Imaging

Radiography of components

Piston of a model airplane engine

Stroboscopic radiography of a model airplane engine at 1200 revolutions per minute. Four different phases for the position of the piston are shown.

Radiography allows non-destructive insights into the interior of components and components. In particular, the combination of this technique with the unique properties of different types of radiation (neutrons, X-rays) opens up a wide field of industrial applications. The material-dependent attenuation of the radiation used in the objects to be examined is used to 'illuminate' the internal structure.

 


Tomographie an Batterien mit Neutronen und Röntgenstrahlen

A complete, three-dimensional image of the entire internal structure is obtained by radiographing the object to be examined from different directions and then combining these data into a three-dimensional data set (i.e. tomography). The result is a spatial image in the virtual space, which can be disassembled at any place at will, cut up or examined for structural or chemical changes. Again, X-rays and neutrons are used. Both types of radiation behave in a way complementary to each other, as they reflect different properties of the materials studied. Thus, with neutron radiation, material contrasts are visible that are not to be found with synchrotron radiation and vice versa.

 

Li-ion battery

Separation of individual regions and chemical species in the neutron tomogram of a Li battery.

Li-ion batteries

Internal structure of a Li-ion capacitor. (a) side view of the metal container; (b) virtually removing a volume part; (c) visualization of a large electrolyte dayglomeration; (d) horizontal cross section and magnification (e) to illustrate delamination.


Structure analysise of solar cell systems using TEM

Transmission electron microscopy (TEM) enables a wide range of high-resolution inspection methods, including scanning electron microscopy (STEM), electron energy loss spectroscopy (EELS), energy-filtered transmission electron microscopy (EFTEM), and energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX) and tomography.

Microscopic ultrastructure investigation of solar cells by means of high-resolution TEM methods for the determination of defects that are directly related to the photovoltaic efficiency of solar cells.

high-resolution TEM image of Si/SiO2/Rh stack

HRTEM of a Si/SiO2/Rh stack

bright-field TEM images of an organic solar cell

BFTEM of an organic solar cell

Scanning TEM mit EDX mapping

STEM with EDX element distribution

Bildgebung

Radiographie an Bauteilen

Kolben eines Modellflugzeugmotors

Stroboskopische Radiographie eines Modellflugzeugmotors bei 1200 Umdrehungen pro Minute. Vier verschiedene Phasen für die Stellung des Kolbens sind dargestellt.

Radiographie ermöglicht zerstörungsfrei Einblicke in das Innere von Komponenten und Bauteilen. Speziell die Kombination dieser Technik mit den einzigartigen Eigenschaften verschiedener Strahlarten (Neutronen, Röntgenstrahlung) eröffnet ein weites Feld an industriellen Anwendungen. Dabei wird die materialabhängige Abschwächung der eingesetzten Strahlung in den zu untersuchenden Objekten genutzt, um die innere Struktur zu ‚beleuchten‘.

Tomographie an Batterien mit Neutronen und Röntgenstrahlen

Ein vollständiges, dreidimensionales Bild der gesamten inneren Struktur erhält man, in dem das zu untersuchende Objekt aus unterschiedlichen Richtungen durchstrahlt (radiographiert) wird und diese Daten anschließend zu einem dreidimensionalen Datensatz zusammengesetzt werden. So entsteht ein räumliches Abbild im virtuellen Raum, welches an jeder Stelle nach Belieben auseinander genommen, zerschnitten oder auf strukturelle oder chemische Veränderungen untersucht werden kann. Auch dazu werden Röntgenstrahlen und Neutronen genutzt. Beide Strahlenarten verhalten sich gewissermaßen komplementär zueinander, da sie unterschiedliche Eigenschaften der untersuchten Materialien widerspiegeln. So sind mit Neutronenstrahlung Materialkontraste sichtbar, die mit Synchrotronstrahlung nicht zu finden sind und umgekehrt.

Li-Ion Batterie

Separation einzelner Bereiche und chemischer Spezies im Neutronentomogramm einer Li-Batterie.

Li-Ion Batterien

Innere Struktur eines Li-Ionen-Kondensators. (a) Seitenansicht des Metallbehälters; (b) virtuelles Entfernen eines Volumenteils; (c) Visualisierung einer großen Elektrolytagglomeration; (d) horizontaler Querschnitt und Vergrößerung (e) zur Veranschaulichung der Delamination.

Strukturuntersuchung von Solarzellen mittels TEM

Transmissionselektronenmikroskopie (TEM) ermöglicht eine breite Palette von hochauflösenden Untersuchungsmethoden, einschließlich Raster-Transmissionselektronenmikroskop (STEM), Elektronenenergieverlustspektroskopie (EELS), energiegefilterter Transmissionselektronenmikroskopie (EFTEM), sowie energiedispersiver Röntgenspektroskopie (EDX) und Tomographie.

Mikroskopische Ultrastrukturuntersuchung von Solarzellen mittels hochauflösender TEM-Methoden zur Bestimmung von Defekten, die im direkten Zusammenhang mit der photovoltaischen Effizienz von Solarszellen stehen.

Hochauflösendes TEM-Bild eines Si/SiO2/Rh stapels

HRTEM eines of Si/SiO2/Rh-Stapels

BF-TEM-Bild einer organsichen Solarzelle

BFTEM einer organischen Solarzelle

Scanning TEM mit EDX Mapping

STEM mit EDX Elementverteilung