Frequently Asked Questions about the Safety of the Research Reactor BER II

(last updated 2020)

1. Why did we need a research reactor in Berlin?

The research reactor BER II delivered neutrons for scientific studies. Neutrons are uncharged particles – parts of an atom's nucleus – that are excellently suited to studying materials. Neutrons can be bundled together into a ray, much like the way light can, and then shined onto many different kinds of sample. A neutron source is like a large microscope that researchers can use to study the inner properties of materials. Scientists from many disciplines, such as biologists, chemists, physicists, medical physicists, materials scientists, and even art historians, used our research reactor BER II to find answers to their questions. The research reactor was not used for developing or sampling nuclear power technology.

Research using neutrons delivered insights that scientists cannot obtained using other research methods. Many of the technologies we used today were researched using neutrons, much of which over the decades has been performed at the Berlin research reactor because of its unique experimental conditions.

However, the HZB has changed its scientific profile as part of a strategy process and corresponds to the decision of the Supervisory Board to shut down the neutron source BER II at the end of 2019. For our users, the focus now is on the operation and further development of the photon source BESSY II.

2. What was the difference between the BER II research reactor at Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin and a nuclear power plant?

Our research reactor BER II in Berlin-Wannsee was not comparable with a nuclear power plant. It was not used to produce heat or electricity. We produced neutrons by nuclear fission for use in research. Neutrons are tiny, electrically neutral particles (see 1).

At Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin, they were needed to understand the deep, inner structure of matter to improve solar cells, for example, or to answer long-standing questions in archaeology, biology and many other fields of research. Given their different purposes, they are built very differently as well. The research reactor worked at low temperature and at normal pressure. A power plant, on the other hand, produces steam at high temperature and pressure for generating electricity. Because this was not the case, our research reactor did not have a reactor pressure vessel as nuclear power plants do. Since we did not use the excess heat, it was released through heat exchangers and cooling towers. To compare, the power of our research reactor was 10 megawatts. The thermal power of an average nuclear power plant is 3,000 to 4,000 megawatts.

3. What fuel elements were used in the research reactor BER II?

BER II worked with so-called LEU, or low-enriched uranium. The concentration of the isotope 235 is lower than 20%.

4. What safety measures existed to monitor operation of the research reactor, or to stop the nuclear fission if necessary?

The research reactor had automatic shutdown systems that would have triggered by any deviation from normal operating conditions. This included failure of instruments and controls, for example. Other systems would have intervened immediately or the reactor would have been shut down. With the control rods, which fall into the reactor core when required, the chain reaction of nuclear fission can be stopped immediately (see also Question 6).
 

5. How was the cooling system at BER II built?

The research reactor was a so-called "pool-type reactor" or "swimming pool reactor": The core of the reactor was immersed in an open pool of water. The core contained around 7 kilograms of fissile uranium 235, which was needed for nuclear fission. The research reactor consumed 2.5 kilograms of this uranium per year. By comparison, nuclear power plants consume around 1.5 metric tons of fissile uranium per year. The water around the reactor core served as three things: a neutron moderator, meaning it slows down the fast neutrons released during fission, which then sustain the chain reaction; a cooling agent; and a radiation shield.

This design had a crucial advantage: since no pressure vessel was present, the entire pool was under normal pressure. The high temperatures and pressures typical of nuclear power plants did not occur. The water in the pool heated to around 40° Celsius during operation. The heat was dissipated through heat exchangers and pumped in a circuit. No water was released to the outside.

6. What happened if the cooling failed?

There were control rods held suspended above the reactor core by electromagnets so that, if the electricity cutted out, they would fell down under their own weight into the reactor core and thereby shutted the reactor down. Once nuclear fission has stopped, the core required only one minute of active cooling. This has been ensured by the continuation of the pumps, which were also backed up by batteries. After this one minute of active cooling, the natural convection of the water (dissipation of heat through the movement of water molecules) was enough to dissipate the residual heat on its own. That means no pumps were required to dissipate the residual heat. Nevertheless, there were two backup diesel generators should there ever be an electrical power outage.

7. How was the research reactor BER II tested for safety?

The supervisory authority, the Senate Department for Health, Environment and Consumer Protection, regularly tested the safety of the research reactor with the assistance of independent experts. Furthermore, members of the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM) and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) verified the stocks of nuclear fuels every year. Operation of the facility was subject to the strictest safety requirements.

