Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Scientific Instrumentation and Support

BESSY II building with EMIL extension from outside

Departments in the WI division

The division Scientific Instrumentation and Support (WI) develops and operates technical components for scientific infrastructures in HZB. We provide central support for all areas of scientific research in HZB as well as our external users and partners.


Optics and Beamlines

Optics and Beamlines

Overview: Optics and Beamlines

The Department of Optics and Beamlines (WI-AOS) focuses its work on the design, construction and initial commissioning of new beamlines and x-ray optical systems, as well as on ex-situ and in-situ measurements of optics.

Precision Gratings

Precision Gratings

Overview: Precision Gratings

The aim of the department Precision Gratings is to provide diffraction gratings for scientific applications. The focus is on soft X-ray gratings for monochromators of beamlines and spectrometers.

Undulators

Undulators

Overview: Undulators

The Undulator department currently operates 11 permanent magnet undulators at the BESSY II storage ring. All devices have been constructed and built in house. We continuously upgrade existing devices and develop new devices for storage ring applications and next generation light sources. The in-house undulator expertise allows us to work at the cutting edge of undulator development.

Sample Environment

Sample Environment

Overview: Sample Environment

The department supports experiments at BESSY II with various sample environment (high magnetic fields, low and high temperatures, high pressures, gas loading etc.), and operates several User Labs at the Wannsee site.

Scientific Equipment Development

Scientific Equipment Development comprises four departments that provide central scientific-technical support at both HZB sites: Sample Environment, Construction and Manufacturing, and Electronics. These departments often work jointly on projects and have some shared development and manufacturing processes.

The head of Scientific Equipment Development, Dr Klaus Kiefer, also serves as contact for joint development and manufacturing projects.

User Coordination and Technical User Support

The Main Department User Coordination and Technical Support unites the two departments that provide central user support at BESSY II.

The head of the department, Dr Antje Vollmer, is also Facility Speaker and represents BESSY II both within and outside HZB.

Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Wissenschaftliche Instrumentierung und Unterstützung

BESSY II Gebäude mit EMIL-Anbau von ausßen

Abteilungen im Bereich WI

Der Bereich Wissenschaftliche Instrumentierung und Unterstützung entwickelt und betreibt technische Komponenten für die wissenschaftlichen Infrastrukturen des HZB. Wir leisten zentrale Unterstützung für wissenschaftliche Arbeiten für alle Bereiche des Zentrums, und unsere externe Nutzer*innen und Partner*innen.


Optik und Strahlrohre

Optik und Strahlrohre

Übersicht: Optik und Strahlrohre

Die Abteilung Optiken und Strahlrohre (WI-AOS) widmet ihre Arbeit zum größten Teil dem Design, Aufbau und der Erstinbetriebnahme neuer Strahlrohre und röntgenoptischer Systeme, sowie der ex-situ und in-situ Vermessung von Optiken.

Präzisionsgitter

Präzisionsgitter

Übersicht: Präzisionsgitter

Das Ziel der Abteilung Präzisionsgitter ist es, Beugungsgitter für wissenschaftliche Anwendungen bereit zu stellen. Im Vordergrund stehen Monochromator-Gitter für Strahlrohre und Gitter für Spektrometer im weichen Röntgenbereich.

Undulatoren

Undulatoren

Übersicht: Undulators (en)

Die Abteilung Undulatoren betreibt derzeit 11 Permanentmagnet-Undulatoren im BESSY II-Speicherring. Alle Geräte wurden im HZB konstruiert und gebaut. Wir verbessern kontinuierlich die vorhandenen Undulatoren und entwickeln innovative neue Geräte für Speicherringanwendungen und Lichtquellen der nächsten Generation. 

Probenumgebung

Probenumgebung

Übersicht: Sample Environment (en)

Die Abteilung Probenumgebung gehört zur Hauptabteilung Wissenschaftlicher Gerätebau. Sie unterstützt die Experimente bei BESSY II mit vielfältigen Probenumgebungen (Magnetfelder, tiefe und hohe Temperaturen, hohe Drücke, Gasbeladung etc.) und betreibt eine Reihe von User Labs am Standort Wannsee.

Hauptabteilung Wissenschaftlicher Gerätebau

Die Hauptabteilung wissenschaftlicher Gerätebau umfasst vier Abteilungen, die zentrale wissenschaftlich-technische Unterstützung an beiden Standorten leisten: Probenumgebung, Werkstatt und Konstruktion, sowie die Elektronik. Diese Abteilungen arbeiten bei vielen Projekten übergreifend zusammen, Fertigungs- und Entwicklungsprozesse sind teilweise ineinander verzahnt.

Der Hauptabteilungsleiter, Dr. Klaus Kiefer, übernimmt auch eine Koordinations- und Ansprechpartnerfunktion für übergreifende Fertigungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte.

Hauptabteilung Nutzerkoordination und technische Unterstützung

Hier sind die Abteilungen zusammengefasst, die unmittelbar den Nutzerbetrieb an BESSY II unterstützen: die Nutzerkoordination und die technische Nutzerunterstützung.

Die Hauptabteilungsleiterin, Dr. Antje Vollmer, ist zugleich Facility Speaker und vertritt BESSY II innerhalb des HZB und nach außen.