Spectroscopy

Cathode material characterisation using EXAFS & XANES

Lithium-ion batteries are ubiquitous in mobile devices, for example. In order to develop more powerful batteries, cheaper and more environmentally friendly cathode materials with a higher safety standard are required. At HZB, we are examining lithium-sulfur and lithium-silicon systems to elucidate previous obstacles (such as capacity fluctuations) with regard to better marketing opportunities. In addition to imaging and diffraction methods, we use spectroscopic investigations. By means of X-ray absorption spectroscopy (EXAFS, XANES), charge states of the transition metal ions in different cathode materials as well as changes in the local structure can be measured.

Thermoelectric materials (RIXS)

In the search for sustainable energy resources and green technologies, thermoelectric materials play an important role. They are characterized by their ability to convert heat directly into electricity or vice versa electrical energy in temperature gradients. By means of RIXS spectroscopy (Resonant Inelastic X-ray Scattering), the influence of the coupling of lattice structure on electronic structure on the thermoelectric performance can be investigated.

RIXS can also be used to study magnetic excitations in a variety of materials, ranging from model materials for basic research to materials with functional energy. It is a complementary technique to the more traditional method of inelastic neutron scattering, and by combining these two methods, a much deeper understanding of the physics of magnetic systems can be achieved.

Optimization of material surfaces using XPS

The surface of a material is the interface to other materials (eg in multi-layer systems) or to its environment. The performance of many modern materials can be optimized by better understanding the physical and chemical interactions on the surface. X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) is one of the standard techniques when it comes to the analysis of material surfaces. It finds application in a variety of materials. In combination with high intensities and selectable photon energies of the synchrotron radiation in BESSY II it is possible to make depth-dependent chemical analyzes by XPS.

Spektroskopie

EXAFS und XANES zur Charakterisierung von Kathodenmaterialien

Lithium-Ionen-Batterien sind in mobilen Geräten allgegenwärtig. Um leistungsstärkere Batterien zu entwickeln, sind preiswertere und umweltfreundlichere Kathodenmaterialien mit einem höheren Sicherheitsstandard erforderlich. Am HZB untersuchen wir dazu bspw. Lithium-Schwefel- und Lithium-Silizium-Systeme zur Aufklärung bisheriger Hindernisse (z.B. Kapazitätsschwung) hinsichtlich besserer Vermarktungschancen. Neben bildgebenden Verfahren und Diffraktionsmethoden setzen wir spektroskopische Untersuchungen. Mittels Röntgenabsorptionsspektroskopie (EXAFS, XANES) können Ladungszustände der Übergangsmetallionen in verschiedenen Kathodenmaterialien sowie Änderungen in der lokalen Struktur gemessen werden.

Thermoelektrische Materialien (RIXS)

Auf der Suche nach nachhaltigen Energieressourcen und grünen Technologien spielen thermoelektrische Materialien eine gewichtige Rolle. Sie zeichnen sich durch ihre Fähigkeit aus, Wärme direkt in Elektrizität oder umgekehrt elektrische Energie in Temperaturgradienten umzuwandeln. Mittels RIXS-Spektroskopie (Resonant Inelastic X-ray Scattering) lässt sich der Einfluss der Kopplung von Gitterstruktur an elektronische Struktur auf die thermoelektrische Leistung untersuchen.

RIXS kann auch verwendet werden, um magnetische Anregungen in einer Vielzahl von Materialien zu untersuchen, die von Modellmaterialien für die Grundlagenforschung bis zu Materialien mit funktioneller Energie reichen. Es ist eine komplementäre Technik zu der traditionelleren Methode der inelastischen Neutronenstreuung, und durch die Kombination dieser beiden Methoden kann ein viel tieferes Verständnis der Physik magnetischer Systeme erzielt werden.

Optimierung von Materialoberflächen mit XPS

Die Oberfläche eines Materials ist die Schnittstelle zu anderen Materialien (bspw. in Multilagensystem) oder zu seiner Umgebung. Die Leistung viele moderner Materialien kann durch ein besseres Verständnis der physikalischen und chemischen Interaktionen an der Oberfläche optimiert werden. Röntgenphotoelektronenspektroskopie (XPS) gehört zu den Standardtechniken wenn es um die Analyse von Materialoberflächen geht. Sie findet Anwendung bei einer Vielzahl von Materialien. In Kombination mit hohen Intensitäten und selektierbaren Photonenenergien der Synchrotronstrahlung bei BESSY II ist es möglich, mittels XPS chemische Analysen tiefenabhängig zu gestalten.