7-Day Regulation

Generally, in controlled areas, in addition to monitoring the local dose, there is also an obligation to determine the body dose in accordance with §64-68 StrlSchV. Since this is entailing considerable bureaucratic effort and suitable dosimeters are designed for longer periods of use (1 month), the following exemption regulation for BESSY II was defined in accordance with the supervisory authority:

Visitors, MX-beamline users, as well as employees of external companies with whom a delimitation contract has not yet been concluded, can enter the BESSY-II storage ring hall on a maximum of 7 days per year under simplified requirements.

For this purpose, a HZB employee, the future supervisor, must fill out a registration form, on the basis of which the Radiation Protection Office checks the requirements. If access is granted within the framework of the 7-day rule, a special visitor dosimeter can be collected from and returned to the gatekeeper on the respective days. The supervisor must oversee the guests. Teachings, radiation passport, SSR-No., delimitation contract and §25-approval are waived.

Visitors are defined as persons who take part in a guided tour of the outer area of the experimental hall lasting a maximum of 60 minutes, but who do not work in the hall. A closer inspection of the beamlines ("Watching the experiment"), access to the "3.70m level" or any other stay in the vicinity of the concrete shieldings is not permitted, as the visitor dosimeters cannot measure neutrons.

The working places of service personnel are checked beforehand by the radiation protection officer in order to rule out any danger from neutrons.

HZB employees, beamline (except MX) users, employees of external companies with whom a delimitation contract already exists, guest scientists and fellows are explicitly excluded from the 7-day rule, as are persons who are expected to need access for more than 7 days in the current calendar year.

7-Tage Regelung

Grundsätzlich besteht in Kontrollbereichen neben der Überwachung der Ortsdosis auch die Pflicht zur Ermittlung der Körperdosis gemäß §64-68 StrlSchV. Da dies mit erheblichem bürokratischen Aufwand verbunden ist und geeignete Dosimeter für längere Einsätze (1 Monat) ausgelegt sind, wurde in Absprache mit der Aufsichtsbehörde folgende Ausnahmeregelung für BESSY II festgelegt:

Besucher, Messgäste an der MX-Beamline, sowie Mitarbeiter von Firmen, mit denen noch kein Abgrenzungsvertrag besteht, können an maximal 7 Tagen pro Jahr die BESSY-II-Speicherringhalle unter vereinfachten Voraussetzungen betreten.

Hierfür muss von einem HZB-Mitarbeiter, dem späteren Betreuer, ein Anmeldeformular ausgefüllt werden, auf dessen Grundlage das Strahlenschutzbüro die Voraussetzungen prüft. Falls ein Zugang im Rahmen der 7-Tage-Regelung gewährt wird, kann ein spezielles Besucherdosimeter an den jeweiligen Tagen beim Pförtner abgeholt und zurückgebracht werden. Der Betreuer muss die Gäste beaufsichtigen. Unterweisungen, Strahlenpass, SSR-Nr., Abgrenzungsvertrag und §25-Genehmigung entfallen.

Als Besucher gelten Personen, die an einer maximal 60 Minuten langen Führung durch den äußeren Bereich der Experimentierhalle teilnehmen, aber keine Tätigkeiten ausüben. Eine nähere Besichtigung der Beamlines ("Zuschauen beim Experiment"), Zutritt zur "3.70m-Ebene" oder sonstiger Aufenthalt in der Nähe der Betonabschirmungen ist nicht gestattet, da die Besucherdosimeter keine Neutronen messen können.

Die Arbeitsorte von Servicepersonal werden vorher vom Strahlenschutzbeauftragten überprüft, um eine Gefährdung durch Neutronen auszuschließen.

Auf HZB-Mitarbeiter, Messgäste (ausgenommen MX-Nutzer), Mitarbeiter von Fremdfirmen, mit denen bereits ein Abgrenzungsvertrag besteht, Gastwissenschaftler und Stipendiaten kann die 7-Tage-Regelung ausdrücklich nicht angewendet werden; ebenso nicht auf Personen, die voraussichtlich an mehr als 7 Tagen im laufenden Kalenderjahr Zugang benötigen.