CoreLabs: Core HZB laboratories for international users and industry

The Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB) will be setting up CoreLabs a new multi-user platform also available for external academic and industrial partners. These new CoreLabs are complex infrastructures with unique and state-of-the-art equipment. The main purpose of these CoreLabs is research and development of innovative energy materials.

Overview: CoreLabs at the HZB

Corelab Energy Materials in-situ Laboratory Berlin (EMIL)

One part of this multi-user platform is the unique large-scale project EMIL (Energy Materials In-situ Laboratory) located at the synchrotron radiation source BESSY II. EMIL combines soft, tender and hard x-ray spectroscopic methods with a variety of synthesizing, preparation and characterization methods and allows both simultaneous in-situ and operando measurements at several different stations.

Materials for energy conversion and storage can then be analysed in-situ and in-operando. That means, after depositing the thin films, the samples remain in the vacuum and passed on directly to the analytical station. At EMIL, researchers will thus have worldwide unique synthesis and analysis possibilities for their energy materials research, combined with the brilliant X-ray light from BESSY II. → EMIL

X-Ray Corelab

The X-Ray CoreLab has rooms in Wannsee and Adlershof, equipped with several modernised diffractometers. It has been in operation since March 2016. X-ray diffractometry is one of the most important analytical methods in materials research. At the HZB, it is used to develop new materials for energy conversion or storage. These methods are suitable for thin-film analysis and the analysis of powder samples and single crystals. Two highlights among the equipment are the MetalJet high flow sources. These deliver especially intense X-ray light with excellent brilliancy. → X-Ray Corelab

Corelab Correlative Microscopy and Spectroskopy (CCMS)

Latest-generation electron microscopes and scanning electron and ion microscopes are available to researchers in the CoreLab CCMS. These allow materials to be produced, processed and imaged at the nanoscale. Since December 2015, there has been the cooperation in the ZEISS labs@location community, which is a part of the CCMS.
CoreLab CCMS

Hybrid Silicon Perovskite Research, Integration & Novel Technologies (HySPRINT)

Our newest member of the CoreLab platform the Helmholtz Innovation Lab HySPRINT (Hybrid Silicon Perovskite Research, Integration & Novel Technologies) is still under construction. HySPRINT has the objective to develop new material combinations and processes for energy applications. → HySPRINT

Competence Centre Thin-Film- and Nanotechnology for Photovoltaics Berlin (PVcomB)

The mission of PVcomB is to support worldwide growth of thin-film photovoltaic technologies and products by providing top-level development and technology transfer. In co-operative R&D projects with academia and industry all relevant aspects of thin-film photovoltaics are addressed. → PVcomB

CoreLab Quantum Materials

The CoreLab Quantum Materials offers a suite of instruments and methods for the synthesis and the investigation of new materials relevant for energy and information technologies. The methods are quite general and can be applied to many other material classes. This CoreLab makes them available to external scientists and also commercial users. → CoreLab Quantum Materials

CoreLabs: Zentrale HZB-Labore für internationale Nutzer und die Industrie

Als Betreiber von Großgeräten hat das HZB viel Erfahrung beim Organisieren eines externen Nutzerbetriebs. Diese Erfahrung bringt das HZB beim Betrieb seiner Corelabs ein. Dies sind zentral verwaltete, besondere Laboreinrichtungen. Sie sind mit modernsten, teilweise einzigartigen Instrumenten und Geräten für die Analyse und Synthese von Energie-Materialien ausgestattet. Derzeit betreibt das HZB sechs Labore als zentrale For­schungs- und Technologieinfrastrukturen – primär für die Energie-Material-Forschung.

Auch internationale Messgäste und Partner aus der Industrie sind hier willkommen. Ein Nutzerdienst ähnlich dem der Großgeräte wird derzeit für die CoreLabs aufgebaut.

Im Überblick: CoreLabs am HZB

Corelab Energy Materials in-situ Laboratory Berlin (EMIL)

Das Energy Materials In-situ Laboratory ist direkt an die Synchrotronstrahlungsquelle BESSY II angeschlossen. Dadurch können die Forschenden auf alle spektroskopischen Methoden mit weicher bis (mittel)harter Röntgenstrahlung zugreifen und diese mit einer breiten Vielfalt von Synthese-, Präparations- und Charakterisierungs-Methoden kombinieren.

Materialien für die Energieumwandlung und -speicherung können dann in-situ und in-operando analysiert werden. Das heißt, nach der Deposition der dünnen Schichten bleiben die Proben im Vakuum und werden direkt zur Analytik weitergeleitet. An EMIL finden Forscherinnen und Forscher damit weltweit einzigartige Synthese- und Analysemöglichkeiten für die Energie-Material-Forschung im Zusammenspiel mit dem brillanten Röntgenlicht von BESSY II.   → EMIL

X-Ray Corelab

Das X-Ray Corelab hat Räume in Wannsee und Adlershof, die mit mehreren modernisierten Diffraktometern ausgestattet sind. Es ist seit Mai 2016 in Betrieb. Die Röntgendiffraktometrie gehört zu den wichtigsten Analysemethoden in der Materialforschung. Am HZB wird sie genutzt, um neue Materialien für die Energieumwandlung oder -speicherung zu entwickeln.  Die Methode eignet sich für die Dünnschichtanalytik und die Analyse von Pulverproben und Einkristallen. Zu den Highlight-Geräten gehören die zwei MetalJet Hochflussquellen. Sie liefern ein besonders intensives Röntgenlicht mit einer sehr guten Brillanz.→ X-Ray Corelab

Corelab Correlative Microscopy and Spectroskopy (CCMS)

Modernste Elektronenmikroskope sowie Rasterelektronen- und Ionenmikroskope stehen Forscherinnen und Forschern im CoreLab CCMS zur Verfügung. Mit ihnen lassen sich Materialien im Nano-Maßstab herstellen, bearbeiten und abbilden. Seit Dezember 2015 gibt es die Kooperation im Rahmen der ZEISS labs@location Gemeinschaft, die ein Teil des CCMS ist.
Corelab CCMS

Hybrid Silicon Perovskite Research, Integration & Novel Technologies (HySPRINT)

Noch im Aufbau befindet sich das neueste Mitglied der CoreLab Plattform, das Helmholtz Innovation Lab HySPRINT (Hybrid Silicon Perovskite Research, Integration & Novel Technologies). HySPRINT hat die Zielsetzung neue Materialkombinationen und Prozesse für die Energieanwendung zu entwickeln. → HySPRINT

Kompetenzzentrum Dünnschicht- und Nanotechnologie für Photovoltaik Berlin (PVcomB)

Am PVcomB werden Dünnschicht-Photovoltaiktechnologien und -produkte gemeinsam mit der Industrie entwickelt. Der Technologie- und Wissenstransfer erfolgt in Forschungsprojekten mit industriellen Partnern sowie durch die Ausbildung von hochqualifizierten Fachkräften. → PVcomB

CoreLab Quantenmaterialien

Das CoreLab für Quantenmaterialien stellt eine Reihe von Methoden und Instrumenten für die Synthese und die Untersuchung neuer Quanten–Systeme für die Energie- und Informationstechnik zur Verfügung. Die Instrumentierung ist breit anwendbar – auch für viele andere Substanzklassen und Fragestellungen. Dieses CoreLab macht die Instrumente auch externen Wissenschaftlern und kommerziellen Nutzern zugänglich. → CoreLab für Quantenmaterialien