FREUNDESKREIS HELMHOLTZ-ZENTRUM BERLIN



Announcement Ernst Eckhard Koch Prize 2024

The Society of Friends of Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin announces the Ernst Eckhard Koch Prize. It is bestowed for outstanding doctoral theses in the field of research with synchrotron radiation performed at either Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB) or Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY) in Hamburg, and which were completed during the current or past year. The name of this prize which is awarded annually since 1990 is in memory of the late scientific director of the former BESSY GmbH. The Ernst Eckhard Koch Prize includes a monetary award amounting to 3,000 Euro. The awardee will be chosen by a selection committee and the prize is presented in a ceremony during the User Meeting of HZB in December 2024 in Berlin-Adlershof.

The executive committee of the Society is now calling for proposals of candidates. Closing date:

September 30, 2024

The bestowal of the doctor's degree must have been successfully completed by that time. Self-nominations are not accepted. Experienced Scientists who are active in the field of synchrotron radiation research are invited to present a substantiated proposal. This should include the doctoral thesis in English or German language as printed copy as well as in digital form. In addition, the candidates' curriculum vitae, list of publications and further references should be e-mailed to the Secretary of the Society (mathias.richter@ptb.de).

Further information at:

https://www.helmholtz-berlin.de/zentrum/forschungszentrum/freundeskreis/index en.html

Franziska Emmerling Chair Stefan Eisebitt Vice-Chair