8. Where were the spent fuel elements of BER II stored, and how were they disposed of?

Far fewer fuel elements were spent than in a nuclear power plant. Until transporting, they were kept in a spent fuel pool, where their power droped to below 40 watts. Only then they has been disposed. The transportation of spent fuel elements took place approximately every two or three years in special thick-walled special containers. Until May 2016, the return to the United States was contractually regulated. For the later, until the end of operation (end of 2019) incurred spent fuel elements, the interim storage in Ahaus has been contractually agreed.

9. What measures did and do the operators take against terrorist attacks?

A security service seamlessly guards the entire HZB premises. Unauthorized entering of the campus cannot go unnoticed. The reactor itself and its surroundings are additionally guarded by armed security personnel who are trained and examined according to the relevant regulations. The facility is under tightest monitoring and access control.

10. What protection did the reactor building offer?

The research reactor was built according to the prevailing safety regulations. These did not call for additional building containment. The roof of the building was a brick-lined steel skeleton construction which was lined gas-tight inside with steel plates. The hall guaranted closure of all materials used and arising in operation. The hall was under slightly negative pressure, so that if a crack should ever form, air could not flow outwards, but would be drawn inwards instead.

11. What danger existed if the research reactor lies beneath the flight route of Berlin Brandenburg International airport?

Aircraft taking off from Berlin Brandenburg airport "Willy Brandt" that would fly over Wannsee close to BER II would have already reached an altitude of around 1.5 to 2 kilometres. As above any nuclear facility in Germany, there was a flight restriction above BER II to approximately 700 metres altitude. This flight restriction could therefore be respected.

12. How was the research reactor operated?

The research reactor operated in the usual mode: 3 weeks experimental operation alternated with one week maintenance. All activities at BER II took place in close consultation and after approval by the competent authorities that it seeked the opinion of independent experts.

By the end of 2019 the research reactor BER II has been operated in this mode, after which it was switched off according to the decision of the Supervisory Board.

13. Why there was renovation work at BER II?

From October 2010 to March 2012 alterations were planned many years in advance and were not related to the vetting discussed in the media (stress test). Some parts and components are routinely replaced. This is necessary as soon as a certain amount of neutrons are flowed through by it. The scientists at the HZB have also used the reconstruction period to improve the scientific instruments and to renew the neutron guides so that up to five times more neutrons reach the instruments. For science, this is a huge improvement that the BER II holds internationally competitive.

In 2014, there was a further extended shutdown, during which a sealing weld was removed, which was located in the area of the partition wall between the two halves of the reactor pool. In 2010, damaged areas were discovered in this weld seam, which have been carefully observed since then. Although it was not a safety-relevant component, it was nevertheless decided in 2013 to remove the weld seam without replacement.

During this break in operation, the new high field magnet was also finally assembled and installed at its final operating position in the neutron guide hall. The high field magnet generated a 26 Tesla strong magnetic field, which was unique in the world in connection with neutron research. Only in Berlin could samples be irradiated with neutrons under the influence of such a high magnetic field. The high field magnet was inaugurated on May 7, 2015 and handed over to the scientific community.

14. What was the meaning of the BER II stress test carried out in 2011?

Also for the BER II a so-called stress test was carried out 2011. This refers to analyzes of how a reactor behaves in certain scenarios - such as power failure, flood, earthquake. Such scenarios were considered for the research reactor BER II. This was followed by an evaluation of the competent authorities. In this, the experts of the plant have granted a high degree of robustness. The BER II has passed the by the Senate coordinated stress test successfully.

15. Why did a disaster control plan exist for BER II?

Operation of the research reactor resulted unavoidably in radioactive materials. We have taken many measures to ensure these remain contained during every operating phase of the research reactor. Nevertheless, the Berlin and Brandenburg authorities have drafted a detailed disaster control plan to allow quick, efficient and effective action to be taken even in an extreme, hypothetical situation that can only be caused by extreme impact from outside. This disaster control plan defined the tasks for all authorities and bodies involved in the event of any fear that radioactive materials may be released into the environment. HZB distributed a pamphlet every five years informing the population around the research reactor about this disaster control plan. This was regulation, as stipulated in § 53 of the Radiation Protection Ordinance (Strahlenschutzverordnung). The last information pamphlet distributed was in the end of 2014.

16. Why is the state collection centre for radioactive waste on the premises of HZB in Wannsee?

Every German federal state is under obligation by the German Atomic Energy Act to set up a state collection centre for processing and storing the radioactive waste originating in its area. The Land of Berlin has entrusted Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin to operate the state collection centre for radioactive waste, ZRA (Zentralstelle für radioaktive Abfälle). The ZRA houses low-level to intermediate-level radioactive materials that arise primarily from medicine, industry, research and teaching. No fuel elements from the research reactor are stored at the ZRA (see also question 8).

