BESSY II Radiation Safety Requirements

Important Update

Due to the current situation of the regulatory authority, the planned changes (see below) will not take effect at 1st of April, but presumably at 27th of April. Until then (01.04. - 26.04.) the experimental hall remains controlled area, and regular access for external users and companies following § 25 StrlSchV is prohibited. Access following the 7-day regulation remains possible (when deemed necessary and the usual prerequistes are fulfilled).

Upcoming changes in April 2020

Presumably starting 27th of April 2020, most of the experiment hall of BESSY II (i.e. the area between the outer walls and the shielding walls*) will no longer be a controlled area but a surveillance area, and the users working there are no longer required to have the status as radiation workers. Access to surveillance areas can be granted without radiation passport, confirmation letter and RPDC; but we do need your SSR number, so you can be given a personal albedo dosimeter**. All other requirements and restrictions listed below will remain unchanged.

*Everything circled by the outer shielding wall, including the area above the storage ring, housing the IRIS and THz beamline, remains a radiologically controlled area.

**Exceptions exist within the framework of the 7-day regulation exclusively for guided visitor groups, users of the MX beamline, and service personnel with whose company no delimitation agreement has yet been concluded.

Access to radiation protection areas at HZB, Adlershof site

The following requirements/documents must be fulfilled/provided by guests who wish to access the radiologically controlled areas at BESSY II (including the entire experimental hall), the MLS, HoBiCaT and bERLinPro:

These requirements apply in principle to anyone wishing to gain access to radiation protection areas. Exceptions exist within the framework of the 7-day regulation exclusively for guided visitor groups, users of the MX beamline, and service personnel with whose company no delimitation agreement has yet been concluded.

Private persons may only be allowed access within the framework of a guided tour.

Persons under 18 years of age, pregnant women and nursing mothers, persons with open wounds, as well as persons who lack one of the prerequisites, are prohibited from access.

Eating and drinking as well as the use of skin creams is forbidden in radiologically controlled area.

If you have any questions concerning the delimitation contract, the §25 approval and the radiation passport, please contact your radiation protection officer. As a rule, the radiation protection officer knows whether the documents already exist.

If you have any questions, we are happy to support you! Please contact our Radiation Protection Office. Contact details can be found in the right-hand column.

BESSY II Strahlenschutzanforderungen

Wichtiges Update

Aufgrund der aktuellen behördlichen Situation werden die geplanten Änderungen (s.u.) nicht zum 1. April eingeführt, sondern voraussichtlich zum 27. April. Bis dahin (01.04. - 26.04.) bleibt die gesamte E-Halle Kontrollbereich, und regulärer Zugang für Externe nach § 25 StrlSchV ist nicht mehr möglich. Zugänge nach der 7 Tage Regelung sind noch möglich (bei Erfüllung der üblichen Voraussetzungen und nach Abschätzung der Dringlichkeit).

Kommende Änderungen ab Ende April 2020

Voraussichtlich ab dem 27. April 2020 wird die E-Halle* bei Betrieb kein Kontrollbereich mehr sein, sondern Überwachungsbereich, und die dort arbeitenden Nutzer benötigen nicht mehr den Status einer beruflich strahlenexponierten Person. Zugang zu Überwachungsbereichen kann gewährt werden ohne Strahlenpass und Abgrenzungsvertrag; Voraussetzung ist die Übermittlung Ihrer SSR-Nummer (Sie erhalten ein persönliches Albedo-Dosimeter)**. Alle weiteren unten aufgelisteten Voraussetzungen und Restriktionen bleiben unverändert gültig.

*Das von der äußeren Strahlenschutzmauer umrundete Gebiet bleibt Kontrollbereich. Dazu gehört auch das Dach des Speicherringtunnels, auf dem sich die IRIS- und die THz-Beamline befinden (sog. "3.70-Ebene").

**Ausnahmen bestehen im Rahmen der 7-Tage-Regelung ausschließlich für geführte Besuchergruppen, Messgäste an der MX-Beamline, sowie Servicepersonal, mit deren Firma noch kein Abgrenzungsvertrag besteht.

Zugang zu Strahlenschutzbereichen am HZB, Standort Adlershof

Folgende Voraussetzungen/Dokumente sind von Gästen für den Zugang zu den Kontrollbereichen bei BESSY II (einschließlich der gesamten Experimentierhalle), der MLS, HoBiCaT und bERLinPro zu erfüllen/vorzulegen:

Diese Voraussetzungen gelten grundsätzlich für jeden, der Zugang zu Strahlenschutzbereichen erhalten möchte. Ausnahmen bestehen im Rahmen der 7-Tage-Regelung ausschließlich für geführte Besuchergruppen, Messgäste an der MX-Beamline, sowie Servicepersonal, mit deren Firma noch kein Abgrenzungsvertrag besteht.

Privatpersonen kann der Zugang nur im Rahmen einer Führung gestattet werden.

Personen unter 18 Jahren, Schwangeren und stillenden Müttern, Personen mit offenen Wunden, sowie Personen, bei denen eine der Voraussetzungen fehlt, ist der Zugang untersagt.

Essen und Trinken, sowie die Nutzung von Cremes ist im Kontrollbereich verboten.

Kontaktieren Sie bei Fragen rund um den Abgrenzungsvertrag, die §25-Genehmigung und den Strahlenpass unbedingt Ihren Strahlenschutzbeauftragten. In der Regel weiß diese/r, ob die Dokumente schon vorhanden sind.

Bei Fragen unterstützen wir Sie gerne! Bitte wenden Sie sich hierzu an die Mitarbeiter der Personendosimetrie. Kontaktdaten finden Sie in der rechten Spalte.