Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Information Technology

SSL server certificates

The HZB Certification Authority certifies servers in the HZB's own DNS domains, including helmholtz-berlin.de and basisit.de.

To obtain a certificate for an HZB server, generate a certificate request with a program such as openssl in the form of a PKCS#10 PEM file. The name in the certificate request must end with: O=Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin fuer Materialien und Energie GmbH,C=DE. You are responsible for the secure key management and further steps.

From 2022, server certificates will be offered paperless by the Trusted Certificate Service (TCS) of the pan-European research network GÉANT based on root certificates from Sectigo. Authentication via our Identity Provider is sufficient for this purpose.

Automatic server certificate creation and renewal with via the ACME interface is currently in the test phase.

To request a server certificate with a pre-created certificate request (CSR) use the following website:

https://cert-manager.com/customer/DFN/idp/ssl/HZB/select

Select the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin. The first time you use it, you will have to search for it, after that it will be offered for selection.

Authenticate yourself with your HZB account.

Upload the file with the certificate request created in advance.

The validity period of a server certificate is 365 days. You will be notified 30 days before expiration. If you select an "Annual Renewal Passphrase" in this form, you can easily have the certificate renewed in good time before expiry by specifying this password. An early revocation in self-service is also possible with this.

Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Hauptabteilung Informationstechnik

SSL Server-Zertifikate

Die HZB Zertifizierungsstelle zertifiziert Server in den eigenen DNS-Domänen des HZB, u.a. helmholtz-berlin.de und basisit.de.

Um ein Zertifikat für einen HZB-Server zu erhalten, erzeugen Sie einen Zertifikatsantrag mit einem Programm wie z.B. openssl in Form einer PKCS#10-PEM-Datei. Der Name im Zertifikatantrag muss enden auf: O=Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin fuer Materialien und Energie GmbH,C=DE. Sie sind für die sichere Schlüsselverwaltung und weitere Schritte verantwortlich.

Ab 2022 werden Server Zertifikate papierlos vom Trusted Certificate Service (TCS) des paneuropäischen Forschungsnetzes GÉANT basierend auf Wurzelzertifikaten von Sectigo angeboten. Die Authentifizierung über unseren Identity Provider ist dazu ausreichend.

Die automatische Server-Zertifikatserstellung und -Erneuerung mit über die ACME-Schnittstelle ist derzeit in der Testphase.

Zur Beantragung einer Server-Zertifikats mit einer vorab erstellten Zertifikats-Request (CSR) nutzen Sie folgende Webseite:

https://cert-manager.com/customer/DFN/idp/ssl/HZB/select

Wählen Sie das Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin aus. Bei der ersten Benutzung müssen Sie danach suchen, danach wird es Ihnen zur Auswahl angeboten.

Authentifizieren Sie sich mit Ihrer HZB-Kennung.

Laden Sie die Datei mit dem im Vorfeld erstellten Zertifikatsrequest hoch.

Die Gültigkeitsdauer eines Server-Zertifikats beträgt 365 Tage. 30 Tage vor Ablauf werden Sie benachrichtigt. Wenn Sie in diesem Formular ein "Annual Renewal Passphrase" wählen, können Sie rechtzeitig vor Ablauf auf einfache Art und Weise unter Angabe dieses Passwortes das Zertifikat erneuern lassen. Auch eine vorzeitige Sperrung in Selbstbedienung ist damit möglich.