Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board consists of a maximum of 9 members and monitors the legality, expediency and economic efficiency of the Board of Directors. It decides on all important research-related and financial matters of the HZB. This includes

  • determination of the strategy and the planning of the centre's research and development work, in particular within the framework of the Helmholtz Association's financing procedure
  • determination of the centre's organisational structure for the pursuit of specific research objectives and tasks
  • economic planning
  • structural and development planning
  • construction and procurement measures, insofar as they exceed a total volume determined by the Supervisory Board
  • the granting and revocation of power of procuration and such powers of attorney which extend to the entire business operation
  • exceptional, legal transactions and measures that go beyond the scope of current business operations and may significantly influence the position and activities of the centre, e.g., significant cooperation agreements with domestic and foreign companies and other bodies, the acquisition, increase and sale of company shares in accordance with the purpose of the centre as well as transactions of the HZB with members of the management and closely associated persons and companies.

The Supervisory Board gives a recommendation to the Meeting of Shareholders regarding the discharge of the Board of Directors.


HZB Supervisory Board members

As of May 1, 2022



Federal Republic of Germany

appoints as delegate


Dr. Volkmar Dietz


Federal State of Berlin

appoints as delegate

SenWGPG, Berlin

Dr. Jutta Koch-Unterseher


Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (National Metrology Institute of Germany)

appoints as delegate


Prof. Dr. Cornelia Denz

Meeting of Shareholders


Science / Industry

Prof. Dr. Katharina Al-Shamery

Prof. Dr. Karsten Reuter

Prof. Dr. Christian Thomsen

Dr. Michael Weinhold


scientific-technical employees of the HZB

Dr. Annette Pietzsch

Ingo Müller