17. Was it possible to visit the research reactor?

To guarantee safe operation, the operating personnel had to be allowed to work in concentration and undisturbed. The research reactor BER II could therefore only be visited by appointment. Those wishing to take a visit had to go through security clearances by the responsible offices.

However, on Open House Day, we allowed interested visitors to take guided tours through the experimental halls around the research reactor. Our scientists and reactor experts were be there on these days to answer questions about the facility and the safety measures.

18. How long did the research reactor was still operating?

The Supervisory Board of HZB has decided that the operation of BER II and research with neutrons will be discontinued as of 31.12.2019. In recent years, the HZB has sharpened and reoriented its scientific profile: our research focuses on energy materials - with a focus on thin-film technologies. This includes the operation and further development of the photon source BESSY II in Berlin-Adlershof and the construction of new, central laboratories for the analysis and synthesis of energy materials at the Wannsee site. The objectives of the HZB 2020+ strategy process are already guidelines for our research and reach far beyond 2020.

Häufig gestellte Fragen zur Sicherheit des Forschungsreaktors BER II

(letzte Überarbeitung 2020)

1. Wofür brauchte man in Berlin einen Forschungsreaktor?

Der Forschungsreaktor BER II lieferte Neutronen für wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen. Neutronen sind ungeladene Teilchen – Bausteine der Atomkerne - die sehr gut für Materialuntersuchungen geeignet sind. Man kann Neutronen wie einen Lichtstrahl bündeln und damit verschiedene Proben untersuchen. Eine Neutronenquelle ist wie ein großes Mikroskop, mit dem Forscher innere Eigenschaften von Materialien untersuchen können. Wissenschaftler vieler Disziplinen, etwa Biologen, Chemiker, Physiker, Medizinphysiker, Materialwissenschaftler und sogar Kunsthistoriker nutzten unseren Forschungsreaktor BER II für ihre Fragestellungen. Der Forschungsreaktor diente nicht der Entwicklung oder Erprobung von Kernenergie-Technik.

Die Forschung mit Neutronen lieferte Erkenntnisse, die Wissenschaftler oft mit Hilfe von anderen Forschungsmethoden nicht erzielen konnten. Viele technische Innovationen beruhten auf der Grundlagenforschung mit Neutronen, die unter anderem am Berliner Forschungsreaktor seit Jahrzehnten mit teilweise weltweit einzigartigen Experimentierbedingungen betrieben wurde.

Das HZB hatte jedoch im Rahmen eines Strategieprozesses sein wissenschaftliches Profil verändert und entsprach dem Beschluss des Aufsichtsrates, die Neutronenquelle BER II Ende 2019 abzuschalten. Für unsere Nutzerinnen und Nutzer liegt der Fokus jetzt auf dem Betrieb und der Weiterentwicklung der Photonenquelle BESSY II.

2. Was unterschied den Forschungsreaktor BER II des Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin von einem Kernkraftwerk?

Unser Forschungsreaktor BER II in Berlin-Wannsee war mit einem Kernkraftwerk nicht vergleichbar. Er diente nicht dazu, Wärme und Strom zu produzieren. Wir verwendeten die bei der Kernspaltung entstehenden Neutronen für die Forschung. Neutronen sind kleine, elektrisch neutrale Teilchen (siehe 1.).

Aufgrund des unterschiedlichen Zwecks ist auch die Bauweise unterschiedlich. Der Forschungsreaktor arbeitete bei niedriger Temperatur und bei Normaldruck. Das ist ein entscheidender Unterschied zu Kernkraftwerken, in denen bei hoher Temperatur und hohem Druck Dampf für die Stromerzeugung produziert wird. Im Gegensatz zu Kernkraftwerken besaß der BER II daher keinen Reaktordruckbehälter, und die entstehende Wärme wurde über Wärmetauscher und Kühltürme abgeführt. Zum Vergleich: Die Leistung des BER II betrug 10 Megawatt. Die thermische Leistung eines durchschnittlichen Kernkraftwerks beträgt 3.000 bis 4.000 Megawatt.

3. Welche Brennelemente wurden im Forschungsreaktor BER II eingesetzt?

Der BERII arbeitete mit sogenanntem LEU, das ist niedrig angereichertes Uran. Der Anteil des Isotops 235 beträgt weniger als 20%.

