Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Prize Winners 2019

Ernst Eckhard Koch Prize

Presentation of prizes for the 2019 award winners - enlarged view

Dr. Simon Krause (University of Groningen, 1st from left) and Dr. Felix Willems (Max Born Institute, 3rd from left) received the Ernst Eckhard Koch Prize 2019 from Prof. Dr. Mathias Richter (Association of Friends of Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, 2nd from left). © M. Setzpfand/HZB

On December 5, 2019, during the 11th HZB user meeting, the Association of Friends of Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin awarded the Ernst Eckhard Koch Prize 2019 to Dr. Simon Krause from the University of Groningen for his work "Negative gas adsorption in flexible metal-organic frameworks", which he defended at the TU Dresden, and to Dr. Felix Willems of the Max Born Institute in Berlin for his work "Ultrafast optical demagnetization dynamics in thin elemental films and alloys: Foundations of and results from helicity-dependent and time-resolved XUV spectroscopy", defended at the TU Berlin. In his work Simon Krause had investigated the gas adsorption behaviour in porous solids. Felix Willems, on the other hand, worked on ultrafast magnetic switching processes and their analysis using spectroscopic methods.