Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Young Investigator Groups

Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin offers outstanding young researchers from Germany and abroad the opportunity to form their own young investigator group. This imparts a great deal of responsibility for pursuing their own research topic and in qualification for an academic career.

The heads of the young investigator groups receive support through a tailored training and mentoring programme, among others at the Helmholtz Academy, and are assured long-term prospects at HZB. They are affiliated with a university, often as a jointly appointed professor, which strengthens HZB’s networking with universities.

Young investigator groups can be funded through various programmes:

Name Link to University HZB
Dr. Annika Bande Freie Universität Berlin Theory of Electron Dynamics and Spectroscopy
Dr. Michelle Browne Technische Universität Berlin Electrocatalysis: Synthesis to Devices
Prof. Dr. Felix Büttner Universität Augsburg MaXRay: Magnetism and Coherent X-Ray Imaging
Prof. Dr. Olga Kasian Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg Dynamic Electrocatalytic Interfaces
Dr. Christopher Seiji Kley Technische Universität Berlin Nanoscale Operando CO2 Photo-Electrocatalysis
Dr. Matthew T. Mayer Freie Universität Berlin Electrochemical Conversion
Dr. Tristan Petit Technische Universität Berlin Nanoscale Solid-Liquid Interfaces
Dr. Marcel Risch Universität Göttingen Oxygen Evolution Mechanism Engineering