Diffraction

With diffraction methods a variety of structural properties in the micro and nanometer range can be investigated.

Residual stress analysis using neutron and X-ray diffraction

Residual stresses in components

Residual stress measurements with X-ray diffraction

residual stress depth-gradient

residual stress depth gradient of cutting tool surface layers

For the investigation of load, composite and residual stresses of materials and components, we at HZB use complementary methods for illuminating different penetration depths. By means of energy-dispersive X-ray diffraction, internal stress depth gradients from the surface are made visible in a depth of approximately 100 μm (for example for steels). These can also be resolved in multiple layers of coated components. By contrast, neutron diffraction can be used to analyze stresses in several millimeters (for aluminum even in several centimeters). This provides a broad spectrum for applications from various industrial sectors, for example:

  • Multilayer coating system on the surface of cutting tools
  • Components for the automotive industry, as well as for aerospace
  • electronic components
  • Components from additive manufacturing

Reflectometry for the investigation of X-ray optics

Mirrors, grids and crystals are the basis for soft X-ray optics and technology. At HZB, we routinely measure the quality of optical beamline elements, the reflectivity of mirrors, the efficiency of gratings, and the scattering properties of ultra-smooth surfaces. Our UHV reflectometer is a multi-purpose tool for determining the optical properties of samples in transmission or reflection. The reflectance can be determined at a fixed photon energy as a function of the angle of incidence or, conversely, as a function of the energy for a particular angle of incidence. The samples can have any size from a few square millimeters to macroscopic optical elements.

Small angle scattering

Structural model RuSeO

ASAXS analysis and the derived structural model of a RuSexOy catalyst for fuel cell applications. RuSexOy electrocatalysts with a cluster-like selenium distribution on the surface of carbon black-supported ruthenium nanoparticles are suitable substitutes for platinum on the cathode side of methanol fuel cells.

Nanostructures and nanostructured materials play an increasingly important role in almost all areas of industry. Along with this, the importance of methods for characterizing such materials continues to increase. Small-angle scattering helps to capture a variety of parameters in the nanometer range. It is able to investigate inhomogeneities in a material in the size range from 0.5 nm to more than 1000 nm.

These can be both nano-particles entrapped in a material and differences in the density, composition or magnetization of the material. So can be z. For example, determine size and distance distributions, morphology and composition as well as the volume fractions of these inhomogeneities.

Diffraktion

Mit Diffraktionsmethoden können verschiedenste Struktureigenschaften im Mikro- und Nanometerbereich untersucht werden

Eigenspannungsanalyse mittels Neutronen- und Röntgendiffraktion

Eigenspannungen an Bauteilen

Eigenspannungsmessungen mittels Röntgendiffraktion

Eigenpannungstiefengradient

Eigenspannungstiefengradient eines Schneidwerkzeugs

Zur Untersuchung von Last-, Verbund- und Eigenspannungen von Materialien und Bauteilen nutzen wir am HZB komplementäre Verfahren zur Beleuchtung unterschiedlicher Eindringtiefen. Mittels energiedispersiver Röntgendiffraktion werden Eigenspannungstiefengradienten von der Oberfläche bin in etwa 100 µm Tiefe (z.Bsp. für Stähle) sichtbar gemacht. Diese können auch in Mehrfachlagen beschichteter Kompenenten aufgelöst werden. Mittels Neutronendiffraktion können dagegen Spannungen in mehreren Millimetern (für Aluminium sogar in mehreren Zentimetern) analysiert werden. Dies liefert ein breites Spektrum für Anwendung aus den verschiedensten industriellen Bereichen, bspw:

  • Multilagenschichtsystem an der Oberfläche von Schneidwerkzeugen
  • Komponenten für die Automobileindustrie, sowie für Luft- und Raumfahrt
  • Elektronikbauteile
  • Komponenten aus additiver Fertigung

Reflektometrie zur Untersuchung von Röntgenoptiken

Spiegel, Gitter und Kristalle sind die Basis für weiche Röntgenoptiken und -technologie. Am HZB messen wir routinemäßig die Qualität optischen Strahllinienelemente, das Reflexionsvermögen von Spiegeln, die Effizienz von Gittern und die Streuungseigenschaften von ultraglatten Oberflächen. Unser UHV-Reflektometer ist ein Mehrzweckinstrument zur Bestimmung der optischen Eigenschaften von Proben in Transmission oder Reflexion. Das Reflexionsvermögen kann bei einer festen Photonenenergie als Funktion des Einfallswinkels oder umgekehrt als Funktion der Energie für einen bestimmten Einfallswinkel bestimmt werden. Die Proben können eine beliebige Größe von einigen Quadratmillimetern bis hin zu makroskopischen optischen Elementen haben.

Kleinwinkelstreuung

Strukturmodell RuSeO

ASAXS-Analyse und das abgeleitete Strukturmodell eines RuSexOy-Katalysators für Brennstoffzellenanwendungen. RuSexOy-Elektrokatalysatoren mit einer clusterartigen Selenverteilung auf der Oberfläche von auf rußgeträgerten Rutheniumnanopartikeln sind geeignete Ersatzstoffe für Platin auf der Kathodenseite von Methanolbrennstoffzellen.

Nanostrukturen bzw. nanostrukturiertes Material spielt eine immer größerer Rolle in nahezu allen Bereichen der Industrie. Damit einhergehend nimmt auch die Bedeutung von Methoden zur Charakterisierung derartiger Materialien immer weiter zu. Kleinwinkelstreuung hilft bei der Erfassung einer Vielzahl von Parametern im Nanometerbereich. Sie ist in der Lage Inhomogenitäten in einem Material im Größenbereich von 0,5 nm bis hin zu mehr als 1000 nm zu untersuchen.

Dies können sowohl in einem Material eingeschlossene Nano-Partikel als auch Unterschiede in der Dichte, Zusammensetzung oder Magnetisierung des Materials sein. So lassen sich z. Bsp. Größen- und Abstandsverteilungen, Morphologie und Zusammensetzung sowie die Volumenanteile dieser Inhomogenitäten ermitteln.