuerung" eingerichtet.