Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Optical simulations

Spectrum - enlarged view

Numerical and experimental 1 - R spectra for sinusoidally textured layer stacks. The textures have 750 nm pitch. Numerical results were calculated with two corrections, which differ because not all diffraction orders that are present in glass can propagate into air. Simulation results are shown for two angles of incidence: θin = 0° (thin lines) and θin = 8° (thick lines). Experimental results were obtained with theta θin = 8° [5].

Numerical techniques are a powerful tool to develop effective light management architectures for improved solar cell performance. We mainly use the state-of-the-art time-harmonic finite element solver JCMsuite, which is developed by JCMwave GmbH, a spin-off of the Zuse Institute Berlin (ZIB). The strengths of the finite-element-method (FEM) and the JCMsuite-software are its outstanding accuracy and convergence, which can outperform comparable methods such as FDTD in respective benchmarks [1].

The Department Optics for Solar Energy is a founding partner of the Berlin Joint Lab for Optical Simulations for Energy Research (BerOSE) which was founded by HZB, ZIB and the Free University Berlin in 2014. BerOSE forms an ideal environment for the interaction between experts in 3D optical computation and scientists in the synthesis of nanostructured materials for solar electricity generation, energy storage and photonics.

We use 3D optical simulations primarily to study nanophotonic light trapping for highly efficient silicon thin-film solar cells and to investigate large area photonic crystals. Further, we contribute with our numerical expertise to the Helmholtz Innovation Lab HySPRINT.

Besides rigorous Maxwell solvers, which are mainly suited for periodic architectures, we are also very experienced in other simulation techniques that can be used for solar devices. Among those are the coherent-incoherent net radiation method for planar layer stacks [2,3], which can be expanded with the scalar scattering theory for non-periodic nanotextures [4] and ray tracing for large textures.

Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Optische Simulationen

Spectrum - vergrößerte Ansicht

Numerische und experimentelle 1-R Spektren von sinusoidal-texturierten Schichtsystemen;  die hexagonalen Texturen haben 750 nm Periode. Die numerischen Ergebnisse wurden mit zwei Korrekturen berechnet, die sich unterscheiden, da nicht alle Beugungsordnungen in Glas in Luft propagieren können. Simulationsdaten sind für zwei Einfallswinkel gezeigt: θin = 0° (dünne Linien) und θin = 8° (dicke Linien). Die experimentellen Daten wurden für θin = 8° gemessen [5].

Numerische Methoden helfen bei der Entwicklung effektiver Lichtmanagement Architekturen, welche die Leistung von Solarzellen erhöhen. Wir setzen vor allem auf den state-of-the-art zeitharmonischen Finite Elemente Löser JCMsuite, welcher von der JCMwave GmbH entwickelt wird, einer Ausgründung des Zuse Institute Berlin (ZIB). Die Stärke der Finite Elemente Methode (FEM) und der JCMSuite Software sind die herausragende Genauigkeit und Konvergenz, welche vergleichbare Methoden, wie z.B. FDTD, in verschiedenen Benchmarks übertreffen [1].

Die Abteilung Solarenergieoptik ist ein Gründungsmitglied des Berlin Joint Lab for Optical Simulations for Energy Research (BerOSE), welches vom HZB, dem ZIB und der Freien Universität Berlin 2014 gegründet wurde. BerOSE bietet ein ideales Biotop für den Austausch von Experten in 3D-optischen Simulationen mit Wissenschaftler*innen, die in der Synthese von nanostrukturierten Materialien für Photovoltaik, Energiespeicherung oder Photonik arbeiten.

Wir benutzen 3D-optische Simulationen vor allem zum Studium von nanophotonischem Lichteinfang für hoch-effiziente Dünnschicht-Silizium-Solarzellen und zur Untersuchung großflächiger photonischer Kristalle. Des Weiteren tragen wir mit unserer numerischen Expertise zum Helmholtz Innovation Lab HySPRINT bei.

Neben rigorosen Lösern der Maxwellgleichungen, die vor allem zum Studium periodischer Architekturen geeignet sind, haben wir auch umfangreiche Erfahrungen in anderen Simulationsmethoden aufgebaut. Darunter sind die Net-Radiation Methode zum Studium planarer Schichtsysteme [2,3]. Diese kann mit der skalaren Streutheorie für nicht-periodische Nanotexturen [4] und Raytracing für große streuende Strukturen erweitert werden.