Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

The Department

At the Department Optics for Solar Energy (SE-AOPT) we work on experimental and numerical optics in and for photovoltaic devices. Currently, the department is – amongst others – member of the Helmholtz Innovation Lab HySPRINT, participates in the Helmholtz Einstein Berlin Research School in Data Science (HEIBRiDS) and is a leading member of the Berlin Joint Lab for Optical Simulations for Energy Research (BerOSE) between HZB, the Zuse Institute Berlin (ZIB) and the Free University Berlin. Further, the department coordinates the Helmholtz Excellence Network SOLARMATH, a strategic collaboration of the DFG Excellence Cluster MATH+ and Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin.

The department succeeds Christiane Becker's Young Investigator Group “Nanostructured SIlicon for Photovoltaic and Photonic ImplEmentations” (Nano-SIPPE), which was funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in the program NanoMatFutur (12/2012 – 11/2018). 

Current research topics

The Sun is a challenging energy source from an optical point of view: Solar energy devices have to be optimized for a broad spectral range and for a light source changing the illumination direction during the course of the day and the year with varying shares of direct and diffuse irradiance. This requires advanced optical concepts ranging from “conventional” ray optics to nanophotonic concepts and spectral conversion.

Our reseach brings together experimental expertise—mainly nanoimprint lithography—and optical simulations. Below, you can find a summary of three current research topics, where we tackle these challenges.


Light management in perovskite/silicon tandem solar cells

Illustrating a textured perovskite/silicon tandem solar cell

Illustrating a textured perovskite/silicon solar cell. Picture: K. Jäger / HZB.

Perovskite/silicon tandem solar cells are regarded as promising concept to surpass the efficiency limit of the most widely used silicon solar cells with a realistic perspective to enter the terrestrial market soon. Tandem solar cells allow to harvest the broad solar spectrum more efficiently by a reduction of inevitable losses present at silicon solar cells.

Light management aims to minimize optical reflection and transmission losses in solar cell devices. In order to achieve this, we implement one- to three-dimensional photonic nano- and/or micro-structures in the solar cells, which are specifically tailored for the respective device structure and its wavelength regime. In addition, the influence of the optical structures on the electronic material properties as well as the interfaces are always taken into account.

In this topic we closely collaborate with Steve Albrecht's Young Investigator Group Perovskite Tandem Solar cells.

Key publications


Optical optimization of bifacial solar power plants

Solar fence with bifacial solar modules

Bifacial solar modules, which are installed as a solar fence. Picture: K. Jäger / HZB.

Photovoltaic (PV) systems consisting of bifacial solar modules can generate a significantly higher annual energy yield than systems using conventional monofacial PV modules, because bifacial solar modules not only utilize light impinging onto their front, but also illumination onto their rear side.

Bifacial solar cells allow to increase the output power of PV systems at low additional costs and are hence on the march to dominate the PV market soon. In our department we work on optical optimization of bifacial solar panels and hence on decreasing the levelized cost of electricity (LCOE) further. To achieve this we combine advanced optical simulation models with global solar irradiance data using modern computational optimization algorithms.

Key publications


Photon up-conversion and optical sensing

A mode around a photonic crystal with quantum dots

Full-3D volume renderings of an electric field mode around a photonic crystal. A closer view indicates a random distribution of quantum dots (bright small spheres), emitting white light with an intensity proportional to the field energy density at their specific positions. Picture: C. Barth / HZB [Communications Physics 1, 58 (2018)]

Photon up-conversion enables harnessing parts of the solar spectrum in the near infrared wavelength regime, which are typically not utilizable by conventional silicon solar cells. Such spectral conversion processes, however, require a large excitation power densities that can hardly be achieved at 1 Sun illumination conditions.

Photonic nanostructures provide extremely strong near-field enhancement rendering photon up-conversion at low intensity conditions possible. In the Department optics for Solar Energy we aim to increase the light yield of emitters by engineering the local density of photonic states close to the surface or inside the photonic nanostructure. This effect can be utilized for numerous applications based on photonic up- and down-conversion, such as solar energy and optical sensing.

Key publications

Navigation

Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Abteilung Solarenergieoptik

In unserer Abteilung Optik für Solarenergie (SE-AOPT) arbeiten wir an experimentellen und numerischen Optiken in und für Photovoltaik-Geräte. Derzeit ist die Abteilung unter anderem Mitglied des Helmholtz Innovation Lab HySPRINT, nimmt an der Helmholtz Einstein Berlin Research School in Data Science (HEiBRiDS) teil und ist führendes Mitglied des Berlin Joint Lab for Optical Simulations for Energy Research (BerOSE) zwischen dem HZB, dem Zuse-Insitut Berlin (ZIB) und der Freien Universität Berlin. Des weiteren koordiniert die Abteilung das Helmholtz Exzellenznetzwerk SolarMath, eine strategische Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem DFG Excellenzcluster MATH+ and dem Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin.

Die Abteilung ging aus Christiane Beckers Nachwuchsgruppe “Nanostructured SIlicon for Photovoltaic and Photonic ImplEmentations” (Nano-SIPPE) hervor, welche vom Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung im Programm NanoMatFutur (No. 03X5520) gefördert wurde (12/2012 – 11/2018). 

