The route to BESSY III

  • How can we develop new materials for a sustainable energy supply?
  • What strategies can researchers develop against antibiotic-resistant pathogens and viruses?
  • How can historical treasures be preserved for our future generations?

The 21st century presents many challenges and scientists are tackling them head on. For more than 40 years, researchers from near and far have been working with synchrotron radiation in Berlin. At BESSY II, our internationally renowned electron storage ring, extremely bright X-ray radiation is generated for highly diverse research.

> Learn more about the research highlights at BESSY II.

Graphic Recording of the Catalysis Workshop in April 2020.

Graphic Recording of the Catalysis Workshop in April 2020.
Picture: Christine Oymann

Tailwind for the successor source BESSY III

There is one thing that researchers from universities and industry as well as our researchers at HZB all agree on: we need a powerful source of soft X-rays in Germany – now and in the future! We have the expertise for that here at HZB. We have the experts for designing and building a new accelerator source, and we have many creative scientists onboard, who are making advancements in the development of photon research with the research their fields. The new source BESSY III is planned go into operation in 2030. Our aim is to offer worldwide unique experiments that will accelerate the gaining of new insights in many disciplines.

User participation

Innovative technologies and new X-ray experiments must be developed if we are to answer the questions of tomorrow. We therefore invite our users and strategic partners to get involved in the development of experiments (> link). Their farsightedness regarding the needs of research will guide our plans. We are therefore organising workshops on the topics of energy materials, imaging, metrology and time-resolved measurement. At BESSY II, researchers from around the entire world are meeting digitally or onsite in order to be involved in the development of the successor source BESSY III. In the process, we also want to break new ground in sustainable construction and to improve the energy efficiency during operation.

> If you want to be kept up to date, please subscribe to our monthly newsletter BESSY II News.

Where are we at the moment?

A project team of specialists from many fields (science, technology, civil engineering, industry, communication etc.) is currently determining the scientific and technological requirements and developing the technical concept of the system (Conceptual Design Report), which we will present in 2022. For this, we want to rethink all components of the facility, such as the accelerator, X-ray optics, beam guidance and data analysis.

BESSY III - a "discovery machine”

We are certain: BESSY III will be an indispensable “discovery machine” for material and energy research. Quantum materials, catalysis and many other topics from physics, chemistry, biology, metrology and industry will benefit from the high-brightness X-ray light. The technology location Germany will also need the best light in future for its research.

> Read our interview of Markus Sauerborn, project coordinator for BESSY III (lichtblick magazine, June 2020).


Latest news mentioning BESSY III

Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Der Weg zu BESSY III

  • Wie können wir neue Materialien für eine nachhaltige Energieversorgung entwickeln?
  • Welche Strategien können Forscher gegen antibiotikaresistente Erreger und Viren entwickeln?
  • Wie lassen sich historische Schätze für unsere nächsten Generationen bewahren?

Das 21. Jahrhundert stellt die Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen vor viele Herausforderungen. Seit mehr als 40 Jahren arbeiten Forschende von nah und fern mit Synchrotronstrahlung in Berlin. An BESSY II, unserem international renommierten Elektronenspeicherring, wird sehr brillante Röntgenstrahlung für eine facettenreiche Forschung erzeugt.

> Erfahren Sie mehr über die Forschungshighlights an BESSY II.

Graphic Recording von dem Katalyse Workshop, April 2020. - vergrößerte Ansicht

Graphic Recording von dem Experten Workshop zum Thema Katalyse (April 2020).
Bild: Christine Oymann

Rückenwind für die Nachfolgequelle BESSY III

Forscher aus Universitäten und der Industrie sowie unsere am HZB Forschenden sind sich einig: Wir brauchen eine leistungsstarke Quelle für weiche Röntgenstrahlung in Deutschland – jetzt und auch in Zukunft! Hier am HZB haben wir dafür die Expertise. Wir haben die Expertinnen und Experten, um eine neue Beschleunigerquelle zu konzipieren und zu bauen, und wir haben viele kreative Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an Bord, die mit ihren Forschungsfeldern die Entwicklungen der Photonenforschung vorantreiben. Anfang 2030 soll die neue Quelle BESSY III in Betrieb gehen. Unser Ziel ist es, weltweit einzigartige Experimente anzubieten, die den Erkenntnisgewinn in vielen Disziplinen beschleunigen.

Beteiligung der Nutzerschaft

Innovative Technologien und neue Röntgenexperimente müssen entwickelt werden, um die Fragen von morgen zu beantworten. Wir laden deshalb unsere Nutzerschaft und strategischen Partner ein, sich an der Entwicklung von Experimenten zu beteiligen. Ihr Weitblick hinsichtlich des Forschungsbedarfs leitet unsere Planungen. Wir organisieren deshalb Workshops zu Themen wie Energiematerialien, Bildgebung, Metrologie und zeitaufgelöstem Messen. An BESSY II treffen sich digital oder vor Ort Forschende aus der ganzen Welt, um an der Entwicklung der Nachfolgequelle BESSY III mitzuwirken. Übrigens: wir wollen auch neue Wege beim nachhaltigen Bauen beschreiten und um die Energieeffizienz während des Betriebs zu verbessern.

> Wenn Sie auf dem Laufenden bleiben wollen, abonnieren Sie gerne unsere monatlichen Newsletter: BESSY II News (englisch) und für einen HZB weiten Überblick HZB NEWS (deutsch).

Wo stehen wir aktuell?

Ein Projektteam mit Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten aus verschiedenen Bereichen (Wissenschaft, Technologie, Bauwesen, Industrie, Kommunikation etc.) arbeitet derzeit die wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Anforderungen und das technische Konzept der Anlage (Conceptional Design Report) aus, das wir 2022 vorstellen werden. Dafür wollen wir alle Komponenten der Anlage, wie etwa den Beschleuniger, die Röntgenoptiken, die Strahlführung und die Datenanalyse neu denken.

BESSY III – eine „Entdeckungsmaschine"

Wir sind uns sicher: BESSY III wird eine unentbehrliche „Entdeckungsmaschine" für die Material- und Energieforschung. Quantenmaterialien, Katalyse und viele weitere Themen aus der Physik, Chemie, Biologie, Metrologie und auch die Industrie werden von dem brillanten Röntgenlicht profitieren. Für diese Forschung braucht der Technologiestandort Deutschland auch in Zukunft das beste Licht.

>Lesen Sie unser Interview mit dem Projektkoordinator Markus Sauerborn


Aktuelle Nachrichten, die BESSY III erwähnen.