4. Welche Sicherheitsmechanismen gab es, um den Betrieb des Forschungsreaktors zu überwachen und ggf. die Kernspaltung zu stoppen?

Der Forschungsreaktor hatte automatische Abschaltsysteme, die bei allen Abweichungen von normalen Betriebszuständen eingegriffen hätten. Dies betraf zum Beispiel den Ausfall von Mess- und Regeleinrichtungen. Hier hätten sofort andere Systeme eingegriffen oder der Reaktor wäre abgeschaltet worden. Mit den Kontrollstäben, die bei Bedarf in den Reaktorkern fallen, kann die Kettenreaktion der Kernspaltung unmittelbar unterbunden werden (siehe auch Frage 6).

5. Wie war das Kühlsystem am BER II aufgebaut?

Der Forschungsreaktor war ein so genannter „Schwimmbadreaktor“: In einem offenen Wasserbecken hing der Kern des Reaktors. Er enthielt zirka 7 Kilogramm spaltbares Uran 235, das für die Kernspaltung erforderlich war. Jährlich verbrauchte der Forschungsreaktor 2,5 Kilogramm dieses Urans. Zum Vergleich: Kernkraftwerke verbrauchen pro Jahr etwa 1,5 Tonnen spaltbares Uran. Das Wasser um den Reaktorkern hatte drei Funktionen. Es verlangsamte die bei der Kernspaltung entstehenden Neutronen, die die Kettenreaktion aufrechthielten (es ist „Moderator“), diente der Kühlung und zur Strahlenabschirmung.

Diese Bauweise hatte einen entscheidenden Vorteil: Da kein Druckbehälter vorhanden war, herrschte im gesamten Becken Normaldruck. Die bei Kernkraftwerken üblichen hohen Temperaturen und großen Drücke traten nicht auf. Das Wasser im Becken erwärmte sich im Betrieb auf rund 40° Celsius. Die Wärme wurde über Wärmetauscher abgegeben und im Kreislauf gepumpt. Kein Wasser gelangte nach außen.

6. Was passierte, wenn die Kühlung ausfiel?

Bei einem Ausfall der Stromversorgung wären sofort Kontrollstäbe, die an Elektromagneten hingen, allein durch ihr Gewicht in den Reaktorkern gefallen und hätten damit den Reaktor außer Betrieb gesetzt. Nach Stillstand der Kernspaltung hätte nur eine Minute zur aktiven Nachkühlung genügt. Diese Minute wäre durch den Nachlauf der Pumpen gewährleistet worden, die zudem mit Batterien abgesichert war. Nach dieser einen Minute aktiver Kühlung hätte die natürliche Konvektion des Wassers (Bewegung der Wasserteilchen aufgrund des Temperaturunterschieds) ausgereicht, um die Nachwärme sicher abzuführen. Das heißt, es wären keine Pumpen zur Abfuhr der Nachwärme nötig. Für den Fall eines Stromausfalls standen trotzdem zwei Notstromdiesel zur Verfügung.

7. Wie wurde der Forschungsreaktor BER II sicherheitstechnisch überprüft?

Die Aufsichtsbehörde, die Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Umwelt, prüfte regelmäßig die Sicherheit des Forschungsreaktors und bediente sich dabei unabhängiger Sachverständiger. Außerdem überprüften jährlich Mitarbeiter der Europäischen Atomgemeinschaft (EURATOM) und der Internationalen Atomenergiebehörde (IAEO) den Bestand an Kernbrennstoffen. Der Betrieb der Anlage unterlag strengsten Sicherheitsauflagen.

8. Wo befanden sich die abgebrannten Brennelemente des BER II und wie wurden sie entsorgt?

Es fielen deutlich weniger abgebrannte Brennelemente an als in einem Kernkraftwerk. Diese verblieben bis zum Abtransport in einem Abklingbecken, wo ihre Leistung auf unter 40 Watt sank. Erst dann wurden sie entsorgt. Der Abtransport verbrauchter Brennelemente erfolgte etwa alle zwei bis drei Jahre in dickwandigen Spezialbehältern. Bis Mai 2016 war die Rückführung in die USA vertraglich geregelt. Für die danach bis zum Betriebsende (Ende 2019) anfallenden Brennelemente wurde die Zwischenlagerung in Ahaus vertraglich vereinbart.