Aktuelle Forschungsthemen

Aus optischer Sicht ist die Sonne eine herausfordernde Energiequelle: Solarzellen müssen für einen breiten Spektralbereich und auf eine Lichtquelle optimiert werden, bei der sich im Laufe des Tages und des Jahres die Beleuchtungsrichtung und die Anteile an direkter und diffuser Einstrahlung ändern. Dies erfordert fortschrittliche optische Konzepte, die von „konventioneller“ Strahlenoptik über nanophotonische Konzepte bis hin zur Photonenkonversion reichen.

Unsere Forschung vereint experimentelles Fachwissen – hauptsächlich Nanoprägelithographie – mit optischen Simulationen. Im Folgenden finden Sie eine Zusammenfassung von drei aktuellen Forschungsthemen, in denen wir an diesen Herausforderungen arbeiten.


Lichtmanagement in Perowskit/Silizium-Tandemsolarzellen

Skizze einer texturierten Perowskit/Silizium Tandemsolarzelle

Schema einer texturierten Perowskit/Silizium-Solarzelle.  Bild: K. Jäger / HZB.

Perowskit/Silizium-Tandemsolarzellen gelten als vielversprechendes und realistisches Konzept, um das Effizienzlimit von Silizium-Solarzellen zu überschreiten, der am weitesten verbreiteten Solarzell-Technologie. Tandem-Solarzellen ermöglichen eine effizientere Ausnutzung des Sonnenspektrums durch Reduktion der spektralen Verluste.

Lichtmanagement zielt darauf ab, optische Reflexions- und Transmissionsverluste in Solarzellen zu minimieren. Um dies zu erreichen, implementieren wir in den Solarzellen ein- bis dreidimensionale photonische Nano- und/oder Mikrostrukturen, die speziell auf die jeweilige Solarzell-Architektur und deren Wellenlängenbereich zugeschnitten sind. Außerdem wird immer der Einfluss der optischen Strukturen auf die elektronischen Materialeigenschaften sowie die Grenzflächen berücksichtigt.

In diesem Thema arbeiten wir eng mit Steve Albrechts Nachwuchsgruppe Perowskit Tandemsolarzellen zusammen.

Wichtige Publikationen


Optische Optimierung von bifazialen Solarfeldern

Solarzaun mit bifazialen Photovoltaikmodulen

Bifaziale Solarmodule, die als Solarzaun installiert wurden. Bild: K. Jäger / HZB.

Photovoltaiksysteme, die aus bifazialen Solarmodulen bestehen, können einen deutlich höheren Energieertrag erzielen als Systeme mit herkömmlichen monofazialen Solarmodulen, da bifaziale Solarmodule nicht nur Licht auf die Vorderseite, sondern auch die Beleuchtung auf der Rückseite nutzen.

Bifaziale Solarzellen ermöglichen es, die Ausgangsleistung von PV-Anlagen mit geringen Zusatzkosten zu steigern und sind daher auf dem besten Weg, den PV-Markt bald zu dominieren. In unserer Abteilung arbeiten wir an der optischen Optimierung von bifazialen Solarmodulen und damit an einer weiteren Senkung der Stromkosten (LCOE). Um dies zu erreichen, kombinieren wir fortschrittliche optische Simulationsmodelle mit globalen Daten zur Sonneneinstrahlung unter Verwendung moderner Algorithmen zur rechnergestützten Optimierung.

Key publications


Photonen-Hochkonversion und optische Sensoren

Feldmode an einem photonischen Kristall mit Quantenpunkten

3D-Rendering einer elektrischen Feldmode um einen photonischen Kristall. Der photonische Kristall wird als graues Material dargestellt, die Abbildung wurde mittels Raytracing erstellt. Eine genauere Betrachtung zeigt eine zufällige Verteilung von Quantenpunkten (helle kleine Kugeln), die weißes Licht mit einer Intensität emittieren, die proportional zur Feldenergiedichte an ihren spezifischen Positionen ist. Bild: C. Barth / HZB [Communications Physics 1, 58 (2018)]

Die Hochkonversion von Photonen ermöglicht die Nutzung von Teilen des Sonnenspektrums im nahen Infrarot, die von herkömmlichen Silizium-Solarzellen typischerweise nicht genutzt werden können. Solche spektralen Umwandlungsprozesse erfordern jedoch große Anregungsleistungsdichten, die bei der Einstrahlungsstärke von einer Sonne kaum erreicht werden können.

Photonische Nanostrukturen zeigen eine extrem starke Nahfeldverstärkung, die eine Hochkonversion von Photonen unter geringer Lichtintensität ermöglicht. In der Abteilung Optik für Solarenergie wollen wir die Lichtausbeute von Emittern erhöhen, indem wir die lokale Dichte photonischer Zustände nahe der Oberfläche oder innerhalb der photonischen Nanostruktur optimieren. Dieser Effekt kann für zahlreiche Anwendungen genutzt werden, die auf photonischer Hoch- und Abwärtskonversion basieren, wie z. B. Solarenergie und optische Sensorik.

Wichtige Publikationen