HZB as an employer

Who we are

euroluftbild/Grahn

BESSY II, aerial photo Wilhelm-Conrad-Röntgen-Campus at night, © euroluftbild.de/Robert Grahn

Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie bears its mission in its name: our scientists are researching new materials for an environmentally friendly and sustainable energy supply of the future. Our electron storage ring BESSY II is unique in its focus on soft X-rays. We have strong links with the universities of Berlin, and collaborate with experts from all over the world. We have two campuses in Berlin: one in Wannsee to the southwest and one in Adlershof to the southeast of the city centre.

Welcome to HZB

We feel it is important for our employees to have the best conditions for working and for developing professionally and personally – right from the word go. We therefore offer Welcoming Events and a Relocation Service for international new arrivals to help you find your way around HZB and get settled in quickly and off to a good start.

Equal opportunity

Scientists working at one of BESSY II's beamlines.

People of many different nationalities and cultures work together at HZB. We promote equal opportunities and support all employees in their development at all career stages and irrespective of origin, sexual orientation, disability, age, or gender. Together, we oppose any kind of discrimination.


Work/life balance

People work best when they have achieved a good work/life balance. Since 2007, HZB has been a bearer of the “Career and Family” certificate awarded by the non-profit Hertie Foundation. We support you with numerous services. Our Office for Work and Life, for example, can inform you about flexible worktimes and teleworking, or advise you personally on matters of child and dependent care.

Employee development

Your continuing professional development as an employee is a top priority for HZB. We offer many internal and external qualification opportunities and provide individual counselling on your career goals. As soon as you join HZB, you can assume responsibility for your own projects and, within the shortest possible time, you will be developing new ideas and putting them into practice. Further points of contact include the Postdoc Office and the Office for Doctoral Student Coordination.

Health

Your health is important to us, which is why we offer many health promotion programmes. Our Occupational Health Management organises health days, for example, and is the direct contact for matters such as back and eye health. In our Sports Club, you can play sports and exercise (e.g. badminton, volleyball, Pilates, or yoga), simply have fun, or train for the German Sports Badge (Deutsche Sportabzeichen). Berlin’s company runs are another regular favourite of HZB employees.

Aerial photo Lise-Meitner Campus
© HZB/ Dirk Laubner

HZB als Arbeitgeber

Wer wir sind

BESSY II, Luftbild Wilhelm-Conrad-Röntgen-Campus bei Nacht, © euroluftbild.de/Robert Grahn

Wir am Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie tragen unsere Mission im Namen: Unsere Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler erforschen neue Materialien für eine umweltfreundliche und nachhaltige Energieversorgung der Zukunft. Unser Elektronenspeicherring BESSY II ist mit seinem Schwerpunkt auf der weichen Röntgenstrahlung einzigartig. Wir sind eng mit den Berliner Universitäten vernetzt und arbeiten mit Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten aus der ganzen Welt zusammen. Sie finden uns an unseren zwei Standorten in Wannsee und in Adlershof.

Willkommen am HZB

Es ist uns wichtig, unseren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern die besten Rahmenbedingungen für die Erfüllung ihrer Aufgaben und für ihre Entwicklung zu bieten – von Beginn an. Mit unseren Welcome Events und dem Relocation Service für internationale Neuzugänge ermöglichen wir Ihnen eine erste Orientierung am HZB und einen guten Start bei uns.

Chancengerechtigkeit

Wissenschaftler an einer Beamline an BESSY II.

Am HZB arbeiten Menschen vieler Nationalitäten und aus unterschiedlichen Kulturen zusammen. Wir fördern die Chancengleichheit und unterstützen alle Mitarbeitenden in ihrer Entwicklung: auf allen Karrierestufen und unabhängig von Herkunft, sexueller Orientierung, Behinderung, Alter und Geschlecht. Gemeinsam stellen uns gegen jede Art von Diskriminierung.


Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Privatleben

Die individuelle Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf ist für uns eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die Zusammenarbeit. Seit dem Jahr 2007 trägt das HZB das Zertifikat „berufundfamilie“ der gemeinnützigen Hertie-Stiftung. Wir unterstützen Sie durch zahlreiche Angebote. Unser Office for Work and Life informiert Sie etwa über flexible Arbeitszeiten und mobiles Arbeiten oder berät Sie persönlich in Pflege- oder Kinderbetreuungsfragen.

Personalentwicklung

Die professionelle Weiterentwicklung der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter wird am HZB groß geschrieben. Deshalb bieten wir Ihnen viele interne und externe Qualifizierungsangebote an und beraten Sie individuell zu Karrierezielen. Am HZB können Sie früh Verantwortung für eigene Projekte übernehmen und neue Ideen entwickeln und umzusetzen. Das Postdoc Office und das Büro der Promovierendenkoordinierung sind weitere Anlaufstellen für einzelne Zielgruppen.

Gesundheit

Ihre Gesundheit ist uns wichtig, weshalb wir viele Angebote zur Prävention machen. Unser betriebliches Gesundheitsmanagement bietet beispielsweise Gesundheitstage an und ist Ansprechpartner für Rücken- und Augengesundheit. In unserer Betriebssportgemeinschaft können Sie Sport treiben (z.B. Badminton, Pilates, Yoga oder Volleyball), Spaß haben und für das Deutsche Sportabzeichen trainieren. Regelmäßig gehen HZB-Mitarbeitende bei den Berliner Firmenläufen an den Start.

Aerial photo Lise-Meitner Campus
© HZB/ Dirk Laubner