Managing Directors

Scientific Managing Directors

Prof. Dr. Bernd Rech

Bernd Rech has been scientific manager of HZB since June 2019 and is responsible for the division "Energy and Information". Since 2006, Rech had headed the Institute for Silicon Photovoltaics before taking over the provisional management in 2017. He is the spokesperson for “Renewable Energies” since 2008, and coordinates the contributions in energy research of the Helmholtz centres. Prior to this, he worked at Forschungszentrum Jülich and was a guest professor at the University of Ljubljana in Slovenia. Rech is highly respected internationally as an expert in renewable energies and technology transfer.

Prof. Dr. Jan Lüning

Since June 2019, Jan Lüning has been responsible for "Matter" as scientific manager of HZB. Before moving to HZB, Jan Lüning was a professor at the University Pierre and Marie Curie in Paris and a scientific advisor at the synchrotron SOLEIL. Before that, he worked in the USA at the synchrotron in Stanford and for the IBM Almaden Research Center. The solid state physicist is an internationally recognized expert in research with synchrotron radiation, and has been instrumental in promoting the development of new methods.

Director Finance and Administration

Thomas Frederking

Thomas Frederking ist the director for Finance and Administration of HZB since 2012. Among other positions was head of project controlling at the “Berliner Elektronenspeicherring Gesellschaft für Synchrotronstrahlung – BESSY” for the construction of the synchrotron radiation source BESSY II in Berlin-Adlershof from 1993 – 1998, following which he became the administrative director of BESSY GmbH until 2008.

Leitung

Wissenschaftliche Geschäftsführung

Prof. Dr. Bernd Rech

Bernd Rech ist seit Juni 2019 wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer des HZB und verantwortet den Bereich "Energie und Information". Seit 2006 hatte Rech das Institut für Silizium-Photovoltaik geleitet, bevor er in 2017 die zunächst kommissarische Geschäftsführung übernahm. Seit 2008 ist er Programmsprecher für »Erneuerbare Energien« und koordiniert die Beiträge zur Energieforschung der Helmholtz-Zentren. Zuvor arbeitete er am Forschungszentrum Jülich und war Gastprofessor an der Universität Ljubljana in Slowenien. Rech wird als Experte für erneuerbare Energien und Technologietransfer international sehr geschätzt.

Prof. Dr. Jan Lüning

Seit Juni 2019 ist Jan Lüning als wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer des HZB für den Bereich „Materie“ verantwortlich. Vor seinem Wechsel an das HZB war Jan Lüning Professor an der Universität Pierre und Marie Curie in Paris und wissenschaftlicher Berater am Synchrotron SOLEIL. Zuvor arbeitete er in den USA am Synchrotron in Stanford und für das IBM Almaden Research Center. Der promovierte Festkörperphysiker ist ein international anerkannter Experte für die Forschung mit Synchrotronstrahlung und hat dabei die Entwicklung neuer Methoden maßgeblich vorangetrieben.

Kaufmännische Geschäftsführung

Thomas Frederking

Thomas Frederking ist seit 2012 kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer des HZB. Unter anderem leitete er von 1993 bis 1998 bei der "Berliner Elektronenspeicherring Gesellschaft für Synchrotronstrahlung - BESSY" das Projektcontrolling für den Aufbau der Synchrotronstrahlungsquelle BESSY II in Berlin-Adlershof und war anschließend bis 2008 der kaufmännische Leiter und Prokurist der GmbH.