9. Welche Maßnahmen ergriff und ergreift auch heute der Betreiber gegen terroristische Übergriffe?

Das gesamte HZB-Gelände wird ununterbrochen von einem Sicherheitsdienst bewacht. Ein unbefugtes Betreten des Campus, das unbemerkt bleibt, ist ausgeschlossen. Der Reaktor selbst und sein Umfeld werden zusätzlich und unabhängig von bewaffneten Sicherheitsmitarbeitern bewacht, die nach einschlägigen Vorschriften geschult und überprüft werden. Hier gilt schärfste Überwachung und Kontrolle des Zutritts.

10. Welchen Schutz bot das Reaktorgebäude?

Der Forschungsreaktor wurde nach den gültigen Sicherheitsbestimmungen gebaut. Diese sahen kein zusätzliches Gebäude-Containment vor. Das Gebäudedach war eine ausgemauerte Stahlskelettkonstruktion, die innen mit Stahlplatten gasdicht ausgekleidet wurde. Die Halle gewährleistete eine Abschließung von allen im Betrieb anfallenden Stoffen. In der Halle herrschte leichter Unterdruck, damit im Falle eines Risses die Luft nicht von innen nach außen strömen konnte, sondern umgekehrt von außen nach innen. Das Reaktorbecken, das sich in der Halle befand, war seitlich von einer zwei Meter dicken Betonschicht eingeschlossen.

11. Welche Gefahr bestand, wenn der Forschungsreaktor unter der Flugroute des Flughafens Berlin Brandenburg liegt?

Vom neuen Flughafen Berlin Brandenburg (BER) „Willy Brandt“ startende Flugzeuge, die in der Nähe des BER II über Wannsee fliegen würden, hätten hier bereits eine Höhe von zirka 1,5 bis 2 Kilometern erreicht. Wie über jeder kerntechnischen Anlage in Deutschland bestand über dem BER II ein eingeschränktes Flugverbot bis zu zirka 700 Metern in der Höhe. Das eingeschränkte Flugverbot wurde und damit eingehalten.

12. Wie wurde der Forschungsreaktor betrieben?

Der Forschungsreaktor arbeitete im üblichen Betriebsmodus: 3 Wochen Experimentierbetrieb im Wechsel mit einer Woche Wartungsarbeiten. Alle Maßnahmen am BER II erfolgten in enger Abstimmung und nach Genehmigung durch die zuständigen Behörden, die dafür Gutachten unabhängiger Experten einholten.

Bis Ende 2019 wurde der Forschungsreaktor BER II nach diesem Modus betrieben, danach wurde er laut Beschluss des Aufsichtsrates abgeschaltet.

13. Warum gab es Umbaumaßnahmen am BER II?

Die von Oktober 2010 bis März 2012 erfolgten Umbaumaßnahmen wurden viele Jahre im Voraus geplant und standen nicht in Zusammenhang mit der in den Medien diskutierten Sicherheitsüberprüfung (Stresstest). Einige Komponenten und Bauteile wurden routinemäßig ausgetauscht. Dies war notwendig, sobald eine bestimmte Menge Neutronen durch sie hindurchgeflossen sind. Die Wissenschaftler des HZB hatten die Umbauzeit außerdem genutzt, um die wissenschaftlichen Instrumente zu verbessern und die Neutronenleiter so zu erneuern, dass an den Instrumenten bis zu fünfmal mehr Neutronen ankommen. Für die Wissenschaft war dies eine enorme Verbesserung, die den BER II international konkurrenzfähig hielt. Mit den neuen Experimentierplätzen wurde die Attraktivität des Berliner Wissenschaftsstandortes weltweit weiter gestärkt.

Im Jahr 2014 gab es noch einmal eine längere Betriebspause, während der eine Dichtungsschweißnaht entfernt wurde, die sich im Bereich der Trennwand zwischen den beiden Reaktorbeckenhälften befand. In dieser Schweißnaht wurden 2010 Schadstellen entdeckt, die seither sorgfältig beobachtet wurden. Es handelte sich um kein sicherheitsrelevantes Bauteil, trotzdem wurde 2013 beschlossen, die Schweißnaht ersatzlos zu entfernen.

Während dieser Betriebspause wurde außerdem der neue Hochfeldmagnet endmontiert und an seiner endgültigen Betriebsposition in der Neutronenleiterhalle aufgebaut. Der Hochfeldmagnet erzeugte ein 26 Tesla starkes Magnetfeld, was im Zusammenhang mit Neutronenforschung weltweit einmalig war. Nur in Berlin konnten Proben unter Einwirkung eines so hohen Magnetfeldes mit Neutronen bestrahlt werden. Der Hochfeldmagnet wurde am 7. Mai 2015 eingeweiht und der Wissenschaftscommunity übergeben.

