• since 2012
    Full Professor (W3) at Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft (HTW) Berlin
  • since May 2008
    Director of the HZB-institute PVcomB – Competence Centre Thin-Film- and Nanotechnology for Photovoltaics Berlin
  • 2002 – 2008
    Manager of R&D and Quality Control group, member of the Helianthos management team
  • 2000 – 2002  
    Team leader for the TCO group within Helianthos. Supervising technology development and pilot line start-up
  • 1996 – 1999
    Research scientist and project leader at Akzo Nobel Central Research


  • 1991 – 1995
    PhD, topic: „Multilayer X-ray optics“ at the FOM Institute AMOLF in Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • 1985 – 1991
    Physics (MSc) , Groningen, Netherlands

Professional activities

  • since 2010    
    Vice President of Berlin Brandenburg Energy Network (BEN).
  • since 2009    
    Initiator und co-Chairman des International Workshop on CIGS Technology (IWCIGSTech)
  • since 2014
    Member of the Steering Committee im European Technology and Innovation Platform (ETIP) PV. Since 2018 leading the working group Integrated Photovoltaics and member of the Executive Committee