Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Prize Winner 2012

The 2012 Innovation-Award on Synchrotron Radiation granted by the Society of Friends of Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin (HZB) and sponsored by SPECS GmbH and BESTEC GmbH in Berlin, has been bestowed upon Gianluca Geloni (European XFEL, Hamburg), Vitali Kocharyan (DESY, Hamburg), Evgeny Saldin (DESY, Hamburg), and Paul Emma (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) for their outstanding contributions on the ‘Development of hard X-ray self-seeding with wake monochromators – a novel approach for dramatic improvement of free electron X-ray lasers’. Their idea of X-ray self-seeding was theoretically developed at XFEL and DESY in Hamburg and for the first time experimentally confirmed at the LCLS facility in Stanford. 

Winner Innovation Award 2012 - enlarged view

The awardees of the 'Innovation Award on Synchrotron Radiation 2012' Evgeny Saldin (2nd from left), Gianluca Geloni (3rd from left), and Vitali Kocharyan (4th from left), with Wolfgang Gudat from the Society of Friends of Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin (left) and Serguei Molodtsov (right, Scientific Director XFEL) who gave the laudation during the award ceremony on December 13, 2012 in Berlin-Adlershof.