14. Was bedeutete der 2011 durchgeführte „Stresstest“ für den BER II?

Auch für den BER II wurde 2011 ein so genannter Stresstest durchgeführt. Gemeint sind damit Analysen, wie sich ein Reaktor bei bestimmten Szenarien – etwa Stromausfall, Überschwemmung, Erdbeben – verhält. Solche Szenarien wurden für den Forschungsreaktor BER II betrachtet. Anschließend erfolgte eine Bewertung durch die zuständigen Behörden. In dieser haben die Gutachter der Anlage einen hohen Grad an Robustheit beschieden. Der BER II hatte den vom Senat koordinierten Stresstest erfolgreich bestanden.

15. Warum gab es einen Katastrophenschutzplan für den BER II?

Beim Betrieb des Forschungsreaktors entstanden unvermeidbar radioaktive Stoffe. Wir haben durch eine Vielzahl von Maßnahmen sichergestellt, dass diese in jeder Betriebsphase des Forschungsreaktors sicher eingeschlossen blieben. Dennoch haben die Berliner und Brandenburger Behörden einen detaillierten Katastrophenschutzplan erstellt, um auch in einem äußerst hypothetischen, nur durch extreme Einwirkung von außen möglichen Schadensfall schnell, effektiv und zielgerichtet handeln zu können. Der Katastrophenschutzplan regelte die Aufgaben für alle beteiligten Behörden und Einrichtungen für den Fall, dass eine Freisetzung von radioaktiven Stoffen in die Umgebung befürchtet wird. Das HZB verteilte alle fünf Jahre eine Broschüre, in der die Bevölkerung in der Umgebung des Forschungsreaktors über den Katastrophenschutzplan informiert wurde. Dies war eine Vorschrift, die aus § 53 der Strahlenschutzverordnung folgte. Die letzte Verteilung der Informationsbroschüre erfolgte Ende 2014.

16. Warum befindet sich die Zentrale Landesammelstellestelle für radioaktive Abfälle auf dem HZB-Gelände in Wannsee?

Jedes Bundesland ist nach den Forderungen des Atomgesetzes verpflichtet, eine Landessammelstelle einzurichten, um die in seinem Gebiet angefallenen radioaktiven Abfälle ordnungsgemäß aufzubereiten und zwischenzulagern. Das Land Berlin hat dem Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin den Auftrag zum Betrieb der Landessammelstelle für radioaktive Abfälle (ZRA) übertragen. In der ZRA lagern schwach- und mittelradioaktive Stoffe, die vor allem in der Medizin, der Industrie und der Forschung und Lehre anfallen. In der ZRA lagern keine Brennelemente aus dem Forschungsreaktor (siehe Frage 8).

17. Konnte man den Forschungsreaktor besichtigen?

Um einen sicheren Betrieb gewährleisten zu können, mussten die Bedienmannschaften konzentriert und ungestört arbeiten können. Der Forschungsreaktor BER II konnte deshalb nur nach Voranmeldung besichtigt werden. Personen, denen eine Besichtigung ermöglicht wurde, mussten sich einer Sicherheitsüberprüfung durch die zuständigen Stellen unterziehen.

Allerdings: Am jährlich stattfindenden Tag der Offenen Tür und während der Langen Nacht der Wissenschaften ermöglichten wir es interessierten Besuchern, an Führungen durch die Experimentierhallen um den Forschungsreaktor teilzunehmen. Unsere Wissenschaftler und Reaktor-Experten standen Ihnen an diesem Tag für Fragen über die Anlage und die Sicherheitsvorkehrungen gern zur Verfügung.

18. Wie lange wurde der Forschungsreaktor betrieben?

Der Aufsichtsrat des HZB hat beschlossen, den Betrieb des BER II und die Forschung mit Neutronen zum 31.12.2019 einzustellen. Das Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin hatte in den vergangenen Jahren sein wissenschaftliches Profil geschärft und neu ausgerichtet: Der Schwerpunkt unserer Forschung liegt auf Energiematerialien– mit Fokus auf Dünnschichttechnologien. Damit verbunden ist der Betrieb und die Weiterentwicklung der Photonenquelle BESSY II in Berlin-Adlershof und der Aufbau neuer zentraler Labore für die Analytik und Synthese von Energiematerialien am Standort Wannsee. Die Ziele aus dem Strategieprozess HZB 2020+ sind bereits heute Leitlinien unserer Forschung – und reichen bis weit nach 2020 hinaus.